http://www.theguardian.com/football/...ty-tigers-name

i can't see how this is going to pass without a storm
    Hibernian Hippos

First Team Breakthrough hibby67's Avatar
    More like Hibernian hyenas as we are a bit of a joke just now

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Hibernian Hippos
    I was just meaning sticking an animal name after/in a british football team (discounting wolves ) doesn't quite work.. don't think it'll go down well with the Hull fans

i have nothing against hippos
    Last edited by IanM; 09-08-2013 at 09:41 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by hibby67 View Post
    More like Hibernian hyenas as we are a bit of a joke just now
    I think you are getting us mixed up with our pink neeboors.

If we need an animal name how about Hibernian Hellbenders or Hibernian Harriers (sounds more like a running club). I'd steer clear of Hibernian Hedgehogs and Hibernian Hatchet Fish though

Hull City are known as the tigers because of their colours so the name's already part of their identity. It therefore might be acceptable to the supporters.

@hibs.net private member Juice-Terry's Avatar
    Don't like it. Another obvious step toward Americanisation. Awful.

Hibernian Honeybadgers. They're radge

@hibs.net private member neilmartinrocks's Avatar

Gamertag: sum1stolemytag
    Hibernian Harp(ie)s.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Hibernian Hippos
    You've got to be thick skinned to be a Hibby these days!

You just can't call them Hull Tigers - because then you'd be able to colour one of the letters in!

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Thank God I watch a team in a 'mickey mouse' league. Cardiff change their strip colour and now name changes. Hibernian FC in green since 1875 and forever!
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

It seems in their never ending quest for new markets the owners of football clubs love pissing all over tradition.

See badge changes at Man Utd, Arsenal, Spurs etx. Colour change at Cardiff, a name change at Hull. God forbid that a club should retain any historic identity if it stand in the way of selling a few strips to the Koreans and Japanese.

How about a 70s US Soccer League style name like Hibees Sting?

First Team Breakthrough DanHFC1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky View Post

How do we make this official LOL

Gamertag: Rich Tea12
    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky View Post
    Honey-Badger-Dont-Care.jpg

For all those who think this is tacky, I refer you to the Austrian league. They've been changing the names of clubs for years to add company names. Some companies have even moved from one club to another, making it even more confusing.

I give you (company names in bold)...

Red Bull Salzburg
    Puntigamer Sturm Graz
    Trenkwalder Admira Wacker
    Austria Wien (formerly FK Austria Memphis Magna)
    FC Magna Wiener Neustadt (Yep, same Magna as above)
    SV Bauwelt Koch Mattersburg
    Josko Fenster Ried

(There are others, but I got bored)

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    Maybe something to consider for our unfortunate neighbours when they have to reform in a new guise.

Gorgie Gorillas
    Hearts Humpbacks
    Maroon Merricks

Their beyond cringeworthy "mauled by the tigers" chant makes it difficult to have any sympathy...

Not to bad up here Hibs n hearts could have been Edinburgh fc and Edinburgh united. Celtic and rangers could have been Glasgow and glasgow united.Just as well our main cities have imagination.

Gorgie grunters. With that big bird hanging oot the window as thier badge.

Heart of Mad Lithuanian?

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    For all those who think this is tacky, I refer you to the Austrian league. They've been changing the names of clubs for years to add company names. Some companies have even moved from one club to another, making it even more confusing.

I give you (company names in bold)...

Red Bull Salzburg
    Puntigamer Sturm Graz
    Trenkwalder Admira Wacker
    Austria Wien (formerly FK Austria Memphis Magna)
    FC Magna Wiener Neustadt (Yep, same Magna as above)
    SV Bauwelt Koch Mattersburg
    Josko Fenster Ried

(There are others, but I got bored)
    PSV Eindhoven

PHILIPS Sport Vereniging (Union)

If we change to Hibernian Hero's do we get £1billion?

Quote Originally Posted by Juice-Terry View Post
    Absolutely. The game is increasingly going like American football: stadium sponsors, official corporate tie-ins and the like. Corporate names will be next stage. Pepsi Hibernian v Sony Aberdeen

Quote Originally Posted by Juice-Terry View Post
    Amercanisation doesn't mean all bad does it? We could learn a lot about how to make our major sporting events more FUN.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Absolutely. The game is increasingly going like American football: stadium sponsors, official corporate tie-ins and the like. Corporate names will be next stage. Pepsi Hibernian v Sony Aberdeen

Wrong drink, you maybe meant this one

Yep i don't like the way it's going either. And how expensive it could become in future. I can see a split in years to come where the rich follow the big teams in lego stadiums where a goal is applauded and stadiums are filled with a passionless audience. The junior grounds will start to fill up with real fans

Quote Originally Posted by Waxy View Post
    Yep i don't like the way it's going either. And how expensive it could become in future. I can see a split in years to come where the rich follow the big teams in lego stadiums where a goal is applauded and stadiums are filled with a passionless audience. The junior grounds will start to fill up with real fans
    Aye, because when it comes to sport the Americans totally lack passion.