Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar

It's A Disgrace!

They're reckoning the first Hibee picture is Neil Orr except that it was taken years before Orr signed. I say it's Peter Welsh.

Thoughts?

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.co...-who-1-3190424

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    They're reckoning the first Hibee picture is Neil Orr except that it was taken years before Orr signed. I say it's Peter Welsh.

Thoughts?

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.co...-who-1-3190424
    Could be.

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    A damned disgrace, I'd cancel my subscription if I had one. Peter (ward 45) Welsh.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    I think that the they have the right names for both lists, but in totally the wrong order in both cases.

I KNOW Hearts #1 is Jim Cruikshank and #5 is Pettigrew. I dunno who the rest of them are. Dinnae want to, either.

Hibs (I think) are

1. NOT NEIL ORR
    2. Jimmy Boco
    3. JT
    4. Tony Higgins
    5. Cyclops
    6. Colin Harvey ?
    7. Dougie Bell
    8 & 9. Arfur and MacArfur (a bit like a dad-and-son shot there!)
    10. Des Bremner
    11. Bobby Smith

I'm pretty sure of the others, but not of 1 and 6. Auld age and failing memory.
    Last edited by --------; 15-11-2013 at 12:55 PM.

as ever with the evening news they have made a total jeremy hunt of the order of the players...the names of the players do not match the order given in the answers...if i had a subscription i would now be a cancellee

@hibs.net private member thebakerboy's Avatar
    The names might be correct but most are not in the number order in the answer list. Hibs nos 1 , 4 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10 and 11 do not match respective picture nos but I think the quiz might actually be to match the numbers as the Hearts ones are different as well. I think the answers are (but I could be wrong) 1 Neil Orr 2 Jimmy Boco 3 Joe Tortolano 4 Tony Higgins 5 Alan Sneddon 6 Graham Harvey 7 Doug Bell 8 Arthur Duncan 9 Jim MCarthur 10 Des Bremner 11 Bobby Smith. although I could be corrected.

Quote Originally Posted by thebakerboy View Post
    The names might be correct but most are not in the number order in the answer list. Hibs nos 1 , 4 , 7 , 8 , 9 , 10 and 11 do not match respective picture nos but I think the quiz might actually be to match the numbers as the Hearts ones are different as well. I think the answers are (but I could be wrong) 1 Neil Orr 2 Jimmy Boco 3 Joe Tortolano 4 Tony Higgins 5 Alan Sneddon 6 Graham Harvey 7 Doug Bell 8 Arthur Duncan 9 Jim MCarthur 10 Des Bremner 11 Bobby Smith. although I could be corrected.

That would be the way I would match the photos to the names, but I don't think Hibs #1 is Neil Orr. I remember him as having a craggier face.

Last edited by --------; 15-11-2013 at 01:04 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    That would be the way I would match the photos to the names, but I don't think Hibs #1 is Neil Orr. I remember him as having a craggier face.

Got to agree no1 does not look like Neil Orr , different hairstyle , wonder if it was actually Ally McLeod?

Don't think so - this is him without the mouser.

Just to show what a sad OG I am had a go at Them as well 1 Cruickshank 2 Mauchlin 3 Van de Ven 4 Whittaker 5 Pettigrew 6 Park 7 Patterson 8 Robertson 9 Shaw 10 Sandison 11 Busby

Don't think so - this is him without the mouser.

Third choice is Willie Irvine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just to show what a sad OG I am had a go at Them as well 1 Cruickshank 2 Mauchlin 3 Van de Ven 4 Whittaker 5 Pettigrew 6 Park 7 Patterson 8 Robertson 9 Shaw 10 Sandison 11 Busby

I'm assuming that most of those Yam photos were police mug shots?

I'd say that definately is Neil Orr. He certainly had that kind of hair cut

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post

Which one? The one on the EN website or the one on the left of the picture card?

Can't believe there's no Kevin McKee in this

Quote Originally Posted by Charlton View Post
    Can't believe there's no Kevin McKee in this
    I agree. At first glance I thought no 3 was Kevin.

@hibs.net private member BurghHibby's Avatar
    1) Peter Welsh
    2) Jimmy Boco
    3) Joe Tortolano
    4) Tony Higgins
    5) Alan Sneddon
    6) Graham Harvey
    7) Doug Bell
    8) Arthur Duncan
    9) Jim McArthur
    10) Des Bremner
    11) Bobby Smith

Unfortunately I got most of the poppy stealers ones as well but couldn't bring myself to post their names.

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    Definitely Orr.

Which one? The one on the EN website or the one on the left of the picture card?
    The picture card - Sorry, not had time to look at the EN one, which I'm assuming is wildly wrong

Quote Originally Posted by ronaldo7 View Post
    Definitely Orr.
    I think the give away is that the sponsors are Fishers Garage, 1982 version - Peter Welsh only lasted that first season, they stopped sponsoring us in 1985. Neil Orr joined in 1987.

Also the guy in the news has an Umbro strip, while it was Adidas when Orr joined us.

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    I think the give away is that the sponsors are Fishers Garage, 1982 version - Peter Welsh only lasted that first season, they stopped sponsoring us in 1985. Neil Orr joined in 1987.

Also the guy in the news has an Umbro strip, while it was Adidas when Orr joined us.
    That's right.

The strip in the News quiz is from seasons 82/83 or 83/84.

http://www.historicalkits.co.uk/Scot.../hibernian.htm

It's Peter Welsh.

And here he is...

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    I can't believe there's no Dirk Lehmann.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    It's Peter Welsh.

And here he is...

Where did we sign him from?

Quote Originally Posted by Filled Rolls View Post
    Where did we sign him from?
    Leicester City

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by K.C View Post
    Leicester City
    A central defender with a gammy knee as I recall.

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    I think he was signed as a centre half but played in midfield. Fairly pish but not the worst player we've ever had, shame he couldn't run much due to his massive beer gut.

To be honest Speeders, I cant remember him at hibs. I remember players from late 70's but I honestly cant remember him. Im getting paranoid now, maybe it was during my botanic days dealing with certain weed .....

Quote Originally Posted by K.C View Post
    To be honest Speeders, I cant remember him at hibs. I remember players from late 70's but I honestly cant remember him. Im getting paranoid now, maybe it was during my botanic days dealing with certain weed .....

Was it Auld who signed him? If so, it's not surprising it's hard to place him - that was a truly memorably awful Hibs team.