@hibs.net private member JollyGreenGiant's Avatar

Fashion disasters

We've seen the images of Fatty Foulkes and Uncle Fester, but what's the story with the gear the yams wear?

No Hibs game today, so was out and about and spotted loads of horrible looking yams.

But my favourite was when I took my laddie to his P2 fitba training this morning, and a yam Dad was there sporting a pair of beige combats, black shoes, a horrible knitted jumper with his yam top over it.

I'm no fashion guru, but they are total tramps

Anyone spot any other classics?

Quote Originally Posted by JollyGreenGiant View Post
    We've seen the images of Fatty Foulkes and Uncle Fester, but what's the story with the gear the yams wear?

No Hibs game today, so was out and about and spotted loads of horrible looking yams.

But my favourite was when I took my laddie to his P2 fitba training this morning, and a yam Dad was there sporting a pair of beige combats, black shoes, a horrible knitted jumper with his yam top over it.

I'm no fashion guru, but they are total tramps

Anyone spot any other classics?
    is there another kind?

i've seen some bad stuff down the years but my all time favourite and never to be beaten is...

Ibrox around about 1976, a young hun wearing the essential high street ned fashions of the time..A pair of bright blue oxford bags with side pockets and high waist (six buttons), Blue V neck, three big white stars in the middle, three stripes on the upper arm and....2 clothes pegs at the back of his collar!...he'd either chored it off a washing line or his mammy hadn't got round to ironing it yet and he'd whipped it out of the washing basket with the pegs still attached...i spent a long time wondering about that boy and i sometimes wonder what became of him...

maybe it was sally?

Was on princess st today and seen one of them with red chinos and his pink shirt on.

Quote Originally Posted by Green E's View Post
    Was on princess st today and seen one of them with red chinos and his pink shirt on.
    princes street...male not female

here to help

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    They really are scruffy *******s. Voi hoodies and Henleys jeans, scaffs.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    The Mullet is making a big return in Germany. They call it the Vokuhila (abbreviation for "Vorne kurz Hinten lang" and pronounced Foh-coo-Hee-la). Apparently the driving force behind it is a bald Scottish barber in Berlin.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    The Mullet is making a big return in Germany. They call it the Vokuhila (abbreviation for "Vorne kurz Hinten lang" and pronounced Foh-coo-Hee-la). Apparently the driving force behind it is a bald Scottish barber in Berlin.

Quote Originally Posted by fat freddy View Post
    i've seen some bad stuff down the years but my all time favourite and never to be beaten is...

Ibrox around about 1976, a young hun wearing the essential high street ned fashions of the time..A pair of bright blue oxford bags with side pockets and high waist (six buttons), Blue V neck, three big white stars in the middle, three stripes on the upper arm and....2 clothes pegs at the back of his collar!...he'd either chored it off a washing line or his mammy hadn't got round to ironing it yet and he'd whipped it out of the washing basket with the pegs still attached...i spent a long time wondering about that boy and i sometimes wonder what became of him...

maybe it was sally?
    Presumably sold to him as accessories by an entrepreneurial Hibee.

Quote Originally Posted by fat freddy View Post

maybe it was sally?
    That's his "mates" playing a prank on him.

@hibs.net private member Dalianwanda's Avatar
    I went full bowl cut for lockdown..My demi wave mullet with orange silk shirt from concept man, black and blue splattered trousers orange socks and patent slip ons is probably my most cringeworthy get up i can remember.

Some of the mid-80s Casuals gear was pretty cringeworthy.

Things like Denim Dungarees, Deerstalkers and Golf Shoes with the studs removed.

Anyone who wears trousers that are too short, no socks with shoes.

I just can't ridicule anybody for what they're wearing. I vividly remember the different versions of me as a teenager and clearly remember feeling cool as **** 🙂🙂🙂
    Last edited by Bangkok Hibby; 10-07-2021 at 11:37 AM.

Can I borrow some ambition? degenerated's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibrandenburg View Post
    What's not to like about it. The haircut that says business at the front, party at the back

Sent from my CPH2009 using Tapatalk

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Keith_M View Post
    Some of the mid-80s Casuals gear was pretty cringeworthy.

Things like Denim Dungarees, Deerstalkers and Golf Shoes with the studs removed.
    Golf shoes with studs? Interesting fashion concept that for sure

Quote Originally Posted by Scouse Hibee View Post
    Anyone who wears trousers that are too short, no socks with shoes.
    This is everywhere and it looks awful.

Full disaster points if it's accompanied by a skin tight short sleeve shirt and full sleeve tattoo.

This is everywhere and it looks awful.

Full disaster points if it's accompanied by a skin tight short sleeve shirt and full sleeve tattoo.
    I'm just back from a few days in London and this sort of attire is rife there. Loads of guys down there dress like that. Looks horrendous. The short sleeve shirt and sleeve tattoo appear to be favourites!

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    Golf shoes with studs? Interesting fashion concept that for sure

Spikes?

I've never been much of a golfer, so I'm not up-to-date with all the correct terms

But I do remember the clunking noises made by the few people that thought they were a fashion item trying to walk along the pavement.
    Last edited by Keith_M; 11-07-2021 at 12:51 PM.

@hibs.net private member RyeSloan's Avatar
    Spikes?

I've never been much of a golfer, so I'm not up-to-date with all the correct terms

But I do remember the clunking noises made by the few people that thought they were a fashion item trying to walk along the pavement.
    Aye spikes (as they were back in the day, those old skool metal spikes are long gone). I can only imagine the green keepers face if everyone pitched up wearing studded golf shoes! Would certainly save him aerating the greens right enough

But I think yer right…I vaguely remember that fad as well…brutal would be too nice a word for it!

We used to hammer segs into our shoe soles to make the clicking noise on the pavements

Quote Originally Posted by Bangkok Hibby View Post
    We used to hammer segs into our shoe soles to make the clicking noise on the pavements
    We only did it to make our school shoes last longer.

@hibs.net private member Just Alf's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Drawing pins for the win!

Quote Originally Posted by RyeSloan View Post
    ... I can only imagine the green keepers face if everyone pitched up wearing studded golf shoes! Would certainly save him aerating the greens right enough

True.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post

This thread has inadvertently turned into a variation of the Four Yorkshiremen Sketch.

Last edited by Keith_M; 12-07-2021 at 07:07 AM.

I was down in Manchester for a few days last week to visit family. At Victoria Station I saw a six foot bloke in six inch high heels (must have been at least size tens) mini skirt (thighs like a power lifter) and boob tube, but nae boobs to put in it. Hair shoulder length and dyed blonde.

Live and let live.

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Silky View Post
    I'm just back from a few days in London and this sort of attire is rife there. Loads of guys down there dress like that. Looks horrendous. The short sleeve shirt and sleeve tattoo appear to be favourites!
    It's their right to express their individualism....

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

True.

This thread has inadvertently turned into a variation of the Four Yorkshiremen Sketch.

They're lucky they had shoes. We had to hammer the segs into the soles of our feet!!

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    It's their right to express their individualism....

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
    Nothing individual about it, it’s a trend they are following.

@hibs.net private member Alfiembra's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by weecounty hibby View Post
    They're lucky they had shoes. We had to hammer the segs into the soles of our feet!!
    Luxury, we couldn’t afford segs, we used rusty nails from scrap pallets pulled out with our teeth.