Train to Firhill

Just had a gander at Google maps, seems to be a bit of a hike to the stadium from Partick station. Anyone done it before or is it definitely a taxi job?

Quote Originally Posted by Franck Le God View Post
    Just had a gander at Google maps, seems to be a bit of a hike to the stadium from Partick station. Anyone done it before or is it definitely a taxi job?
    There are supporters buses going, you could always go on one of them.

Most people get the Subway to George's Cross Stn then straight up Maryhill Rd from there. It's actually not too far, bout 15 mins walk.

@hibs.net private member GlesgaeHibby's Avatar
    Partick Thistle don't play in Partick anymore- they play near Maryhill. Best way would be to get a train to queen street then the subway to Kelvinbridge. It's about a 10/15 min walk from there.
    Last edited by GlesgaeHibby; 02-10-2013 at 01:05 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by GlesgaeHibby View Post
    That's because Partick Thistle don't play in Partick anymore. They play in Maryhill. Best way would be to get a train to queen street then the subway to Kelvinbridge. It's about a 10/15 min walk from there.
    Don't listen to him, Kelvinbridge is further away and is only for posh people.

Get off at George's Cross with us mere mortals

That's because Partick Thistle don't play in Partick anymore. They play in Maryhill. Best way would be to get a train to queen street then the subway to Kelvinbridge. It's about a 10/15 min walk from there.
    My bad! Kelvinbridge it is, cheers for the help.

@hibs.net private member GlesgaeHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Don't listen to him, Kelvinbridge is further away and is only for posh people.

Get off at George's Cross with us mere mortals
    Crackin' wee chinese restaurant just round the corner from St George's cross. Well worth a trip- Asia Style.

Get the bus from Hope Street, just before Sauchiehall Street, IIRC its a no.61.

Dinnae say it was "my bad" if thats the wrong number, phrase gets right on my thrupennies! ;-)
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 02-10-2013 at 07:15 PM.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Not relevant to how to get there but is the game on sky or bt sports on Monday?

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    BT.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

First Team Breakthrough Kris1875's Avatar

Gamertag: Pornojoiner
    Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Bt sport mate .

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Crackin' wee chinese restaurant just round the corner from St George's cross. Well worth a trip- Asia Style.
    Subway to St George's Cross is the best bet, and a massive, massive +1 for Asia Style.

Asia Style is very decent.

But if you want proper authentic Chinese the wee basement chinese restaurant just round the corner on west princes st is brilliant.

No English menus in there.

First Team Breakthrough hstn747's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WHAM View Post

But if you want proper authentic Chinese the wee basement chinese restaurant just round the corner on west princes st is brilliant.

Some excellent local knowledge there. My vote would be for the soft shell crab at Asia Style.

You can also get off the train at Charing Cross. It's not that much further to walk.

Quote Originally Posted by hstn747 View Post
    Some excellent local knowledge there. My vote would be for the soft shell crab at Asia Style.

You can also get off the train at Charing Cross. It's not that much further to walk.
    Charing Cross also links direct with Edinburgh if you take the service via Bathgate/Airdrie. Direct trains home at 2157 and 2227; or 2208 with connection at Queen Street.

Quote Originally Posted by WHAM View Post

The best Chinese restaurant in Glasgow is See Woo, which is also not that far from Firhill. http://www.seewoorestaurant.com/contact

Guys,
    Buchanan street underground is right next to Queen Street train station. St Georges Cross Underground is only 2 stops away and Firhill stadium is under 10 minutes walk from the underground.

Great to be playing Hibs again its been too long

Quote Originally Posted by partickthistle View Post
    Guys,
    Buchanan street underground is right next to Queen Street train station. St Georges Cross Underground is only 2 stops away and Firhill stadium is under 10 minutes walk from the underground.

has been too long mate, we're gonna pump yez though

Quote Originally Posted by partickthistle View Post
    Guys,

was just having a look at the train times from Edinburgh to Glasgow (via Bathgate, with no need to get off at queen st) and the train stops at charing cross then partick, is charing cross nearer to the ground then yep ?

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cabbageandribs1875 View Post
    was just having a look at the train times from Edinburgh to Glasgow (via Bathgate, with no need to get off at queen st) and the train stops at charing cross then partick, is charing cross nearer to the ground then yep ?
    Don't go to Partick - Firhill's not in Partick.

Charing Cross or St Georges Cross subway are not far from the ground.

What is your aversion to changing at Queen Street? As people said above, taking the train to Queen Street via Falkirk High and then taking the subway is the easiest and fastest way, not counting taxis.

As someone who lives in Glasgow, I would not take the route you are thinking about. Charing Cross to the stadium has to be close to a 30 minute walk.

EDIT: I just saw you live in Bathgate. For you, walking from Charing Cross is probably only a couple minutes longer than changing to the subway.
    Last edited by NYHibby; 04-10-2013 at 09:37 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    Don't go to Partick - Firhill's not in Partick.

Charing Cross or St Georges Cross subway are not far from the ground.

well they should be renamed firhill thistle, it confuses older folk :(

Quote Originally Posted by NYHibby View Post
    What is your aversion to changing at Queen Street? As people said above, taking the train to Queen Street via Falkirk High and taking the subway is the easiest and fastest way, not counting taxis.

As someone who lives in Glasgow, I would not take the route you are thinking about. Charing Cross to the stadium has to be close to a 30 minute walk.

sheer laziness but anyway, the route from Bathgate-Glasgow doesn't go anywhere near Falkirk, so if(IF) i go i'l just go the way that has been suggested, although what's the correct walking distance ? you say 30 and someone earlier says 10 ? and one saying st.georges and another charing cross

Quote Originally Posted by NYHibby View Post
    What is your aversion to changing at Queen Street? As people said above, taking the train to Queen Street via Falkirk High and then taking the subway is the easiest and fastest way, not counting taxis.

EDIT: I just saw you live in Bathgate. For you, walking from Charing Cross is probably only a couple minutes longer than changing to the subway.

that sounds more appealing ta :)

well they should be renamed firhill thistle, it confuses older folk :(sheer laziness but anyway, the route from Bathgate-Glasgow doesn't go anywhere near Falkirk, so if(IF) i go i'l just go the way that has been suggested, although what's the correct walking distance ? you say 30 and someone earlier says 10 ? and one saying st.georges and another charing cross
    St Georges is the closest subway station. It is not quite a 15 minute walk to the stadium.

Charing Cross is the closest train station for the train from Bathgate. It is about a 30 minute walk.

Any good boozers near the ground?

Munn's Vaults, according to some gadgie that's been roond every club in Scotland( link to PTFC site)

The Edinburgh to Glasgow Central train (Scotrail or SPT) goes direct to Maryhill, about 15 quid return.

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    The Edinburgh to Glasgow Central train (Scotrail or SPT) goes direct to Maryhill, about 15 quid return.
    The one that goes via Slateford to Central doesnae go anywhere near Maryhill.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    The one that goes via Slateford to Central doesnae go anywhere near Maryhill.
    Was at Waverley yesterday mate, board clearly showed Maryhill on the route to GC station.

Leave it. Jump on a Japanese bullet train to Raith and watch the mighty Rovers instead.