First half performance

Wasnt at game last night (coach a kids team) watched the very disappointing second half on the box however just watched back the first half and to me that was as good as this team has played in ages. It was confident, full of pace and excellent movement and energy and exactly what we have been looking for IMO. Such a shame we didnt score when on top and the goal out of the blue undoubtedly changed the game. Our reaction was poor however there was to me alot of good things in that performance.
    Last edited by JimBHibees; 31-10-2013 at 07:34 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Wasnt at game last night (coach a kids team) watched the very disappointing second half on the box however just watched back the first half and to me that was as good as this team has played in ages. It was confident, full of pace and excellent movement and energy and exactly what we have been looking for IMO. Such a shame we didnt score when in top and the goal out of the blue undoubtedly changed the game. Our reaction was poor however there was to me alot of good things in that performance.
    I think it disproves the recent fashion on here for the style to be more important than the result.

We were playing the worst and most inexperienced team in the SPL. One that Killie apparently should have horsed by about five goals on Saturday.

If we were turning in 26 minutes of that even semi-regularly against other teams, I'd buy into it meaning something but it doesn't.

Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    I think it disproves the recent fashion on here for the style to be more important than the result.
    I think folk wanted the performance for 90 minutes, not 26.

Especially against Hearts.

That's because IMO we have a much better team and some decent players, so naturally we dominated them. When they scored there was no plan B. The manager has to take responsibility for that, it's his job to get the best out of the players and he failed.

Quote Originally Posted by hibeedonald View Post
    That's because IMO we have a much better team and some decent players, so naturally we dominated them. When they scored there was no plan B. The manager has to take responsibility for that, it's his job to get the best out of the players and he failed.
    again

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    We were playing the worst and most inexperienced team in the SPL. One that Killie apparently should have horsed by about five goals on Saturday.

If we were turning in 26 minutes of that even semi-regularly against other teams, I'd buy into it meaning something but it doesn't.
    What happened after 26 minutes? I saw us being totally dominant straight from kick off right up until Tattoo Man scored his freak goal at 34 mins. 34's not 90 anymore than 26 is, but people who're saying we were good for 20mins etc are wrong imo - it would be fairer to say most of the first half we were rampant. Yams were certainly pish, but we were definitely playing properly good fitba in the first half.

Quote Originally Posted by hibeedonald View Post
    Not naturally at all really. I just hear about us not trying to win games and playing defensive football.

Which other teams have destroyed Hearts incidentally?

And why did we need to change a plan that a break away goal aside was serving us okay?

I think the crowd had more effect on what the players did after the goal than any tactics.

I can't remember if you've used that one before or not. "It wasn't Fenlon, it was the fans".

Not naturally at all really. I just hear about us not trying to win games and playing defensive football.

And why did we need to change a plan that a break away goal aside was serving us okay?

apart from you obviously.

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    apart from you obviously.
    Nah I'm sure a few of us didn't boo every sideways or backwards pass.

I had to pinch myself twice during that incredible 26mins it was like watching Brazil or Barcelona.

- shows how far we've slumped that there's this creaming over a few chances. Both Vine and Collins didn't do anything, we were playing a bunch of kids devoid of confidence not Malmo.

Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    I can't remember if you've used that one before or not. "It wasn't Fenlon, it was the fans".
    I thought you'd ken by now, it's always the fans

I had hoped to come on here tonight to read that you'd finally taken the scales from your eyes.

Have now decided you never will.

Your obsession with deflecting all criticism away from the manager, over the months and on dozens of threads, marks you out for what you are.

This is how it feels

I thought you'd ken by now, it's always the fans
    No I gather it's always Fenlon.

Style for 90mins and you will win far more than you lose.

The players reverted to hoofball once Hearts went ahead and there was only going to be one winner once that happened.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    I had hoped to come on here tonight to read that you'd finally taken the scales from your eyes.

Have now decided you never will.

Your obsession with deflecting all criticism away from the manager, over the months and on dozens of threads, marks you out for what you are.

Expected a bit more from you for some reason. Ah well.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby 2005 View Post
    Style for 90mins and you will win far more than you lose.

The players reverted to hoofball once Hearts went ahead and there was only going to be one winner once that happened.
    They never.

Complete bullsheite, you wont find one post on this site saying they'd rather play decent football and lose in any derby game.

Yer mans a ****in dud, and its about time you got pissed again as that's the only time recently you have let your guard down over the clueless buffoon.

No I gather it's always Fenlon.
    at least you've admitted it now

First 25 mins we had hearts bricking it, after they scored, they had us ****ting it. Thats how i saw it anyway!

Complete bullsheite, you wont find one post on this site saying they'd rather play decent football and lose in any derby game.

Yer mans a ****in dud, and its about time you got pissed again as that's the only time recently you have let your guard down over the clueless buffoon.
    So it's just derby games? League position doesn't matter. I get it.

You are Pat Fenlon and I claim my £5

Quote Originally Posted by lapsedhibee View Post
    What happened after 26 minutes?
    We stopped playing well and Fenlon clapped his hands a bit in response?

3 clean sheets for Hearts this season, the other one was v Dundee United, says it all really.

They never.
    They did.

So it's just derby games? League position doesn't matter. I get it.
    You know very well there are certain games it makes no difference whatsoever how we play, its the result that matters.

Although for crowds to grow and people wanting to be at easter road they need to feel they are getting something they enjoy.

Your man has failed in both, but you know all this anyway.

Quote Originally Posted by DaveF View Post
    You are Pat Fenlon and I claim my £5
    Well done Dave. I always thought he was Rod Petrie.

Aye you're a brave crowd.