Thread: Twitter

Twitter

The fans who are giving the players dogs abuse need to realise that it isn't helping anyone. The last thing we want are players who feel disengaged with the fan base. We need unity... Something our club is sorely lacking in.

Quote Originally Posted by QMU-1875 View Post
    The fans who are giving the players dogs abuse need to realise that it isn't helping anyone. The last thing we want are players who feel disengaged with the fan base. We need unity... Something our club is sorely lacking in.
    McPake is taking pelters.

It's a pity these players aren't doing something a bit mair constructive with their time than being on ****in' twitter, then they wouldnae need tae read it.

McPake taking a pounding.

I really dont know why they register themselves on social media.

Things could get nasty

Anyone know if Fenlon is on Twitter?

Quote Originally Posted by Desperate Dan View Post
    It's a pity these players aren't doing something a bit mair constructive with their time than being on ****in' twitter, then they wouldnae need tae read it.
    It's their day off

Quote Originally Posted by Coco Bryce View Post
    It's their day off
    Another day off? I thought that was yesterday.

There's really no need for it. It was a very poor result and I think the club needs to take a look at itself, but these interventions by fans who just see players as characters in a soap opera need to think a bit. These are real people at the end of a twitter account.

No matter how disappointing, I think some folk need to step back and stop the abuse.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Hee hee. Stop it. ;)
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

:-)

With mcpake I especially don't like the fact he is thanking the hearts fans who are saying to him things like "chin up" "they are just hurting". The fact he is thanking them really doesn't bode well. A million miles from the first derby last season when he spoke of hearts with such contempt, telling us, the fans, that Hibernian would never again be out fought by them.

Perhaps they should be out on the training pitch, learning how to move into positions, instead of standing still when we're in posession of the ball.
    Perhaps Craig and Robertson could be learning how to bomb forward, take on RBs and LBs and make it to the byline.
    Perhaps McPake and Thomson could be participating in some anger management classes.
    Perhaps Vine and Collins could be studying an image of a goal frame, so they know what one looks like.

But instead, they'll be getting blootered down at the pub, while bickering back with angry fans over the twat network.

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    If I ran a football club I would ban all players from using anything other than the club's social media and would have it in their contract of employment.

@hibs.net private member One Day Soon's Avatar

Gamertag: 4 PSN ID: 6 Wii Code: 5

FFS, the fans have already made it abundantly clear before last night that they are disengaged from the manager and the players. This isn't simply a destination, its a been a lengthy and ugly journey.

The only unity we need at this stage is in changing the manager. We can either have the boycott of indifference which lasts over months and slowly strangles revenue, atmosphere and support for the club (as well as creating disengagment) or we can have the boycott of passion which is about taking action now en masse while we still care and while it still matters to us.

A lot of noise needs to be made about all this otherwise it is going to be swept under the carpet and we will still face the same end result - except after a delay of months - while the grisly scenario of slow motion failure is played out.

With mcpake I especially don't like the fact he is thanking the hearts fans who are saying to him things like "chin up" "they are just hurting". The fact he is thanking them really doesn't bode well. A million miles from the first derby last season when he spoke of hearts with such contempt, telling us, the fans, that Hibernian would never again be out fought by them.

Eh? Thanking the hearts fans?

Some of the stuff being tweeted is disgraceful, especially to McPake...

Pathetic from some Hibs "Fans"

Our players take more abuse from their own support that from our rivals

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Coco Bryce View Post
    It's their day off
    I though Monday was there day off.

And James, take your heid out Sparkys arse, it is embarrassing ya big girl.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiberniankb View Post
    Aye. Can you imagine that from Yogi or Murray?

Never a Hibs captain.

Never.

Quote Originally Posted by Judas Iscariot View Post
    Some of the stuff being tweeted is disgraceful, especially to McPake...

Pathetic from some Hibs "Fans"

Our players take more abuse from their own support that from our rivals
    James has seen the full force of Hibs supporters in better days like Hearts in SC at ER, Tynecastle winner, Rugby Park and Hampden, so he knows it goes with the emotional territory of football that defeats will bring a reaction at the other end of the spectrum.

What James and players should have done is tweeted an apology last night for the result (if indeed even pondering going online) and left the keyboard for a week to let things simmer down. But footballers are a not very bright bunch and invite the hassle themselves.

For how to use it properly, read Teddy Maybury's page - short, sweet, to the point, polite and respectful. Not on it every waking moment of the day either.

If anything abuse online or from anywhere else should make you more determined to play better, show the critics they are wrong, and experience more of the 'glory moments' with the fans !

If he's that concerned himself, he can of course delete them/block them or report them to Twitter I'd concern myself more with becoming a more resilient defender and get out onto the pitch and head a few balls in anger - better than the way he did yesterday

Quote Originally Posted by Hiberniankb View Post
    He's thanking them for saying thing like "don't take it personally they are just hurting" in reference of course to the hundreds of tweets of abuse that he is currently receiving. I am of the opinion that last night was a freak result, we were by far the better team, in fact, it's the most dominant we have been in a derby in so long! We just couldn't score, that comes down to the individual chances we missed, not Fenlon, not mcpake and not the fans. Last night we could of done damage to hearts, we failed in front of goal, it's as simple as that.

Quote Originally Posted by Spike Mandela View Post
    If I ran a football club I would ban all players from using anything other than the club's social media and would have it in their contract of employment.
    Completely agree it is embarressing.

Quote Originally Posted by Makaveli View Post

Never a Hibs captain.

Never.
    Can you imagine a fan hurling vile abuse at his club's captain on a publicly accessible social network?

Never a Hibs fan.

Never.

has McPake offered anyone a square go yet ?

He's thanking them for saying thing like "don't take it personally they are just hurting" in reference of course to the hundreds of tweets of abuse that he is currently receiving. I am of the opinion that last night was a freak result, we were by far the better team, in fact, it's the most dominant we have been in a derby in so long! We just couldn't score, that comes down to the individual chances we missed, not Fenlon, not mcpake and not the fans. Last night we could of done damage to hearts, we failed in front of goal, it's as simple as that.
    They played with a patched up backline and no striker - yet won

That Hibs side should have been more than capable of doing what Killie, St Mirren, Celtic, Motherwell and Ross County have done to them and scored 2 goals It's the mentality of management and players that lost the game - not the missed chances in the opening period. Our only creative 'wide player' given 14 minutes to save the game against inexperienced full backs................come on eh

No it's not.

We played well for 25 minutes, then took our foot off the gas. Then we failed to properly defend their only real threat of the game.

For that alone, we deserved to lose. It's as simple as that.

Quote Originally Posted by Makaveli View Post

Never a Hibs captain.

Never.
    Bet you weren't saying that when he carried us away from relegation 2 years ago.

It's pretty funny that he chose to argue with the spl stats page.

Over the last 2 seasons we win 25% of games he plays and 47% when he doesn't play.

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    He has said that he wishes he met one of the fans who abused him in the car park after the game.

Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    He said to a fan who basically called him a pussy for not coming out to protesters "looking back I kinda wish I had came to see you after that"

The fan called him. Hard man and he took more offence.

Gamertag: SAKSxCORE PSN ID: SlickShoes
    Sorry but they know what they are in for when they sign up for Twitter.

The internet is full of the worst kind of people and you can't avoid them. They would be getting the same abuse if they had went in to a pub on Easter Road for a pint after the game last night.