Thread: BBC commentary

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar

BBC commentary

Aside from the hilarity just how bad was McLeod today? Neither one supports the Saviles but that's so me of the most woefully biased commentary I've ever heard. I reckon McLeod must be £1 for every time he mentions the day last May too, every time he's on TV he's endlessly slavering on about it with the most tedious links. Even when the Merricks were getting their losers' medals. Rancid

You just re-posted a thread to bump it to the top?

@hibs.net private member Argylehibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by givescotlandfreedom View Post
    Aside from the hilarity just how bad was McLeod today? Neither one supports the Saviles but that's so me of the most woefully biased commentary I've ever heard. I reckon McLeod must be £1 for every time he mentions the day last May too, every time he's on TV he's endlessly slavering on about it with the most tedious links. Even when the Merricks were getting their losers' medals. Rancid
    At least 4 times before the game was even 2 minutes old.

When it was 3-1, all they could talk about was how "harsh" it was on Hearts and how they were going to claw their way back into it.

Nothing to do with St Mirren just having more experience....

It's so obvious now that it's really quite sad, he's the same each and every time that he does a live commentary.

Very unprofessional from a BBC employee.

He could barely contain his excitement when Stevenson made it 3-2 with a few minutes left.

Just a pity that's as good as it got Liam, eh!?

Tube. :giruy:

Liam McLeod is and always will be a 5hite commentator. End of
    This is how it feels

Have to agree, I was on the verge of throwing my glass of red cola at the Television if he mentioned last May one more time.

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Heard early on when they were 1-0 up thanks to that "fluke" as McGlynn would call it, the commentator saying " They are desperate for another trophy to put beside the Scottish Cup in the trophy cabinet " . And here was me thinking they were knocked oot by a wee team in the 1st round.

@hibs.net private member eastterrace's Avatar
    yes comentator was getting om my tits , he must be a jambo , kept going on how hard done by they were also mentiones last may a few times

Have you heard him do one of our games? If you think he was bad today, he's a ducking joke .

The more important question is when will the Highlights be up, so I can re watch them on mute and play 500 Miles over the footage !!

Don't even get his 'hard done by' chat.

From what I watched it looked like Hearts caught St Mirren cold/nervy for the first 20 minutes or so. After that thought Sts passed the ball about really well, looked in control and deserved their lead. Hearts threw the kitchen sink at them after Stevensons second, as you would expect, but didn't really look like scoring.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    It's been discussed in the past but it's pretty well known that he's a Dandy
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    The plooky faced wee freak is supposed to be a Dons fan but I find that hard to believe.

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Quote Originally Posted by EdinMike View Post
    The more important question is when will the Highlights be up, so I can re watch them on mute and play 500 Miles over the footage !!

A more important question than that is why is Gordon Strachan in fitba if he bid £1.7m for Gary Locke ?

Left by mutual consent! Iggy Pope's Avatar
    Constant references to 'the Jambos' too.
    Sounds like a sparryheed no question.

Commentary was very biased towards the maroon morons, any opportunity he got to slip in a comment about the cup final last year he took !

He didn't need an opportunity!

They failed to mention Gary McCocks last visit to Hampden in 2007

First Team Breakthrough 12AlbionPlace's Avatar
    His description of Mad Vlad as a "colourful character" was astounding.

The new definition of a colourful character is obviously, a crook who has brought a football club to it's knees

Liam Macleod has got to be a puddle drinker. He was DESPERATE for Hertz to win.

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Potter on Sportscene. Before his punditry I predict he will talk about formations and tactical changes to try and fool the viewer that he knows about fitba.

Paul Mitchell is a Jambo but he was always neutral.

Bring him back.

Also, Macleod's accent is too distinct.

recording sportscene so no telling the score please

After ten minutes of the game I turned the commentary down until St M were 3-1 up .
    Then lo and behold they were still spouting about hearts terrible ' luck'
    ( Even had their 'own' Ref and couldn't manage it )

Sportscene needs a revamp and new faces ASAP - tired and boring

As usual was cringing every time McLeod spoke. Such a clear Jambo its unreal, he was desperate for them to do it today.

Hates us too it seems.

Ngoo. What a huddy. Worse than Nade and slower.

Quote Originally Posted by NumberSeven View Post
    Commentary was very biased towards the maroon morons, any opportunity he got to slip in a comment about the cup final last year he took !

I thought it was just me thinking that the commentator was so biased against St Mirren?

He was prattling on about how small a club St Mirren are and how Hearts must up their game and take the ball to them.

This is all when they were getting beaten 3-1 too. He thought it was a shame that they hadnt put the ball in the net cause St Mirren were not in the game!

POPPYCOCK! id always thought it was the team who put the ball in the net more than the other were usually winners?

I dont know who was more excited when that third goal went in, me or my son who was running around the living room in celebration.

Wonder who paid for Romanov to get over, i thought id read he was skint? Hope he paid for the ticket and his TAXI fare from the airport.

Well done St Mirren and thanks for making my day!!!

Apart from his constant references to last May, which he mentions ad nauseum whenever he`s doing a Hibs or Hertz game, he also came away with this classic.. " listen to that atmosphere ".

I dont know about anybody else, but i`ve never " heard " an atmosphere..

The worst Scottish commentator by far.....and a complete tool.

Knew Liam a few years ago and he's definitely an Aberdeen fan, worked hard to get where he is but it is like he's the only one they use now and Paul Mitchell is very good and Alexander?