Thread: Cider Thread

Cider Thread

Rekorderlig Passion Fruit Cider.

Stuff of genius.

anyone have any other recomendations?

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    I just had strawberry-lime by the same company, was braw
    Last edited by Allant1981; 14-07-2013 at 09:19 PM.

First Team Breakthrough West Upper's Avatar

Gamertag: v HiiB3RNI4N x
    Quote Originally Posted by brian6-2 View Post
    Rekorderlig Passion Fruit Cider.

Stuff of genius.

anyone have any other recomendations?

Yes, try some real cider.

Quote Originally Posted by West Upper View Post

The trouble is that many folk who like cider as in the mass produced/flavoured variety often find a pint of proper cider not to their taste.

I find the bottled cider (whoever makes it) is like drinking liquid sugar. Very sickly.

I know this will be frowned upon, but, I'd prefer Strongbow.

being a 19 year old from north gyle whats your idea of "real" cider? white lightning?

First Team Breakthrough West Upper's Avatar

Gamertag: v HiiB3RNI4N x
    Quote Originally Posted by brian6-2 View Post
    being a 19 year old from north gyle whats your idea of "real" cider? white lightning?
    Cheddar Valley 6% on sale in the White Lady in Corstorphine.

will give that a bash buddy, cheers. although probably not in the white lady

Remember a few years back I was in a village pub in Devon.

They had a cider on tap called Madam Rosies XXXX cider and the abv was stated as ?. I had a couple of pints of it and it was quite pleasant, went to the bar for another and was warned by the barman to take it easy, being a bit of a dick I went on to drink another 4 pints of it.

Woke up the next morning in a hedge on a countru lane about 3 miles from the village withno recollection of getting there and a brutal hangover.

Word of advice, if someone warns you off home brewed cider then it pays to listen.

I stayed in Reading over the weekend of the Millwall "friendly" and we ended up in a wee country pub called The Cider House, IIRC it was just outside Caversham, they had different concoctions of Cider/Scrumpy called Hand Grenade, Depth Charge etc, the final outcome was much the same! :-)

Any type you get from the side of roads in Somerset. Cloudy, bits floating in it and tasty.

First Team Regular weedgiehibbie's Avatar
    Tried a pint of that (or at least i tihnk it was that - it was something Chedder )in my local Wetherspoons last time they had a Cider festival and wasn't too impressed with it, prefered some of the others.

In saying that there is another cider festival just staerted in Wetherspoons so will need to head down and try some new ones.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    We get some properly lovely ciders down here - nought more refreshing after a long day's work than a nice pint of local press!
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

@hibs.net private member danhibees1875's Avatar
    The bottles fruity ones taste great but I need to stop after 1/2 cause it gets a bit sickly. From there it's Strongbow or Henry Westons.

HW is currently on offer in Scotmid I've been told. £1.50 and it's 9%.
    Mon the Hibs.

The new strongbow dark fruit is pretty nice, I also like the red bulmers

Kopparberg Naked Apple is a lovely cider, also bought a load of Stella Cidre as it was mega cheap, was sh**.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Exile View Post
    Kopparberg Naked Apple is a lovely cider, also bought a load of Stella Cidre as it was mega cheap, was sh**.
    I like cidre. The pear one too. £1.70 a bottle in Morrisons just now. It has got to be really cold though. Not enjoyable if it is tepid.

Drink old Rosie and adnams ale when visiting my dad in Sussex. They are ok.

Edit: cannot remember what adnams brand cider was called - not been there for a while!
    Last edited by Wilson; 18-07-2013 at 04:41 PM.

Aspel ain't too shabby

Is Strongbow a cider? Never seen an apple in its puff. The flavoured bottle ones are excellent for a hangover, Bulmers 17 being my favourite. Slightly off topic, whats everyones thought on Jeremiah Weed? Thats a nice drink, can only have a couple IMO.

PSN ID: hibee-87
    Quote Originally Posted by CB_NO3 View Post
    Is Strongbow a cider? Never seen an apple in its puff. The flavoured bottle ones are excellent for a hangover, Bulmers 17 being my favourite. Slightly off topic, whats everyones thought on Jeremiah Weed? Thats a nice drink, can only have a couple IMO.
    I used to be a lager lout, wouldnt drink anything other than lager......now I drink cider mostly.

