Page 4 of 16 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast

Thread: Beer thread

Had a few pints of Zig Zag Stout when I was down in Carlisle last w-end. Went down nicely, not sure who or where its brewed though.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Had a few pints of Zig Zag Stout when I was down in Carlisle last w-end. Went down nicely, not sure who or where its brewed though.

A couple of pubs in Liverpool sell it, not a bad pint brewed by Milk House/Street I think in Somerset.

That sounds familiar.

On The Williams Bros Midnight Sun in Wetherspoons on Sauchiehall Street, £1.90 a pint, cannae complain at that! 5.6% and it going down TOO nicely!

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    On The Williams Bros Midnight Sun in Wetherspoons on Sauchiehall Street, £1.90 a pint, cannae complain at that! 5.6% and it going down TOO nicely!
    That's a bargain! One of favourite beers and they're practically giving it away!

I think its called The Monday Club! :-)

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    Well I did enjoy my two months of sobriety but I just had a Sierra Nevada Northern Hemisphere Harvest Wet Hop Ale which was pretty nice. A couple of my friends have been studying for their Certified Cicerone exam so I've been drinking a lot of Belgian and German styles with them lately but I just can't get into them. I've been brainwashed by hoppy beer!

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by Calvin View Post
    Well I did enjoy my two months of sobriety but I just had a Sierra Nevada Northern Hemisphere Harvest Wet Hop Ale which was pretty nice. A couple of my friends have been studying for their Certified Cicerone exam so I've been drinking a lot of Belgian and German styles with them lately but I just can't get into them. I've been brainwashed by hoppy beer!
    Had that on tap in the restaurant I was in in Orlando last night and it was really nice!

Also tried Red Hook, Sam Adams Winter Ale and Blue Moon Rounder all on tap in the past week - a magic alternative to the usual draft pish you once got in the USA.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Had a session on Old Rosie cider in Wetherspoons: flat, cloudy, 7.3%.................great stuff!

A very dangerous brew! :-)

Just back from the east coast of the USA. Drank a wide range of IPA's all of which were freaking delicious. Damned if I can remember their names though.

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Just back from the east coast of the USA. Drank a wide range of IPA's all of which were freaking delicious. Damned if I can remember their names though.
    I kept a note of them all on my phone - some truly lovely craft beers/ales out here.

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    I kept a note of them all on my phone - some truly lovely craft beers/ales out here.
    Any particular highlights?

Very nice one from Wellington last night. Craft beer has absolutely exploded in NZ now.
    Attached Images Attached Images

La choffe famous belgen tipple noo doing mc choffe a whiskey beer, i know mental

Quote Originally Posted by Calvin View Post
    Any particular highlights?
    Olde Pelican, which is brewed locally in Florida was very nice - quite similar to a Sierra Nevada.

Red Hook (brewed near Seattle) was very tasty indeed. Alewerks Pumpkin Ale, Great Lakes Edmund Fitzgerald Porter and Three Philosophers (Omme Gang Brewery I think?) were all absolutely superb.

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    Olde Pelican, which is brewed locally in Florida was very nice - quite similar to a Sierra Nevada.

Red Hook (brewed near Seattle) was very tasty indeed. Alewerks Pumpkin Ale, Great Lakes Edmund Fitzgerald Porter and Three Philosophers (Omme Gang Brewery I think?) were all absolutely superb.
    I'll look out for them. Ommegang beers are the only ones I've tasted that you mentioned and I was pretty impressed, despite my general disillusionment with Belgian styles.

A decent selection of Christmas beers in Wetherspoons Sleigh Bell is my favourite at the moment.

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    A decent selection of Christmas beers in Wetherspoons Sleigh Bell is my favourite at the moment.
    Drinking a pint of it in loyds just now, you're right, it's a lovely pint!

Went to the west brewery bar before and after the game yesterday. Had a good burger there and really enjoyed the wild west and dunkel beers. Would definitely go back next time I'm through there.

Quote Originally Posted by South Sub View Post
    Drinking a pint of it in loyds just now, you're right, it's a lovely pint!

I used to drink Boddingtons at the student bar (the Watering hole) at Aberdeen uni. Now I'm back in Stranraer I can't find that beer anywhere!

Went to a beer bar here in Zurich and had some beer from the USA that was comically named (involved a squirrel in the name I'm sure) but was absolutely delicious. A fabulous colour as well.

Makes one wonder what the **** I was up to from ages 17-20 drinking Carling and Fosters

Had a few pints of Williams Bros March of the Penguins a couple of days ago @ Lloyds in The Omni Centre, very nice pint.

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar
    I had a few pints of brew dogs prototype beer hobo pop the other night. Very impressive indeed.

I have a case of Paulaner Oktoberfest bier to enjoy over the festive, looking forward to cracking the first one open tonight.

Quote Originally Posted by degenerated View Post
    I had a few pints of brew dogs prototype beer hobo pop the other night. Very impressive indeed.
    I had a bottle of that on friday, very nice, enjoy the German beer over christmas, ive gone for a stockpile of ales from asda for 1.25 for the next few days,nothing fancy,Keeping it simple

Just had a wee look at the ASDA website, some not bad offers on there. I really try to avoid drinking in the house if I can though.

I know what you mean and a few of my mates are the same but my theory is it's better for all of us (me wife & son) if I'm at home and half pished rather than out and fully pished. Plus its cheaper too :

I've not got such responsibilities to consider!

Seven Giraffes and Good Times both by William Bros for me tonight. Very nice.

Got a bottle of spice orange Edinburgh Gin to get stuck into tomorrow.