Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Starting XI vs Stranraer (Tue Night) (Paul Heffernan Cup Tied)

Would like to see some of the younger/fringe players get a chance. Also a full 90 mins for McPake, McGivern and Zoubir would be great and also keep Collins in the team as the more goals he keeps scoring the more confidence he will get. Enough options on the bench if needed so.

Murdoch

Mullen
    Forster
    McPake
    McGivern

Zoubir
    Tudor Jones (if not fit, then Taiwo)
    Stanton
    Vine

Collins
    Caldwell

subs: (I'm sure it's only five in the cup competitions)
    Williams
    Hanlon
    Taiwo/Horribine
    Craig
    Cummings
    Last edited by hfc rd; 22-09-2013 at 07:14 PM.

Williams

Mullen
    Admiral Nelson
    Forster
    McGivern

Zoubir
    Tudor-Jones
    Robertson
    Craig

Vine
    Caldwell

Subs:
    Williams
    Hanlon
    Tommy Tackle
    Thomson
    Collins
    Last edited by SteveHFC; 22-09-2013 at 12:07 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by hfc rd View Post
    Would like to see some of the younger/fringe players get a chance. Also a full 90 mins for McPake, McGivern and Zoubir would be great and also keep Collins in the team as the more goals he keeps scoring the more confidence he will get. Enough options on the bench if needed so.

Murdoc

Mullen
    Forster
    McPake
    McGivern

Zoubir
    Horribine
    Stanton
    Vine

Collins
    Caldwell

subs: (I'm sure it's only five in the cup competitions)
    Williams
    Hanlon
    Taiwo
    Craig
    Heffernan
    Heffernan is cup tied

Quote Originally Posted by delbert View Post
    Heffernan is cup tied

Oops. Well in that case maybe young Jason Cummings.

Williams

Mullen Foster Mcpake McGivern

Zoubir OTJ Taiwo Stanton

Collins Caldwell

Subs: Murdoch Stevenson Craig Vine Horribine

Cup run is important this year! Strong team needed. I would maybe give McPake, Zoubir and McGivern game time but other than that same team as today. Drop Maybury, Nelson and Taiwo for them. Just to rest them. Heff and Collins need to start upfront. The are on good form and playing well together.

Sorry just seen Heff is cup tied. Well he can drop out for Zoubir!!

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    After what happened in last year's league cup no messing around please Pat!

Williams

Maybury
    Forster
    McPake
    McGivern

Zoubir
    Taiwo
    Robertson
    Craig

Collins
    Caldwell

PSN ID: shamo9
    It's a bit of a difficult one with Heffernan cup tied because Vine and Collins really didn't click at all. It's still early days for Vine though and this could be the opportunity he needs to get his first goal and some confidence. Stanton really deserves a start, he's always looked pretty impressive to me and I think he'll be very hungry for this chance. Zouby, McPake, Forster and McGivern need game time. With the squad we have they'll also know that a bad showing will put them right down the pecking order.

People might draw comparisons with changing it against QOS last year but I think it had more to do with the players rather than change in general - Kujabi, O'Hanlon and Kuqi! Come on now!

Williams

Maybury
    McPake
    Forster
    McGivern

Zoubir
    Taiwo
    Craig
    Stanton

Collins
    Vine

Subs - Robertson, Caldwell, Murdoch, Hanlon, Cummings

A chance to give some legs a rest and give one or two some much needed game time - wouldn't change things too much though as this is a game we want to make sure is won....

Murdoch

Stevenson McPake Hanlon McGivern

Zoubir Robertson Thomson Craig

Collins Vine

We see pretty motivated at the moment so I can't see us slipping up here. I'd give mcpake, mcgivern and possibly zoubir a start for some game time but I think pf will go with a strong team.

I really want to win and get drawn v the huns

Quote Originally Posted by givescotlandfreedom View Post

Murdoch

Mullen Forster McPake McGivern

Robertson OTJ Thomson

Zoubir

Collins Caldwell
    Last edited by Judas Iscariot; 22-09-2013 at 06:25 AM.

Ditto, we aren't far from a semi final/final.

Heffernan out and handling/Caldwell/vine in for me. No other changes.

