@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar

Partick Thistle or Geenock Morton

Two good old football clubs battling it out at the top of the 1st division, both would be a welcome addition to SPL, not sure who I would prefer?? Who's everyone's faves?
    Personally would love to see both as this would mean Hearts have gone pop a la Rangers

PSN ID: JonnyLifeForce
    Partick would better addition they really aee trying to play football this season

Quote Originally Posted by LancsHibs View Post
    Two good old football clubs battling it out at the top of the 1st division, both would be a welcome addition to SPL, not sure who I would prefer?? Who's everyone's faves?
    Personally would love to see both as this would mean Hearts have gone pop a la Rangers
    Partick for me, best team in Glesgae.

I agree with your last statement in your post as I would like both teams in the league and a certain team to go pop. I think it's going to be Partick Thistle that are going to be promoted.

First Team Regular GREEN WARLORD's Avatar
    Partick, my grandfather supported them.

Cappielow is a dump of a stadium in a dump of a town.

Maryhill isn't much better mind, but it's the lesser of two evils.

First Team Regular StevesFamau5's Avatar

PSN ID: ImFamau5nStuff
    Partick.... as I really don't want to run into my ecs family in greenock ever again. Evet. Never ever ever. EVER!

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Partick. I like their strip.

Morton, never been in the top flight in my lifetime. Used to like goin to partick so would see them as a good addition as well

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Should be 2 up 2 down if you ask me. Both teams are streets clear and deserve to go up this season.

Either side really...possibly morton....was it goram or rough that scored against them at ER?

Has to be Partick Thistle for me - used to like the strip they have AND they gave us Arthur all those years ago....

First Team Regular aussie_hibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by gegs70 View Post
    Either side really...possibly morton....was it goram or rough that scored against them at ER?
    Goram and I was there. People asking us the score on the way home and wouldn't believe us when we told. Used to love chants of gie the ba tae Andy after it...!

Morton because my mate follows them home and away and has taken me to thier games a few times. Nowt against Partick tho, wish both could be promoted.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Partick for me.

Either for me.

2 decent clubs with fans who have resisted the lure of the bigots.

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Thistle for me, used to go sometimes when I lived 5 minutes from Firhill and I know a couple of Jags fans so will be delighted for them if they go up.

Both horrid towns. Want neither promoted.

Thistle, I've always hated how Edinburgh people call them 'Partick'.

It was Hearts fans when I was a kid, which I think is partly why I hated Hearts so much and started following Hibs for a more local team.

Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post

It was Hearts fans when I was a kid, which I think is partly why I hated Hearts so much and started following Hibs for a more local team.
    Strange thing to get upset about. There are a few Thistles around so makes sense for people outwith their immediate area to refer to Partick.

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia Na Eir View Post
    Both horrid towns. Want neither promoted.
    Prepare for disappointment

First ever game was against Partick, so them for old times sake ;)

Either for me.

2 decent clubs with fans who have resisted the lure of the bigots.
    agreed but if i had to choose morton

Not been to either ground so not picky. Know a couple of lads who follow Partick from afar though so maybe edge towards them.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by joe breezy View Post

For 22 years the nearest senior football team to Hibs was Meadowbank Thistle. You want that folk who lived in Edinburgh should have called them "Meadowbank" and called Partick Thistle "Thistle"?

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Went to Firhill the season we were in the first for a league cup game against Hamilton Accies some time in August as I was up for the school holidays.

Also remember we gained promotion at Firhill. Sadly I was working over Easter so didn't go (my Dad & Bro did).

Thistle as I don't think I've ever been to a game there we've lost.

Slightly prefer Morton but would have preferred both to have come up with Hearts joining Dundee in Div 1.

I'm not normally a man who backs the west coast over the east coast (simply on smell and intelligence grounds, nothing against them otherwise), but I'd like to see two relatively decent-sized, financially stable clubs in the SPL, at the expense of a couple of inflated minnows who have been on spending sprees with other people's money, and who will subsequently spend the next decade fighting extinction in footballing backwaters.

9/10 it would be raining whenever we were playing through in greenock :( there was a good wee pub/club right on the corner outside the ground though :) and one of my first ever experiences of the weegie "salt & VINEGAR" in a chippy just further along, anyway, has to be the Mayrhill Magyars for me less travelling mileage, although i seem to remember some trouble for a supporters bus through there in the past after a game(iirc)

p.s. also liked those yellow & red stripped tops they wore