Page 7 of 16 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Beer thread

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    355ml bottles of shipyard blue fin stout only £1 in morrisons. Nice.
    Last edited by Mr White; 07-03-2014 at 08:28 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by South Sub View Post
    355ml bottles of shipyard blue fin stout only £1 in morrisons. Nice.
    Good shout SS ..may have a looky if Im near Morrisons .......Ive just got a thing for Deuchars IPA at the moment ..that or Caledonian 80" ..brilliant brews ..oh ..& if ye haven't sampled Belhaven Black stout ..defo worth a gargle ..

Quote Originally Posted by GrumpyHibbie View Post
    Good shout SS ..may have a looky if Im near Morrisons .......Ive just got a thing for Deuchars IPA at the moment ..that or Caledonian 80" ..brilliant brews ..oh ..& if ye haven't sampled Belhaven Black stout ..defo worth a gargle ..
    Think I had a pint of it a while back, might pick up a few cans of it next time I'm shopping. It's nearing the end of stout season for me

This lot are doing a 40 tap takeover in 2 pubs in Wellington this Thursday. Best brewery in the world according to many...soon find oot!

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post
    This lot are doing a 40 tap takeover in 2 pubs in Wellington this Thursday. Best brewery in the world according to many...soon find oot!
    40 TAP!? Seriously? I am immensely jealous. Ruination is still one of my favourite IPAs. Also worth looking out for are w00tstout and their smoked porter with vanilla.

I didn't know that they had 40 beers.

Quote Originally Posted by Calvin View Post
    40 TAP!? Seriously? I am immensely jealous. Ruination is still one of my favourite IPAs. Also worth looking out for are w00tstout and their smoked porter with vanilla.

I didn't know that they had 40 beers.
    I'm not sure if there are 40 different beers, but they are definitely taking over 40 taps. So some of their more popular ones may be on 5-10 taps.

edit - https://www.facebook.com/events/1412...60842/?fref=ts

Just looked here and apparently 45 beers on 50 taps!

2 pints and 2 bottles of Bitter & Twisted tonight.

Been mentioned many times before on this thread but a truly brilliant beer.

Just opened a bottle of Midnight Sun. One of my favourite brews

After that it's Deuchars or Directors............

Just went to Musselburgh Tesco to stock up on Libertine Black Ale but as there were only two bottles left I've opted to start the evening with a Pilsner Urquell.

I think it's about 2 years since I drank a full lager!

Tryst brockville pale for me. A shining light at the end of an otherwise grim day for me golf, football and betting-wise

Apparently this stuff is available in Wetherspoons at the minute. All the way from New Zealand. We pay the equivalent of 5-6 quid for 420ml. I believe Wetherspoons are doing it for less than 2 quid a pint! Get down there and have 10 pints while you can! It's very good

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Just bought some Leffe Bloom tonight from Asda and I must say I'm very disappointed.
    Had this in Belgium on draught but these bottles taste nothing like I remember.
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Quote Originally Posted by sleeping giant View Post
    Just bought some Leffe Bloom tonight from Asda and I must say I'm very disappointed.
    Had this in Belgium on draught but these bottles taste nothing like I remember.
    Maybe you were smoking something different in Belgium that altered your taste buds

@hibs.net private member sleeping giant's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Maybe you were smoking something different in Belgium that altered your taste buds
    Does Belgium do coffee shops like Amsterdam ?
    If so , wish i knew

Stayed in an ex monastery and the only beer was Leffe Blonde and Leffe Ruby.
    Loved it. It was the only beer that has ever got me drunk from the feet up
    No Eternal Reward Shall Forgive Us Now For Wasting The Dawn

Couple of bottles from York Brewery that I picked up last week during a pit stop before Cheltenham.

Guzzler is a really decent 4% session beer. Light, dry and malty.

Ghost Ale is ok. 5.4%, very dark and tastes a bit like roasted coffee.

I see Wetherspoons are having an international beer festival which starts on Friday (I think), some interesting brews on offer.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I see Wetherspoons are having an international beer festival which starts on Friday (I think), some interesting brews on offer.
    The White Lady here I come

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    See my post #191, that is one of the beers

Aye, I've got the beer list in the house, should be good.

I find myself in Glasgow today, The Allison Arms near Shawlands doesnae look much from outside, but, its nice enough inside and must have a range of about 100 different bottled craft beers, reasonably priced too!

Have started my Wetherspoon's beer festival experience with Sir Ryan from a brewery in Leicester, very good especially at £2.15 a pint!

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Ended up at a new restaurant in Dundee with the Wife tonight and they had both Heveleer and Anchor Steam (!!!) on tap.

Anchor is easily my favourite beer but it's almost impossible to get (apart from San Fran, where it's everywhere!).
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by Sylar View Post
    Ended up at a new restaurant in Dundee with the Wife tonight and they had both Heveleer and Anchor Steam (!!!) on tap. Anchor is easily my favourite beer but it's almost impossible to get (apart from San Fran, where it's everywhere!).
    Had that when I was in San Fran 10 years ago with a sour dough chowder boy it was good. In fact one nite at a club called 'Bottom of the Hill' I drank loads of different local stuff and ended up walking back to hotel... In broad daylight. I was rough

Apparently this stuff is available in Wetherspoons at the minute. All the way from New Zealand. We pay the equivalent of 5-6 quid for 420ml. I believe Wetherspoons are doing it for less than 2 quid a pint! Get down there and have 10 pints while you can! It's very good

Finally got round to this one today, nothing special IMO maybe it doesn't travel well

Gosser and sproni decent in budapest 1.50 a go

Is it one of those Wetherspoons festivals where foreign brewers come over and brew a beer at a UK brewery so that Wetherspoons can sell it on cask?

I've heard good things about the Yeastie Boys but not yet been able to sample their stuff.

Ended up at a new restaurant in Dundee with the Wife tonight and they had both Heveleer and Anchor Steam (!!!) on tap.

Anchor is easily my favourite beer but it's almost impossible to get (apart from San Fran, where it's everywhere!).
    Anchor Steam in bottles in creeping in. I've seen it in Mathers at the top of Broughton Street and in the Mash Tun.

I managed to get a case of 24 in Makro for 23 quid. It was incorrectly priced and should have been 32 quid

Anyway, tonight's tipples are Stewarts 80 shilling in the Stable Bar and a bottle of Directors at home.

On the subject of the Stable Bar, the way the staff were talking it sounds like it's closing down.
    Last edited by Mikey; 12-04-2014 at 09:48 PM.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    Anchor Steam in bottles in creeping in. I've seen it in Mathers at the top of Broughton Street and in the Mash Tun.

I managed to get a case of 24 in Makro for 23 quid. It was incorrectly priced and should have been 32 quid

Anyway, tonight's tipples are Stewarts 80 shilling in the Stables Bar and a bottle of Directors at home.

On the subject of the Stable Bar, the way the staff were talking it sounds like it's closing down.
    Luvians in St Andrews used to do the bottles but it's an incredibly rare thing to find it on tap outside the USA (or more specifically, California).

Apparently, there's a pub near Clapham Junction that has it on tap along with an impressive array of other beers, so a trip looms large in the summer!
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Luvians in St Andrews used to do the bottles but it's an incredibly rare thing to find it on tap outside the USA (or more specifically, California).

Apparently, there's a pub near Clapham Junction that has it on tap along with an impressive array of other beers, so a trip looms large in the summer!
    Anchor are distributed by James Clay who have quite a big deal with them I think, so don't be surprised to see Steam, Porter and California Lager on tap in more and more places.