Young boy hit in the head by the ball pre match

I was sitting in the lower FF as the players were taking shots when Collins hit one wide and it struck a young fan in the head. The boy (about 6 or 7) fell and hit his face on the step. I hope the young boy is fine and it does not put him off coming to easter Road but I must say Collins was magnificent as he climbed into the stand three times to ensure the young lad was okay and looked upset at what had happened. A lot is said about football players but he and Sean Murdoch showed that they should not be painted with the same brush. This is the type of characters what we want at the club (not up their own *****) and ones that I'm sure will bring us success

Quote Originally Posted by fife hfc View Post
    I was sitting in the lower FF as the players were taking shots when Collins hit one wide and it struck a young fan in the head. The boy (about 6 or 7) fell and hit his face on the step. I hope the young boy is fine and it does not put him off coming to easter Road but I must say Collins was magnificent as he climbed into the stand three times to ensure the young lad was okay and looked upset at what had happened. A lot is said about football players but he and Sean Murdoch showed that they should not be painted with the same brush. This is the type of characters what we want at the club (not up their own *****) and ones that I'm sure will bring us success
    They had the boy in the changing room after the game, gave home a signed top and ball.

Quote Originally Posted by B.H.F.C View Post
    They had the boy in the changing room after the game, gave home a signed top and ball.
    Straight on eBay and that'll keep the young fella in blue wicked till at least Christmas!

Good stuff from Hibs.

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar

Did that campaign to put nets up behind the goal ever take off? This can't go on.

Quote Originally Posted by RicheyWhite View Post
    Did that campaign to put nets up behind the goal ever take off? This can't go on.
    that'd be a sad day. next we'll be giving out thermometers in the pie stands to make sure our delicate wee faces aren't burned by hot pies/coffees etc!

Happened to me too at Malmo home - Vine the culprit! Petrie

Good on Hibs for sorting the wee lad oot

Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post

That was deliberate

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Sparky did much the same to me at Ross County last season. Just sat down and hadn't touched either pie nor Bovril before they were all over me thanks to his wayward shot.

Should have added that Collins was talking about it in the papers for anyone wondering where this came from

@hibs.net private member Mibbes Aye's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibby D View Post
    That was deliberate
    I asked Vine to do it.

He said there would have to be some cash involved.

I suggested £50 but he insisted on giving me a ton

There's only one thing better than a Hibs calendar and that's two Hibs calendars

That was deliberate
    Cannae have been - ma heid is smaller than the goal (just)

i was at the sunderland v arsenal game last week and they have nets behind the goals that they just remove before kick off. maybe an idea

@hibs.net private member cheltenhamhibee's Avatar
    That was deliberate

Is that the first time he hit the target so far this season ?

Quote Originally Posted by wheniwas5 View Post
    i was at the sunderland v arsenal game last week and they have nets behind the goals that they just remove before kick off. maybe an idea

Sounds a pretty decent idea. I remember a couple of years ago, Rankin absolutely blasted the ball over and it hit an old guy on the back of the head. Him, Riordan and I think Mark Brown and a coaching staff member (think it was Gareth Evans) ran up to check on him as well as the ambulance crew. They should definitely give this netting thing during the warm up a think.

Anyways, glad to see the wee boy got to meet the team in the changing rooms and get a signed ball. Nice touch by the club.

It was my little brother got hit (10 not 6 or 7 btw ).

Arrived late and saw blood on the step as I walked up, was a bit of a shock to find out it was my brothers! He arrived back to his seat around the 30th minute, bit shaken up and a nasty cut but the paramedics/Hibs doctor did a good job glueing him back together!

The players/staff after the game were great too, James Collins and Tam McCourt in particular very friendly showing him around the main stand. He got a signed ball, goalie gloves, training top and Collins home shirt so is pleased with that at least!

He's been a season ticket holder as long as he can remember so don't think anything will be putting him off going!

glad to hear hes ok frazeHFC and glad he got looked after

do they not have nets at parkead? sure i remember some there before a game.

Quote Originally Posted by steakbake View Post
    that'd be a sad day. next we'll be giving out thermometers in the pie stands to make sure our delicate wee faces aren't burned by hot pies/coffees etc!
    Quite common at other grounds and they're taken down before kick off. Makes sense.

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Quote Originally Posted by frazeHFC View Post
    It was my little brother got hit (10 not 6 or 7 btw ).

Arrived late and saw blood on the step as I walked up, was a bit of a shock to find out it was my brothers! He arrived back to his seat around the 30th minute, bit shaken up and a nasty cut but the paramedics/Hibs doctor did a good job glueing him back together!

The players/staff after the game were great too, James Collins and Tam McCourt in particular very friendly showing him around the main stand. He got a signed ball, goalie gloves, training top and Collins home shirt so is pleased with that at least!

He's been a season ticket holder as long as he can remember so don't think anything will be putting him off going!
    hibs class!!

No bloody fair .... I got hit on the head by David Zitelli during the warm up and never got anything from the club.

@hibs.net private member Sudds_1's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hfc rd View Post
    Sounds a pretty decent idea. I remember a couple of years ago, Rankin absolutely blasted the ball over and it hit an old guy on the back of the head. Him, Riordan and I think Mark Brown and a coaching staff member (think it was Gareth Evans) ran up to check on him as well as the ambulance crew. They should definitely give this netting thing during the warm up a think.

Anyways, glad to see the wee boy got to meet the team in the changing rooms and get a signed ball. Nice touch by the club.
    nah.....more shooting practice so they hit the back of the net they're supposed to!!!
    The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits

The trouble with referees is that they know the rules, but they do not know the game

Hope the boys ok good to see the players behave in a caring way.

On a lighter note there was a guy who headed back a stray shot when we had a preseason game with Raith Rovers (the abandoned monsoon game) and got a round of applause iirc ;)
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Those 3D telly's are ****ing amazing eh !!

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by VivaPalmeiras View Post
    Hope the boys ok good to see the players behave in a caring way.

On a lighter note there was a guy who headed back a stray shot when we had a preseason game with Raith Rovers (the abandoned monsoon game) and got a round of applause iirc ;)
    I remember a guy running down a few steps to head a ball back from the old east in the early 90s, then heading back to his mates celebrating like he'd scored a goal.

I mind at east end a few seasons back an old guy got hit square in the face by, I think it was GOC, and his glasses marked his face up pretty badly. Didn't see him return to his seat and this was before KO.

[QUOTE=TQM;3753862]Happened to me too at Malmo home - Vine the culprit! Petrie

Good on Hibs for sorting the wee lad oot [/

Chances like that are few and far between TQM. Goodness only knows when they'd see you again

Kids are wimps nowadays. I spent my childhood with bricks and bottles bouncing off my head at football games and it never did ME any harm.

Sorry, what were we talking about again..................?

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    Kids are wimps nowadays. I spent my childhood with bricks and bottles bouncing off my head at football games and it never did ME any harm.

Sorry, what were we talking about again..................?
    I was once hit in the head by a Kujabi free kick.

Odd, as I was still in Greggs at the time.