Rod Interview on BBC.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/24920631

Apologies if posted already.

Quote Originally Posted by hibby rae View Post
    I like how he deals with the media questions with ease and always backs it up with facts

PSN ID: MrHibs
    I generally don't have a problem with Rod however he comes across as overly defensive at times in that interview.

We all make mistakes Rod, you'll earn more respect for holding your hands up when you are wrong rather than trying to defend what is sometimes the indefensible!

Mr Petrie comes across in a very calm and assured and matter of fact fashion. For this alone he gets my respect. I have been a critic of him on occasion, but am quietly pleased that he has built us a wonderful stadium and state of the art training complex -the envy of most other SPL clubs and managers. Considering the example of the hierarchy at Tynecastle and the state of that stricken club, how can anyone truly be so damning of Mr Petrie? I will be pleased for Mr Petrie if his latest managerial appointment can really move us on from where Pat Fenlon left us.

If I had one criticism of the interview it's perhaps when he mentions every appointment was the right man at the time. Now that's not a dig at Pat (I think that was a good call) but Calderwood is a hard one to defend. On the whole though I think he says a lot of the right things in the interview.

@hibs.net private member Leithenhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hihohibby View Post
    Mr Petrie comes across in a very calm and assured and matter of fact fashion. For this alone he gets my respect. I have been a critic of him on occasion, but am quietly pleased that he has built us a wonderful stadium and state of the art training complex -the envy of most other SPL clubs and managers. Considering the example of the hierarchy at Tynecastle and the state of that stricken club, how can anyone truly be so damning of Mr Petrie? I will be pleased for Mr Petrie if his latest managerial appointment can really move us on from where Pat Fenlon left us.

The thing is, after Butcher goes, he should be employing a manager of the same calibre as Butcher is the day he leaves (that's if he leaves successfully of course!!)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

If I had one criticism of the interview it's perhaps when he mentions every appointment was the right man at the time. Now that's not a dig at Pat (I think that was a good call) but Calderwood is a hard one to defend. On the whole though I think he says a lot of the right things in the interview.
    Not even going to listen to this interview. Few of his managerial appointments are defendable and most have been woeful. Football is a results business. Thinking you've done the right thing and getting it right are two completely different things and he should have stepped aside or resigned long ago. The malaise around ER and gulf that has grown between the fans and players/team is all to do with the way the club has been run from the top. Petrie is to blame - no one else.

Really hope TB can help reverse this trend.

In stark contrast, there's a piece in one of the papers about TB's first game for the Huns against Hibs at ER when Souness got red and all outfield players were booked. Butcher talks about how fired up the Hibs players and Hibs fans were for that one. Night and day compared to the dreadful atmosphere at ER these days.
    Last edited by Onion; 13-11-2013 at 06:13 PM.

Mr Petrie???? You must be a Yam, only yam bams talk like that a la "Mr Romanov"!! No-one calls him Mr Petrie, its:

Petrie
    Rod
    Rodders
    The Tasche

or

PETRIE!!!! followed by a multitude of angry faces!!

Quote Originally Posted by sambajustice View Post
    Mr Petrie???? You must be a Yam, only yam bams talk like that a la "Mr Romanov"!! No-one calls him Mr Petrie, its:

followed by a multitude of angry faces!!
    Mr Petrie out, Petrie, Rod, Rodders, The Tasche or PETRIE!!!! in.

@hibs.net private member johnrebus's Avatar

Gamertag: Eh ? Wii Code: What ?
    Quote Originally Posted by Onion View Post
    Not even going to listen to this interview. Few of his managerial appointments are defendable and most have been woeful. Football is a results business. Thinking you've done the right thing and getting it right are two completely different things and he should have stepped aside or resigned long ago. The malaise around ER and gulf that has grown between the fans and players/team is all to do with the way the club has been run from the top. Petrie is to blame - no one else.

Really hope TB can help reverse this trend.

In stark contrast, there's a piece in one of the papers about TB's first game for the Huns against Hibs at ER when Souness got red and all outfield players were booked. Butcher talks about how fired up the Hibs players and Hibs fans were for that one. Night and day compared to the dreadful atmosphere at ER these days.

I heard a slightly different interview with Petrie on BBC Radio Scotland last night (first time I have listened to the Sportsound drivel for months).

He was asked a question about mistakes in the past and did he feel any responsibility for wrong decisions taken.

He replied that he did not understand the question!

Came across as arrogant and aloof, quoting facts and statistics like a politician - most of which were irrelevant.

Good luck Terry, you are going to need it.

@hibs.net private member green day's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by johnrebus View Post

I heard a slightly different interview with Petrie on BBC Radio Scotland last night (first time I have listened to the Sportsound drivel for months).

He was asked a question about mistakes in the past and did he feel any responsibility for wrong decisions taken.

Came across as arrogant and aloof, quoting facts and statistics like a politician - most of which were irrelevant.

And if he said to the Sportsound buffoons "Aye, I am a bit of a radge, and I made some *****y appointments - lets face it its up tae me so the rest of you can go and do one" Would you have been happy?

He is Chief Exec, course he will give a political answer.

p.s. I am no Petrie fanboy, but he still doesnt get my goat as much as the ********s on that show - far as I am concerned, he can keep noising them up forever and a day.

Give it a rest

Quote Originally Posted by green day View Post
    And if he said to the Sportsound buffoons "Aye, I am a bit of a radge, and I made some *****y appointments - lets face it its up tae me so the rest of you can go and do one" Would you have been happy?

He is Chief Exec, course he will give a political answer.

p.s. I am no Petrie fanboy, but he still doesnt get my goat as much as the ********s on that show - far as I am concerned, he can keep noising them up forever and a day.

