Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

First team training.

Was speaking to someone who reckoned the training the players do is not demanding enough of them. In all honesty some of the poor performances could be put down to the squad just not having the legs. Has anyone heard/ thought similar?

Quote Originally Posted by Mister P View Post
    Was speaking to someone who reckoned the training the players do is not demanding enough of them. In all honesty some of the poor performances could be put down to the squad just not having the legs. Has anyone heard/ thought similar?
    Fenlon OUT Di Canio IN

From the articles and interviews I've read the training is supposedly high intensity, in short bursts. Tom Taiwo said when he joined that it's a good method, because longer sessions of a lower intensity sap the legs. That was another thing that was said about Fenlon when he joined wasn't it? Hard worked training schemes.

Quote Originally Posted by Mister P View Post
    Yeah I heard the same

Yours sincerely

John Collins

@hibs.net private member NorthNorfolkHFC's Avatar

PSN ID: walton83
    Wouldn't surprise me, been outpaced by just about every side this year.

I wonder how many of the current side could run 100m in less than 12 seconds (Harris can).

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Ever since Collins we've heard mutterings (usually via "I've heard that" snippets, unlike in the Collins case) that the training is somehow defective and that the players don't like it - complaints ranging from routines being repetitive and boring, to them not being in/worked hard enough.

Not sure I've believed any of it, though performances on the park haven't been great over that time. Find it hard to believe that every manager is negligent with regards to training though.

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Ever since Collins we've heard mutterings (usually via "I've heard that" snippets, unlike in the Collins case) that the training is somehow defective and that the players don't like it - complaints ranging from routines being repetitive and boring, to them not being in/worked hard enough.
    Usually coincides with a poor run of results.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Very true.

And I'm sure other team's message boards contain the same rumours at such times.

Is it just me or do they not practice throw ins?

Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    Would be surprised if they have the time. They start at 10ish and are home for Loose Women (on the telly, this is not a slur against the wifes).

@hibs.net private member scoopyboy's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Magnum Hibee View Post
    Wouldn't surprise me, been outpaced by just about every side this year.

I wonder how many of the current side could run 100m in less than 12 seconds (Harris can).
    Why would any football player need to run 100 metres in less than 12 seconds?

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by scoopyboy View Post
    Why would any football player need to run 100 metres in less than 12 seconds?
    Chasing a through ball against a defender who can run the 100 metres in 12.1 seconds?

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Chasing a through ball against a defender who can run the 100 metres in 12.1 seconds?
    That race wouldn't be over 100 metres though - it'd be over 20,30 or even 40 metres. You could run 20 metres over 2 seconds but only be able to do 100m over 14 seconds.

Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    They shouldnt have to. There's nothing difficult about what needs to be done, technically, it's just for some reason we dont have players willing to move into a little bit of space and ask for it to feet.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    That race wouldn't be over 100 metres though - it'd be over 20,30 or even 40 metres. You could run 20 metres over 2 seconds but only be able to do 100m over 14 seconds.
    I was being facetious...

and naw....I couldnae

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    I was being facetious...
    Keep your toilet habits to yourself mate.

Other team are certainly fitter. Unless we have players that would be good over a mile but cannae run 10yds without getting out of puff. Maybe we just have really slow players now. I was at the womans game on Sunday v Wales. Kim Little has a better work rate than any current Hibs player. Get her signed Fenlon!

We were just as fit/unfit when we were sitting top of the league.

@hibs.net private member HiBremian's Avatar
    Anyone know what happened to Friday afternoon cream cakes?

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar

We are not a unfit team, the way we play football makes us look like we are not the fittest.

First Team Regular Heedersnvolleys's Avatar
    When was that again? Right after pre-season when I would hazard a guess they were probably at there fittest.
    I don't know there training methods but it it could well answer the questions why we generally start off ok and tail off as the season goes on, new players tend to start of ok and trail off and when move on pick back up again. I don't know but it could be part of it.

same principle though, pace over shortish length, 40-70 yds, most sports teams do it.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post

Would be surprised if they have the time. They start at 10ish and are home for Loose Women (on the telly, this is not a slur against the wifes).
    I don't know what time loose women starts but I seen Thomson sitting 2 cars behind mcpake at traffic lights in tranent today. A short day in anybody's book.

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post

We are not a unfit team, the way we play football makes us look like we are not the fittest.

not a great deal of pace in the team apart from Sparky, Harris.

Your source is ? - Greggs ?
    Spoken with many of the players lately - they will tell you the FACTS

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post

Nail on the head.

The current tempo has nothing to do with fitness levels amd everytjing to do with the pedestrian system we are insisting on playing.

Quote Originally Posted by Pat McGinlay View Post
    When was that again? Right after pre-season when I would hazard a guess they were probably at there fittest.
    I don't know there training methods but it it could well answer the questions why we generally start off ok and tail off as the season goes on, new players tend to start of ok and trail off and when move on pick back up again. I don't know but it could be part of it.
    You obviously have never played football, it takes games to get fully fit, and the team would not be at its fittest right after pre season.

We have had how many managers in the last 10 years, all would have similar ways to each and every other club in the SPL in terms of training schedules.

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Lazy players don't have the core fitness required to compete at a higher level. Some players come back after an absence and look as though they are up to speed right away and some don't. Wayne Rooney is a prime example, anytime he misses games for whatever reason it takes him a few to get back up to his previous level. His talent has masked his fitness issues but the streaks of indifferent form are now more regular and noticeable. At only 27 it is a disgrace and I can't see much of a future for him after 30 holding down a first team place at a top club.

First Team Regular Heedersnvolleys's Avatar
    You obviously have never played football, it takes games to get fully fit, and the team would not be at its fittest right after pre season.

We have had how many managers in the last 10 years, all would have similar ways to each and every other club in the SPL in terms of training schedules.
    We were not top of the league straight after pre-season though were we? As you say it was it was several weeks after when as you say we would have been at our fittest! I agree with you though, there is being fit and there is being match fit.

I have asked this before does anybody know if we have a dedicated fitness coach/trainer?