Thread: The Venga Bus

PSN ID: Euphoria1875

The Venga Bus

theres an article on the Scotsman Web site about some of the players commuting to East Mains and they all jump in a people carrier called the Venga Bus

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...mute-1-3100593

Theres a bit of banter on twitter from the players about it as well

I'm a bit surprised so many of our players live over in the West. Ok Heffernan fair enough because he has only just joined us, but McPake, Craig and Caldwell too? Would you not move to Edinburgh if you were in their position? Has Craig been commuting from Glasgow to Perth all that time?

Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post
    I'm a bit surprised so many of our players live over in the West. Ok Heffernan fair enough because he has only just joined us, but McPake, Craig and Caldwell too? Would you not move to Edinburgh if you were in their position? Has Craig been commuting from Glasgow to Perth all that time?
    It's only an hour away, it's not that far, when I worked in London I was 2 and a half hours away from my work.

If thats not played when the players come out then I despair.

Catchy wee tune too. I remember it from my youth

second,

third

or forth time around. :-)
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post
    I think it's a good idea for players to live away from Edinburgh even just for the fact that they won't get recognised/hassled as much.

It only takes about an hour to get to East Mains, especially as the players will be able to avoid the busiest part of the rush hour. It's about the same from Perth. No distance at all.

It can take longer than that travelling from one side of Edinburgh to the other for us mortal folk.

Hefferman, as you say, was playing for Killie so it makes sense he lived in the Wwedge. Most of the others qualify as weedgies (born West of Maybury )

Caldwell - Bellshill

McPake - Bellshill

Liam Craig - Chirnside (Borders)

Paul Cairney - Glasgow

Murdoch is Edinburgh born so I'm not sure why he lives in Glasgow. Maybe he moved in with his boyfirend through there. (This will soon become a dotnet FACT!)

I agree Jack. "Up and down" is quite apt for Hibs too but if that gets played I think it will drive more folks away than rank performances :)

Now is it pronounced "benga" or "wenga"?

As I recall the "tidier" girl is from Brazil - Salvador in fact after a check [wiki is not long for wrong].
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    I once romanced a girl in a nightclub called La Belle Angele who was the absolute double of the tidy thing from the Vengaboys. 13 years on I'm still not quite sure how I managed it. Romp!
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by Pedantic_Hibee View Post
    I once romanced a girl in a nightclub called La Belle Angele who was the absolute double of the tidy thing from the Vengaboys. 13 years on I'm still not quite sure how I managed it. Romp!
    That's a nice way of putting it!

Was that her real name or just your special, "I might get a lumber if I pretend to be French", one.

Coming through from the West should it not be the Senga-bus?
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012

Quote Originally Posted by VivaPalmeiras View Post

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    Was that her real name or just your special, "I might get a lumber if I pretend to be French", one.

The club was called La Belle Angele, I have absolutely no recollection of what her name was. Given her Mediterranean looks it was probably something exotic like Michael I imagine.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

Quote Originally Posted by VivaPalmeiras View Post

The club was called La Belle Angele,

Not sure about the tunics but that dance would look good in the East
    Space to let

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Not sure about the tunics but that dance would look good in the East
    Boom, boom, boom, boom!

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar
    I think it's a good idea for players to live away from Edinburgh even just for the fact that they won't get recognised/hassled as much.

It only takes about an hour to get to East Mains, especially as the players will be able to avoid the busiest part of the rush hour. It's about the same from Perth. No distance at all.

It can take longer than that travelling from one side of Edinburgh to the other for us mortal folk.

Hefferman, as you say, was playing for Killie so it makes sense he lived in the Wwedge. Most of the others qualify as weedgies (born West of Maybury )

Caldwell - Bellshill

McPake - Bellshill

Paul Cairney - Glasgow

Murdoch is Edinburgh born so I'm not sure why he lives in Glasgow. Maybe he moved in with his boyfirend through there. (This will soon become a dotnet FACT!)
    I'm sure I recently saw him wear rainbow laces - FACT

When STF builds houses at East Mains (pocketing millions in the process) he'll force the players to stay there

Quote Originally Posted by MB62 View Post
    I'm sure I recently saw him wear rainbow laces - FACT
    Good link!

Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    When Retro builds houses at East Mains (pocketing millions in the process) they'll force the players to stay there
    Fixed that for you.

Stripping away the unworkable legacy left by the previous incumbents no doubt......

Commuting from North Lanarkshire, Glasgow and Perth is nothing. It can take longer in London on the underground to get across the city. Travelling for aa hour to get to work is the norm down south.

@hibs.net private member ano hibby's Avatar
    Dont see the issue with the travelling. The squad only train for 90 mins tops They'd be back home in The 'Gow for Greggs lunch, a loosener, hit the bookies then a few swallies in the snooker hall. Home in time to walk the dug & put bairns to bed and snooze off the hangover pre training the next day.
    No worries.

"We've also been unsure about what has happened to the receipts of the players who have been sold."
    George Foulkes BBC website 20/3/08

Caldwell - Bellshill

McPake - Bellshill

Paul Cairney - Glasgow

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Wassup?

Wassup?
    Probably me, just the inference that Chirnside was West of Maybury.

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?

Caldwell - Bellshill

McPake - Bellshill

Paul Cairney - Glasgow

Whoever (apart from yourself) suggests that the Maybury marks the eastern boundary of Weegiedom?

Or were you referring to ALAN Maybury? 'Cos he was born in Ireland.

Is anyone else concerned at the thought of a sizeable contingent of our first-team squad travelling through from Glasgow every day in a van that Paul Heffernan doesn't reckon will 'last through the winter'?

Has Petrie taken out life insurance on them? I smell a 'Double Indemnity' situation brewing here.
    Last edited by --------; 19-09-2013 at 12:39 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Probably me, just the inference that Chirnside was West of Maybury.
    Aye, it's you, ya radge.

I thought I'd covered it by saying "most of the others", and putting the word "borders" in brackets after Chirnside.

I rented a cottage in Chirnside for Hogmanay the year before last.

We had a great time, but the local boozer was like the wild west!

Quote Originally Posted by Doddie View Post
    Whoever (apart from yourself) suggests that the Maybury marks the eastern boundary of Weegiedom?

Is anyone else concerned at the thought of a sizeable contingent of our first-team squad travelling through from Glasgow every day in a van that Paul Heffernan doesn't reckon will 'last through the winter'?

Or has Petrie got life insurance out on them?
    It was a joke, hence the grin immediately after the comment.

We used to say this on the Hawkhill bus to away games.

The West of Scotland starts after the Maybury because the accents all change.

But it's a joke.

The fateful words of a mate before I made a move on my future wife
    "there's nothing wrong with a drunken fumble..."