Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: John Sutton

John Sutton

Heard today that sutton is leaving hearts and hibs are talking to his agent.......came from a yam at work
    Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 25-06-2013 at 11:59 AM. Reason: +greggs

Total bawbag
    so hope not

Please no.

@hibs.net private member wazoo1875's Avatar
    I would hope this is crap I'd rather have his brother. I would like to think if pat is looking for a striker of this mould we'd be pushing the boat out a wee bit for Michael Higdon.
    Never one to laugh at others misfortune but today could only have been improved by rangers getting horsed and God pissing down a meteor shower of fifty pound notes on Edinburgh

Copyright BadMartini Wed 27th Jan 2010

I hope not.

Quote Originally Posted by CRAZYHIBBY View Post
    Heard today that sutton is leaving hearts and hibs are talking to his agent.......came from a yam at work
    Please please no, he's done enough good work for Hibs in my book and should be commended but we don't need him cancelling it all out by playing for us.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    There's your problem

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    The John Sutton from his Motherwell days would be a good addition to any team.

Huge injury risk and didn't do the business at Hearts so don't see what he'd add now.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Gamertag: Myjo5984 Wii Code: 3916 0145 9394 9493
    no thanks

For what it's worth I think it would be an astute signing - along with the likes of Lyle Taylor that would be a strong partnership (and Ross/Danny).

We still need some width though - anyone else hearing Paddy McCourt whispers this week ? A coach I know mentioned him out the blue yesterday - he's forever mentioned come transfer window time and I always reject the notion, but this guy seemed to think we'd approached him just recently.

@hibs.net private member Sean1875's Avatar
    Id believe it more if it was on footballrumours.co.uk than that source

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    If we're guaranteed to see a fit John Sutton who was such a prolific goalscorer with Motherwell then I'd be absolutely delighted to see him in a Hibees jersey. My judgement will not be jeopardised just because he currently plays for THEM.

I would take Michael Ngoo before John Sutton

Sutton , whilst with Motherwell, was a good player, however did nothing of note for them. Perhaps it was the style of each teams play that suited/didn't suit his play. If he wasn't costing a fortune in wages could be a useful addition, personally I think there are better players out there but, if he was to pull on a Hibs jersey, I would support him just like the rest of the guys.

Motherwell were favourites to get him. Seems like he'd be good enough for them?

Quote Originally Posted by allezsauzee View Post
    Haha you have taken that too far ;-)
    Last edited by Albanian Hibs; 25-06-2013 at 01:42 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by allezsauzee View Post
    Personally I'd take Mr Magoo before Michael Ngoo.

He's been rubbish at Hearts for so why the hell would we sign him?

Quote Originally Posted by LeighLoyal View Post
    If it's Sutton your on about then his game suffered partly through injury and partly because he wasn't selected even when I fit but I suspect that finances rather than ability came into the equation at Tynie.

See it from Sutton's perspective though - since joining he's had to go through the non payment of wages, not being picked due to the system Sergio played (despite Hearts fans wanting him picked and up top at the time), punted on loan to Australia and made to feel unwanted, brought back, no wages again, yet when he plays he invariably scores or puts in a right good shift (the times I have seen him) - hasn't moaned to the media, is an intelligent man as well as intelligent player, does his job with minimal fuss. I'd say those are pretty good attributes given he's been at a club in turmoil. I believe he has also fitted in studying for a degree in that time (I think).

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    If it's Sutton your on about then his game suffered partly through injury and partly because he wasn't selected even when I fit but I suspect that finances rather than ability came into the equation at Tynie.

I watched him numerous times for them and never thought he was good enough, well short of what they had before with guys like De Vries and Bednar. Awful player. Has Kuqi mk2 stamped all over him if there's any truth to this rumour.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Personally I'd take Mr Magoo before Michael Ngoo.

me too. it wasn't meant to be an endorsement of Ngoo's quality

Please, please no. Such a huddy.

Fenlon was definitely after him in January 2012

They're delighted he's away on Kickback, '"wage thief" , "slower than Nade" "contributed nothing"... and those are the nice comments.

First Team Breakthrough Devilstorment's Avatar

Gamertag: Devilstorment PSN ID: Devilstorment
    They're delighted he's away on Kickback, '"wage thief" , "slower than Nade" "contributed nothing"... and those are the nice comments.

That sums him up!

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    This place is class, when he joined Hearts this place was in meltdown from all the experts claiming we should be in for him, now when there's talk of us trying to buy him everyone is going raj again (i bet in a lot of cases it'll be the same experts).

He's the same player that was at Motherwell, it's obviously not worked out for him at hearts but that's how we're going to sign good experienced players, they'll have just had a bad spell.

If we sign him and create chances he'll score goals, at hearts they didn't create chances so he never, in fact i can't remember the last striker they had that was able to score a lot of goals?

First Team Breakthrough BVB Hibs's Avatar
    In fairness, despite only getting 20 starts last year he still came out with 8 goals and 5 assists. If you add together the minutes on the park it comes to 23 games. There's far worse stats out there.

If you can get him fit, and keep him on the park, there's no reason he couldn't be putting in 14-15 goals in a year, with the right service of course. He's not going to bang in 20+ like Leigh did last year, but he'd still be a very handy player for us. Certainly another option if he doesn't drain wages, and being fair we do have a big need for a striker, if we get Sutton we can go a little more relaxed into the search for a second knowing we at least have an option up top.

Quote Originally Posted by Joe View Post
    Fenlon was definitely after him in January 2012
    to be fair, i think he would fill the Kuqi role pretty well. ie sitting on his erse most of the time

I like to stay as open minded as possible when it comes to new players, but I couldn't help but to be a bit concerned if we sign him.

(However I'd back him completely if he became a Hibs player and would want nothing more than for him to be successful.)
    Last edited by Vault Boy; 25-06-2013 at 11:48 AM.