316. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, good idea

48 15.19%
  • Yes, but not too happy about it

51 16.14%
  • No, them and the council deserve each other

166 52.53%
  • I'll no' be back if they bams start calling ER home.

51 16.14%
Page 4 of 54 FirstFirst ... 2345614 ... LastLast
    Left by mutual consent! PaulSmith's Avatar
    Romanov holding a gun to the heads of the cooncil, assistance or the club goes to the wall.

Cardownie will be trying every dirty trick in the book to make this happen IMO.

Hope the council do get involved. Original plans would be to have two of the stands running the full length of the pitch but with delay after delay and the costs doubling later having to make cutbacks and stopping the stands at the half way line. Plans also abandoned to have stands behind the goals.

Get the council involved. You know it makes sense.

Quote Originally Posted by oldbutdim View Post
    Deary me.

Chris Robinson would be spinning in his grave reading that.

If he was dead obviously.
    He's not I'm afraid, was on the same Ryanair flight to Portugal as me a couple of weeks ago, a friggin millionaire as well, typical yak

There will be a trade off.

Hearts will get a new stadium, the council will get a new Tram stop.

@hibs.net private member Bishop Hibee's Avatar
    Make no mistake, no Hibby on this site will be laughing if the council gives them a wedge of cash, possibly from the sale of Meadowbank, Jack Kane Centre or any other bit of land in the east of Edinburgh to fund a yam dome in Sighthill, Carrick Knowe Golf Course or wherever.

Local elections in May 2012 so make sure you raise this with your prospective councillors as a no-goer.
    "Washing one's hands of the conflict between the powerful and the powerless means to side with the powerful, not to be neutral.' - Paulo Freire

I think there would be a judicial review if Hearts were to get bailed out.

Quote Originally Posted by oldbutdim View Post
    Deary me.Chris Robinson would be spinning in his grave reading that.If he was dead obviously.
    I'll probably need to check with some folk on here 1st, but, i thought was most amusing!

Quote Originally Posted by smurf View Post
    Council cutbacks all over the city but they are looking to help them out? What a shock.
    I would be disgusted if the council wasted OUR cash on bailing out those insolvent jakeys - who plainly cannot afford to sort out their asbestos shed following years and years of irresponsible over-spending.

Let them "lend themselves" another 30 million - that should just about cover it.

Quote Originally Posted by BEEJ View Post
    Might be good to get the council involved.

Project will end up being three years late with stadium seating confined to behind each goal.
    Yams are up **** creek. Can't think of a worse time to go to local government or any sponsors with the begging bowl. EDC have just come off a kicking for the Trams fiasco. Can you imagine the Scottish Parliament agreeing to these clowns spending more public millions on another useless pet project ?

If was just a new ground they wanted/needed, then I'm sure the PBS would have caught fire by now But they desperately need the cash from the sale of the land to keep them afloat.

@hibs.net private member Stonewall's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Quiet_Man View Post
    Remove the cooncil and it could be the East Stand you're talking aboot
    But there was ample justification and a business case for building the East Stand.

Sufficient demand would have existed but for a combination of the economic downturn and our abject performance under CC/ Yogi.

If we'd invested the money used to fund the East Stand in the team are you confident the last two incumbents would have used it wisely?

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    I think it would be a reckless use of public money in the current climate for the council to help fund this, especially since there's a £1bn tram bill heading there way! Care for the auld yins or build the tramps a new stadium?

Maybe they could build it right at the airport end of the tramline and the tramline might be of some use every 2nd week...

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Big Issue, Big Issue! Get the latest Big Issue.

I hate Hearts FC.

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar
    Those ****ers should get no help from council funds.

They've overspent heavily for years and now have to face the consequences, so tough ****.

Leave them to sink or swim all by themselves!!

Hold on a minute. "Heart of Midlothian". Why would the City of Edinburgh Council be involved?

So have the council come out and commented on this yet? Would be nice to know if they are actually aware of our unforunate neighbours intentions.......

If the council do agree to the request and they make the same mess as they did of the trams I could see the PBS being demolished and then rebuilt again and the Yams would finish up with a stadium half the size it was originally meant to be.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    You have to laugh at the comment "And it is very clear that 'doing nothing is not an option'."

So what exactly has Romanov and his gang actually done re a new stadium for Hearts.....ermmm nothing....

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by c31 View Post
    Good luck with that. She's our local councillor as well as city (mis)leader - you would struggle to find a more useless lump of uselessness.
    ​#PERSEVERED

Quote Originally Posted by Stonewall View Post
    But there was ample justification and a business case for building the East Stand.

Sufficient demand would have existed but for a combination of the economic downturn and our abject performance under CC/ Yogi.

If we'd invested the money used to fund the East Stand in the team are you confident the last two incumbents would have used it wisely?
    What was the ample business case? And we might have hired a better manager

Quote Originally Posted by SiMar View Post
    You have to laugh at the comment "And it is very clear that 'doing nothing is not an option'."

So what exactly has Romanov and his gang actually done re a new stadium for Hearts.....ermmm nothing....

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    You see this is where the Yamaster Plan (is this in the Yammasaurous) falls down. They base all their presentations to the council on the fact that we are Methadone swilling pikeys who don't pay their council tax, that we have disenfranchised ourselves from the democratic process and frankly are not intelligent enought to object.

For the record, I would like to make it clear that I have never swilled Methadone in my life. I savour every drop.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SiMar View Post

Not true. They spent best part of £1 million on a couple of cardboard boxes full of fancy drawings called a planning application.

I'ts not going to happen

The Yams will have to fend for themselves

The Council don't have a pot to piss in, I was at a meeting this morning re. money for maintenance and there is just not any there.

If the Cooncil miraculously come up with funds to help out the Yams it will be tantamount to fraud

So, what exactly is a "Community Stadium"?

Does it mean that all taxpayers will be able to use it whenever they like? They're supplying soup kitchens for the needy? Or is it just paid for by "The Community" for the sole benefit of Hearts?

Right take a letter Vitalijus to the EEN, I Vladimir Romanov being of soound mind and body, have decided to team-up with the council and create a new stadium.
    What is wrong with that new lie detector, its not even plugged-in yet? BLEEP, BLEEP, BLEEP, BLEEP, BLEEP, BLEEP, BLEEP, BLEEP.

@hibs.net private member Gettin' Auld's Avatar
    Let the ****ers share Meadowbank if they're that desperate!!

First Team Breakthrough SmokieJoe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibeemikey21 View Post
    In you're Gorgie slums won't have the same meaning to it

Quote Originally Posted by Gettin' Auld View Post
    Let the ****ers share Meadowbank if they're that desperate!!
    Couldn't bear the thought of having those minging tramps so close. Almondvale is a far better option.