Agree 100% with what you say about BBC Scotland and the rest of the Scottish media. The first job TB should undertake is sort those ****s who regularly have a pop at our club - again, especially the BBC.

But as for Petrie? IMHO his arse should have been booted all the way up Leith Walk years ago.

He should be in a back office somewhere counting beans.

Quote Originally Posted by poolman View Post
    Give it a rest

Aye, I will.

Everything is sweetness and light now, and Petrie is the new messiah.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    I love Rod Petrie and I'll back him to the hilt all day long.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    I love Rod Petrie and I'll back him to the hilt all day long.

That must be bloody strong Viagra.

Er, get it on line do ya?

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    That must be bloody strong Viagra.

Er, get it on line do ya?
    Petrie's moustache alone could cure Pele's erectile dysfunction. He makes my winky go from "6 tae midnight" in two seconds flat.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

@hibs.net private member neilmartinrocks's Avatar

Gamertag: sum1stolemytag
    MORTUI SED IGNORANTI M M

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    Petrie's moustache alone could cure Pele's erectile dysfunction. He makes my winky go from "6 tae midnight" in two seconds flat.

Jings, I've led a sheltered life.

Never heard that one before.

I notice on some other threads he is referred to as "God Petrie". I think this is perhaps going a little too far. However his self-proclaimed infallibility in picking the "right" manager every time surely merits him the title "Pope Rod".

I just watched it and I was all set to come on and say how much he talks the talk etc.. Everyone knows I'm no fan of his but I honestly think my views my way have been narrow minded.

Yes our managers have failed recently but looking back most fans were happy with the likes of Mixu, Yogi, McLeish. He's built us a fantastic stadium and training ground. All this while the Scottish game was badly suffering financially. Don't get me wrong he does have faults but I think over all he's done a very good job. If he maybe steps back a little I think it would help himself and Hibs as he's achieved a lot.

Maybe he already has I don't know. But I'd just like to thank him for setting us up to be here for many years to come. Well done Rod, I have gave you it tight but I'm big enough to give you the praise you deserve in getting what I believe to be the best management team in Scotland.
    Last edited by Thecat23; 13-11-2013 at 10:36 PM.

am quietly pleased that he has built us a wonderful stadium and state of the art training complex -the envy of most other SPL clubs and managers.
    FFS. You read posts like this and you would think the guy went down to B&Q and bought the bricks on his own credit card, then laid each one lovingly with his own fair hand. All he did was spend money that came from player sales and gate money. Give any chairman in the SPL 12 million quids worth of free money and they would probably be capable of building themselves "a wonderful stadium and a state of the art training complex" - even the team you support.
    ...how can anyone truly be so damning of Mr Petrie? I will be pleased for Mr Petrie...
    As I think someone else has already pointed out, this kind of @rsecreeping honks of yamboidery.

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    He's built us a fantastic stadium and training ground. All this while the Scottish game was badly suffering financially.
    He hasn't. No really - he hasn't. He got twelve million quids worth of free money from player sales, when the rest of Scottish football was in the doldrums, and he spent it on infrastructure. That's all.
    Well done Rod, I have gave you it tight but I'm big enough to give you the praise you deserve in getting what I believe to be the best management team in Scotland.
    Yup. After six years of serial failure with his own decisions, he's managed to spend hundreds of thousands of pounds poaching a successful management team from a much smaller club. Words fail me at the sheer genius of the man.
    Last edited by Nailrod; 13-11-2013 at 11:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    I just watched it and I was all set to come on and say how much he talks the talk etc.. Everyone knows I'm no fan of his but I honestly think my views my way have been narrow minded.

Yes our managers have failed recently but looking back most fans were happy with the likes of Mixu, Yogi, McLeish. He's built us a fantastic stadium and training ground. All this while the Scottish game was badly suffering financially. Don't get me wrong he does have faults but I think over all he's done a very good job. If he maybe steps back a little I think it would help himself and Hibs as he's achieved a lot.

Maybe he already has I don't know. But I'd just like to thank him for setting us up to be here for many years to come. Well done Rod, I have gave you it tight but I'm big enough to give you the praise you deserve in getting what I believe to be the best management team in Scotland.
    Without a doubt the most sensible post on Hibs.net this year. Agree 100% he has his faults, but at the same time cannot under estimate what he has been able to do for the club. Ask any other club out with the old firm and they would bite your hands off in terms of how hibs are managed off the field. I firmly believe we will now see the benefits on field.

Or we could have Romanov, Milne or the boy from Dundee UTD? Only one thing Hibs need to do and thats sort the playing side... Very exciting time

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Jings, I've led a sheltered life.

Never heard that one before.

Yes a very subtle way of saying his Blackpool rock stands to attention when he sees the taches tache. He must be loving movember just now :D
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

Glimpses of The Tache are few and far between; He's like the panda KitKat ad and hardly ever seen..........more follows

For every time he hires a coach his face is full of cheer; And then he disappears again for another flipping year.

" Pat took us to a certain level ", WTF !. Aye the worst result in Scottish football in Europe for a starter, it's a wonder Rod didnae spin himself into the ground in this interview, i think he has made the correct choice of manager this time but to come out with this stuff is just cringeworthy and he must think our heads button up the back , no contrition , no apologies , he should be a politician as he tells you nowt in 5000 words.

Quote Originally Posted by heretoday View Post
    For every time he hires a coach his face is full of cheer; And then he disappears again for another flipping year.

He is a poor Santa Claus lookalike with bad timing.

And there the similarity most definitely ends.....