Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

PSN ID: hibee_easty

Croatia 0v1 Scotland

Is everyone suitably excited for tonight's big game?

On an even less enthusiastic note, we'll be captained by James Morrison tonight, a player who decided to play for Scotland because, even though he believed he could do a job for them, didn't want to wait for a call up for England.

Could a decent performance by Leigh be the end of our hopes of signing him?

Quote Originally Posted by RicheyWhite View Post
    Could a decent performance by Leigh be the end of our hopes of signing him?
    Leigh will definately start tonight

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Is everyone suitably excited for tonight's big game?

On an even less enthusiastic note, we'll be captained by James Morrison tonight, a player who decided to play for Scotland because, even though he believed he could do a job for them, didn't want to wait for a call up for England.
    Whether players born in one country should be playing for another will always be a source of debate, however it surely can't be in doubt that Morrison is one of the best players currently available to us. Additionally, once the squad is decided, Strachan has to pick who he thinks the best captain will be....regardless of the country of his birth.

Quote Originally Posted by East Coast Hibe View Post
    Leigh will definately start tonight
    Looks like Sparky will lead the line tonight.

In some ways, from a Hibs point of view, it would be better if he wasn't playing, but if he is would be better for us if he has a stinker.

Which could well be the case as Croatia are a top side.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...role-1-2958853

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    Whether players born in one country should be playing for another will always be a source of debate, however it surely can't be in doubt that Morrison is one of the best players currently available to us. Additionally, once the squad is decided, Strachan has to pick who he thinks the best captain will be....regardless of the country of his birth.
    Disagree with that completely. IMO he has been poor in most of his games for Scotland. No idea what his form has been like for WBA but he is more often than not disappointing playing in the dark blue. Should never be captain either.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Wandering around Zagreb at the moment.

Having a Fanta in a bar as I'm effin hanging!

Going to have a look at the sights then get changed into the kilt. Hopefully my nausea will have subsided a bit by lunchtime.

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    I don't like players like Morrison playing for us. I rate him as a player, but don't consider him to be Scottish. For me, it just rubs English salt into my Scottish wound that he'll be captain.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Expecting nothing other than a trouncing tonight against a very good Croatia side.

Wonder if I'll find anywhere down here showing the game...
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Cannae see anything other than a pumping tonight, anyway just arrived in weegieland for a wee pub crawl, let the games begin!

Nadal v Djokovic, then, the beer gardens of Ashton Lane methinks!

I don't like players like Morrison playing for us. I rate him as a player, but don't consider him to be Scottish. For me, it just rubs English salt into my Scottish wound that he'll be captain.
    He has Scottish grandparents so is eligible to play dont see the problem given the rules.

Is it on the tellybox?

Quote Originally Posted by mikey View Post
    is it on the tellybox?
    bbc2 & ESPN

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    He has Scottish grandparents so is eligible to play dont see the problem given the rules.
    I wonder if every other team in the world has this debate before a game?

Pity it isnae South American or Spanish players that fancy playing for us!

Sparky is 20/1 FGS with B365.

Seems huge for an inform striker that's starting and a shout for pens and free kicks.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    was Nacho Novo not looking to get a game for us :-)

I wasn't aware scotland were playing, what time is kick off

Quote Originally Posted by Bring_Back_Franck View Post
    Disagree with that completely. IMO he has been poor in most of his games for Scotland. No idea what his form has been like for WBA but he is more often than not disappointing playing in the dark blue. Should never be captain either.
    I think he's had good games and bad but, used in his preferred position, I don't think there's a better player currently available to us. Who would you have in his place?

The "nationality" debate is one thing, but once he's in the squad I don't think it should play a part in deciding who the best man is for the role of captain. If a manager allowed it to do so, he risks splitting the squad.

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    There is a spanish born lad at Real Madrid who does!

Scotland team v Croatia: McGregor,Hutton,Martin, Hanley, Whittaker, Bannan, McArthur, Snodgrass, Morrison, Maloney, Griffiths

That midfield

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post
    Scotland team v Croatia: McGregor,Hutton,Martin, Hanley, Whittaker, Bannan, McArthur, Snodgrass, Morrison, Maloney, Griffiths

That midfield
    It's the defence, who's Martin?

Love the national team and it's great when they do well but this era is totally depressing and unlike you i don't think it's funny.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    It's the defence, who's Martin?

Love the national team and it's great when they do well but this era is totally depressing and unlike you i don't think it's funny.
    Russell Martin is a very good defender, he's not Scottish though.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Who does he play for? This the guy at Norwich?

Edit:- just googled him and see it is the guy i'm thinking, you say he's a very good defender, i've got my doubts about how true that statement is, i'd imagine he'll just be a bit less pish than the alternatives
    Last edited by bingo70; 07-06-2013 at 11:31 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by SteveHFC View Post

That midfield
    It's not a great side at all is it?

That said, in an ideal world where we had all players available to us I'd have a 5 of McGeady, Fletcher, McCarthy, Brown, with Maloney in front of them. And that would be a really good midfield. But, as it is Fletcher and Brown are always out, and McGeady and McCarthy chose not to play for Scotland.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Who does he play for? This the guy at Norwich?
    Aye, solid defender.

It's certainly a very fresh line up that's English based. Be plenty Premiership appearances in there too, surprising considering it's a young side.

Bring it oan!

He is a right back though so playing him in central defence is a bit of a gamble though hope he does well.

Well least he is proud to play for Scotland unlike some players born here i.e McGeady and McCarthy.
    Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 07-06-2013 at 12:50 PM.

It's not a great side at all is it?

That said, in an ideal world where we had all players available to us I'd have a 5 of McGeady, Fletcher, McCarthy, Brown, with Maloney in front of them. And that would be a really good midfield. But, as it is Fletcher and Brown are always out, and McGeady and McCarthy chose not to play for Scotland.
    So you'd rather have Scottish-born players that don't want to play for us, than non-Scottish born players that do?