Gamertag: sjmcg1304

Pricing Fans out of the Game

I'm aware finance and football is an oft-discussed topic but I note that Dundee are charging £20 to get into this weekends game at home to Alloa!

£20 for a SPFL Championship game?!

Utter madness.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Agree strongly.
    Clubs have taken the mickey for that long.
    Willing to lose supporters to take more cash from the diehards.
    It will be the death of football

It does sound crazy, and, IMHO, is morally unjustifiable. I can only imagine that Dundee have calculated they will be financially better off by charging £20 than they would, for example, charging £15 and getting more fans in. They must work this all out with revenue maximization in mind, surely. There will be fans who just won't/can't pay it and the seats will be empty, which is a shame. It's the same at most Scottish clubs.

I guess I'm in the minority but £20 to watch my team doesn't seem that bad to me, I would pay that without complaining if Hibs were relegated.

Gamertag: Hanny0762
    How about putting this in perspective. What else can you do these days for about an hour and a half's entertainment and how much does it cost? For example:

Cinema - £9.30 (standard) £11 (VIP) at VUE Ocean Terminal

Play Snooker - £12.15 (hour and a half) at Reilys Meadowbank

What else?

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    I guess I'm in the minority but £20 to watch my team doesn't seem that bad to me, I would pay that without complaining if Hibs were relegated.
    Aye, but you aren't Scottish

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Aye, but you aren't Scottish

A very good point.

Discrimination against the rich.

The poor are indeed fortunate that they can no longer afford to watch that *****.

Quote Originally Posted by Hanny View Post
    How about putting this in perspective. What else can you do these days for about an hour and a half's entertainment and how much does it cost? For example:

What else?

You ever been to a Hibs game?

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    I'm aware finance and football is an oft-discussed topic but I note that Dundee are charging £20 to get into this weekends game at home to Alloa!

£20 for a SPFL Championship game?!

Utter madness.
    This is the sole reason I go to 2 or 3 games a season.

I simply can't justify the cost. It's all about opportunity cost. What do I have to forego in order to watch Hibs.

Gamertag: Hanny0762
    You ever been to a Hibs game?
    Yeah I used that term as loosely as possible

You think that's bad? Stenny v pars is £18.

Considering you can pay anything from 10 euros at times to watch the likes of schweinsteiger, muller, thiago and co in the bundesliga its a complete rip off.

What else?
    Ah but your talking about 22 phannys chasing leather that's the difference. Cost a fortune down the docks.
    "We know the people who have invested so far are simple fans." Vladimir Romanov - Scotsman 10th December 2012
    "Romanov was like a breath of fresh air - laced with cyanide." Me.

Quote Originally Posted by brian6-2 View Post
    Considering you can pay anything from 10 euros at times to watch the likes of schweinsteiger, muller, thiago and co in the bundesliga its a complete rip off.
    To watch a standard so far above what we're made to put up with.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibercelona View Post
    To watch a standard so far above what we're made to put up with.
    i think even in france as well mate its around about the same.

@hibs.net private member JoeTortolanoFanClub's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Boyle89 View Post
    You think that's bad? Stenny v pars is £18.
    Ridiculous. I have just bought a ticket to see Fulham v Swansea at the end of November. Two of the best footballing sides in the EPL. £10.

Quote Originally Posted by JoeTortolanoFanClub View Post
    Ridiculous. I have just bought a ticket to see Fulham v Swansea at the end of November. Two of the best footballing sides in the EPL. £10.
    How £10? That can't be the regular price surely.

Quote Originally Posted by brian6-2 View Post
    Really? I thought that was a bit of an urban myth myself-but I'm prepared to stand corrected if you've been.
    Usually when I go to watch Barcelona it costs between £40-70 for the cheap seats against the **** (lower categorie teams)-still worth it though

First Team Breakthrough MADE IN LEITH's Avatar
    Agree, £20 is nothing these days, packet of fags, 1 beer and a taxi home from the West end to the bottom o the Walk and that's £20 gone. And that's not even giving the taxi driver a tip.

Quote Originally Posted by brianmc View Post
    Really? I thought that was a bit of an urban myth myself-but I'm prepared to stand corrected if you've been.
    Usually when I go to watch Barcelona it costs between £40-70 for the cheap seats against the **** (lower categorie teams)-still worth it though
    It was £48 to sit behind the pillar at Celtc Park last season!

don't think that is correct.or was it to sit there twice

Where do you get your tickets from? I haven't been to the Nou Camp for a couple of years but have been to some other La Liga games and that seems a bit steep.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Really?! I might head along and take that game in myself. Swansea are a joy to watch.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    don't think that is correct.or was it to sit there twice
    Emmm naw Mr roll eye smilie - it was £48 per ticket.(actually in pretty sure I paid €60 each for me and my bairn) through the FCB official away allocation-but i'm sure you'll be able to correct me.

Jesus that's good!

Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post
    Where do you get your tickets from? I haven't been to the Nou Camp for a couple of years but have been to some other La Liga games and that seems a bit steep.
    You can get tickets for every FCB game - except Madrid - easily enough through the official website .
    Book online and you can either pick them up at the ticket office, print them off at home (like a Ryanair boarding pass) or collect them from the 'hole in the wa' ATM.
    Ticket prices vary widely depending on (a) the oposition and (b) the area of the ground you're in. Again, a few clicks online will let you see which area/price suits you best.
    Last edited by brianmc; 16-08-2013 at 11:07 PM.

Gamertag: HOUSEkid
    Quote Originally Posted by Waxy View Post
    Agree strongly.
    Clubs have taken the mickey for that long.
    Willing to lose supporters to take more cash from the diehards.
    It will be the death of football
    And how long until the 'diehards' can't afford it anymore?

What else?
    Stock car racing at Cowdenbeath . £15 for four hours action mostly start to finish!

but to think I bought us season tickets for E.R thinking it would be better

@hibs.net private member hibee_nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by stormchild View Post
    Stock car racing at Cowdenbeath . £15 for four hours action mostly start to finish!

but to think I bought us season tickets for E.R thinking it would be better
    Funnily enough watching Hibs at the moment is a bit of a car crash.
    45 AND RISING