Strongbow is fine, will happily drink pint after pint in the pub.

I do liek the koperbergs and rekorderlings but only 1 or 2 bottles as i find it pretty sweet and sickly.

henry westons is a nice cider, especially when on offer in tesco

Im not a fan of magners but dont mind bulmers or cidre.

I tried a new cider the other night but cant mind the name, somthing thistle i think it was, it was nice would recomend it.

Dark fruits strongbow was rank, tasted flat.

I hated cider growing up and tended to stay o nthe buckfast or MD (i know i know) so I dont have any bad experiences on the stuff yet, so id still happily drink blackthorn or woodpecker.

Also I tried the merrydown with berries and was rather refreshing.

and to answer your question, I tried 2 flavours of that jerimiah weed, I liked one more than the other but cant remeber which one, but I did enjoy them if not for the heartburn.

I suppose I can take from this analsys is I will drink anythign really

@hibs.net private member alhibby's Avatar
    Stowford Press in the Cask and Barrel Southside is awfy good

Stowford Press seems to get me bevvied a lot quicker than other ciders, its not that strong, so I dinnae really understand why!

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Stowford Press seems to get me bevvied a lot quicker than other ciders, its not that strong, so I dinnae really understand why!
    Too tasty, I drink that stuff too fast and fall over.

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    Very old thread but need help form you cider drinkers. Never been a big fan always the bitter aftertaste that got me but I’m just back from Portugal and has some Sommersby cider and it changed my life!!

Stuff was amazing tasted like Appletiser with no bitter aftertaste. I believe it’s made by Carlsberg but it’s not widely available in the UK and the stuff they make here is slightly different.

Anything drinkers able to recommend similar ciders available here?

Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post
    Very old thread but need help form you cider drinkers. Never been a big fan always the bitter aftertaste that got me but I’m just back from Portugal and has some Sommersby cider and it changed my life!!

Stuff was amazing tasted like Appletiser with no bitter aftertaste. I believe it’s made by Carlsberg but it’s not widely available in the UK and the stuff they make here is slightly different.

I really don't like it, it's like drinking sugar, sorry. Same as Magners.

First Team Breakthrough Dav1986's Avatar

Gamertag: davidmcandrew86
    The wife loves her cider. She prefers Henry Westons, but will drink Scrumpy Jack, or Aspalls too.

She doesn't like any of the fruit ciders as they're too sweet and 'not real cider' as she says.

First Team Breakthrough Dav1986's Avatar

Gamertag: davidmcandrew86
    Quote Originally Posted by danhibees1875 View Post
    The bottles fruity ones taste great but I need to stop after 1/2 cause it gets a bit sickly. From there it's Strongbow or Henry Westons.

HW is currently on offer in Scotmid I've been told. £1.50 and it's 9%.
    Is HW £1.50? I thought it had to be £2.05 now due to minimum pricing?

Need to investigate that.

Lidl do a cider for a bit less in a bottle which is made by HW, worth a look, although I can't remember the name of it off top of my head.

Quote Originally Posted by Dav1986 View Post
    Is HW £1.50? I thought it had to be £2.05 now due to minimum pricing?

Need to investigate that.

Lidl do a cider for a bit less in a bottle which is made by HW, worth a look, although I can't remember the name of it off top of my head.
    The post you quoted was made 6 years ago. It certainly won’t be £1.50 now.

United we stand here....

Thatchers do some nice ciders. If I’m having a pint in the pub I always go for that.

United we stand here....

@hibs.net private member Eaststand's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Godsahibby View Post

I started making turbo cider a few years ago and really enjoy doing that. Its easy and cheap to make once you gather the demijohns, airlocks etc. I began by making straight apple cider from shop bought apple juice, but after reading some online brewing tips, I've made apple/cranberry, and also apple/mango cider.

One demijohn produces 9 x 500 ml bottles of around 6% abv cider
    I love tweaking the recipes to suit my own tastes and its very enjoyable

Give it a try, you might be pleasantly surprised at the outcome ;-)

Last edited by Eaststand; 29-07-2019 at 10:02 AM.