Don't think pat will go for that, but it's his perogative

I think he will play as close a team to yesterdays to keep the run going

It's a blow that Heff is cup tied. Not just for the Stranraer game, but the Cup Competition

Quote Originally Posted by 1two View Post
    We see pretty motivated at the moment so I can't see us slipping up here. I'd give mcpake, mcgivern and possibly zoubir a start for some game time but I think pf will go with a strong team.

I really want to win and get drawn v the huns
    Big Huns are out but Diet Huns are still in for now!

People are dropping Stevenson who is in great form but playing Maybury who will need a rest.

Could we play 3 at the back with 2 attacking full backs in front? Maybe Mullen and McGivern?

Don't think wee Pat will make too many changes. Maybury, Nelson and Thomson might get a rest, with Heffernan cup tied.
    McGivern, McPake, Stanton and Zoubir in. Maybe give some of the younger lads a run for the final half hour if we build a lead.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    As far as possible, we should play the same team from yesterday. Maybe have an eye on the bench for run outs later on once the game is secured. Don't change a winning team unless you have to.

Quote Originally Posted by HibeeN View Post
    Not for me, I'd be wary about making too many changes. This is just the type of game where we could slip up and then the brief momentum that we've built in the last couple of games is lost, for both the fans and players. I think Fenlon knows that if he wants to keep the fans on side, he can't lose this game, so I think (hope) we'll see a relatively unchanged team and certainly not a new system.

Heffernan will drop out and Zoubir might get a start, but I wouldn't want to see too many changes.
    I agree with this generally.

People have been saying that the team hasn't gelled. The only way for it to gel, is for it to remain settled.

Losing Hefferman is a blow and I think Vine will start alongside Collins.

I wouldn't start with Zoubir.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I agree with this generally.

People have been saying that the team hasn't gelled. The only way for it to gel, is for it to remain settled.

Losing Hefferman is a blow and I think Vine will start alongside Collins.

I wouldn't start with Zoubir.
    I think there will be 3/4 changes max
    McGivern will start at left back, Lewis to right back
    Mcpake in for Nelson
    Zoubir/Caldwell/Vine if for Heff

I'd also like to see Sammy Stanton get a decent run, he impresses me this boy

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Whizz View Post
    I think there will be 3/4 changes max
    McGivern will start at left back, Lewis to right back
    Mcpake in for Nelson
    Zoubir/Caldwell/Vine if for Heff

I'd also like to see Sammy Stanton get a decent run, he impresses me this boy
    If McGivern's fit, then I agree, we need to get him "gelled" asap.

I don't know what Fenlon thinks about McPake's future, but Nelson has done well since he arrived.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    If McGivern's fit, then I agree, we need to get him "gelled" asap.

I don't know what Fenlon thinks about McPake's future, but Nelson has done well since he arrived.
    I just think we need to give McPake match time to get him upto speed. Nelson holds that position at the moment, but he's 32, so Pat probably doesn't want him playing 2 games per week, unless we have too.
    It's Stranraer we're playing, so I hope we go 433

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    I'd play a full strength team. Remember Queen of the South?

Same team for me with Caldwell replacing Heffernan, dinnae think making a lot of changes is a good idea. We have a better squad than last year for sure but I think we need tae try and play a settled team as much as possible. I'd maybe give the subs a bit longer than 10 minutes though tae give them a bit of a run out.

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic
    Murdoch

Mullen
    McPake
    Forster
    McGivern

Zoubir
    OTJ
    Stanton
    Criag

Caldwell
    Collins

Subs
    Williams
    Hanlon
    Robertson
    Stevenson
    Mulhall (heard he has been scoring a lot in the EOS and under 20s so why not give him a wee try)

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    I had the misfortune of being at the QoS game last year. As someone says this team needs more game time together so i'd make very little changes. Maybe play McGivern if fit, i'd like to see Stanton and Zoubir get longer on the park.
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

I get why people are bringing the Queen of the South fiasco up but i believe we have much more strength in depth this year. If someone could dig up who started that game i'd be very interested to see it? I know the likes of O'Hanlon, Kujabi, Booth and Kuqi all started.
    A team of

Murdoch

Stevenson (Mullen if fit) Mcpake Forster Mcgivern

Vine Stanton Taiwo Zoubir

Caldwell Collins

Should be more than capable of seeing off Stranraer