Thread: Ivan Sproule

First Team Regular erin-go-bragh87's Avatar

Ivan Sproule

Apologies if posted already but just thought I'd share the piece on Ivan on the Evening news website. I'm of an age that first time round he was my hero and I was delighted when he came back. I will never forget my first trip to Ibrox because of him!

Story Here: http://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/ivan-sproule-hibs-will-always-be-club-of-my-heart-1-3064410

Gamertag: Eh? PSN ID: No comprendo, senor. Wii Code: What's a Wii?
    Quote Originally Posted by erin-go-bragh87 View Post
    Apologies if posted already but just thought I'd share the piece on Ivan on the Evening news website. I'm of an age that first time round he was my hero and I was delighted when he came back. I will never forget my first trip to Ibrox because of him!

Story Here: http://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/...eart-1-3064410

http://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/...eart-1-3064410

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Hopefully a great reception for him on Saturday, followed by a defeat for Ross County.

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Hopefully a great reception for him on Saturday, followed by a defeat for Ross County.
    Works for me

will be getting applauded from me.

great lad and a great player.

Was listening to the Off the Ball podcast yesterday and they were talking about 'super sub' memories. I couldn't believe that Ivan didn't get a mention - his hat-trick as a sub at Ibrox will live long in the memory that's for sure.

Quote Originally Posted by patlowe View Post
    Was listening to the Off the Ball podcast yesterday and they were talking about 'super sub' memories. I couldn't believe that Ivan didn't get a mention - his hat-trick as a sub at Ibrox will live long in the memory that's for sure.
    Was Sproule a sub that game - I don't know why I got it into my head that I thought Mowbray had talked about the fact that he was going to sub him before he got the first.

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenPJ View Post
    Was Sproule a sub that game - I don't know why I got it into my head that I thought Mowbray had talked about the fact that he was going to sub him before he got the first.
    Was it not Deeks who he subbed for Sproule, and Deek was a tad unhappy about it?

Jeezy peeps! Another thread about a player coming back :-)
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by GreenPJ View Post
    Garry O went mental about being subbed for Ivan, guess who had the last laugh

Quote Originally Posted by Mon Dieu4 View Post
    I was nearly right

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee87 View Post
    I was nearly right
    You would have been melted, it was about 4.20pm!!

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar

Apparently he asked Mowbray why he was being subbed and TM said it was because he hadn't had any shots on goal.

"How many shots is he going to have, likes?" was supposedly Garry's reply!

You would have been melted, it was about 4.20pm!!
    I actually was it was my dads stag doo that day and I mind watching it roll in on soccer satarday in some rugby club in tranent.......

I was there, what a day

I went into B&Q Longstone at 0-0.
    Came out 20 minutues later with a new curtain pole and we were 0-3 up!

Quote Originally Posted by madabouthibs View Post
    I went into B&Q Longstone at 0-0.
    Came out 20 minutues later with a new curtain pole and we were 0-3 up!
    Was the said purchase Improvised Replacement training equipment for Tam McManus?
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee87 View Post
    I actually was it was my dads stag doo that day and I mind watching it roll in on soccer satarday in some rugby club in tranent.......
    Knew it Haha!

Coaching Staff The Green Goblin's Avatar

Apparently he asked Mowbray why he was being subbed and TM said it was because he hadn't had any shots on goal.

The end of that story is that Mowbray walked past GOC at the end of the game and said "three".

@hibs.net private member Tricla's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The Green Goblin View Post
    The end of that story is that Mowbray walked past GOC at the end of the game and said "three".
    Lol!

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    What a day! Scott Brown and Ivan were unplayable last 20 minutes. He'll get a tremendous reception from me on Saturday. Easily in my top 10 Hibees of all time. (I'm still in my 20's before anyone questions that haha)

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Correct, O'Connor barely shook his hand as he went on. If you look closely, you can see Sproule giving it the 'waanker' sign towards the bench after he scores the first
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

That's a kinda polite version of events.

TM told me that Garry asked "What's that wee C gonnae dae that ah couldnae?"

This is how it feels

Was there at Ibrox that fine day with a cracking hangover. Super sub Ivan cured that.

Hopefully get the reception he deserves

Ivan will always have a place in my heart. Great player and a gem of a man. Was at ibrox that brilliant day. Went to Bristol to see him with amongst others, maturehibby and givescotlandfreedom. Ivan was a true gent, introduced us to his wife and baby and had a drink with us in the players lounge. LEGEND

Sent from my iPhone at home on crutches

@hibs.net private member ian cruise's Avatar
    One of my favourite Hibs games and one of my all time favourite players. A true gent.

Quote Originally Posted by kaimendhibs View Post
    Ivan will always have a place in my heart. Great player and a gem of a man. Was at ibrox that brilliant day. Went to Bristol to see him with amongst others, maturehibby and givescotlandfreedom. Ivan was a true gent, introduced us to his wife and baby and had a drink with us in the players lounge. LEGEND

Sent from my iPhone at home on crutches
    see nothing changes much - you being legless - like in Bristol and Inverness for that matter .
    Ivan my favourite Hibs player after Big Frank left

Loved him. Hes here, hes there.

Ironic we are currently looking for a winger/impact player just now yet we let Ivan go last year... Met him in the BMW garage the day before the 2012 cup final, make no mistake he is a true Hibee. Top guy too! Hope he gets a great reception Saturday.