@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar

Barry Smith leaves Dundee

On SSN now.

"Dundee FC today announced that they have parted company with Manager Barry Smith with immediate effect. Until matters regarding this have been formally concluded, no further statement will be made."
    Last edited by Hiber-nation; 20-02-2013 at 11:27 AM.

Pat Fenlon Out Barry Smith In

Bit harsh if results based. Never an SPL team - nor did he have much chance to change that either with the whole summer fiasco.

I blame Rangers.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Maybe they know that they're soon to be involved in a relegation battle with a certain team following a points deduction

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    Maybe they know that they're soon to be involved in a relegation battle with a certain team following a points deduction
    But in all seriousness feel for the guy. They never really had a chance. Who'll come in to replace then ?! Ian Murray I'm sure he'll love that possible situation !!

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post
    That was my very first thought

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Now reported on SSN as having been sacked.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Who are the likely candidates to replace him?

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    Bit harsh if results based. Never an SPL team - nor did he have much chance to change that either with the whole summer fiasco.

I blame Rangers.
    If they hadn't been promoted, he would probably still be in a job flying high in the first division.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Would assume Derek McInnes might be in the frame. Also Levein maybe?

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Potter thinks he is above this type of job, desperate for a job in England. Don't think the Dundee fans would fancy him either, bit of a stooshie over Scott Robertson (whatever happened to him?) a few years ago.

Got a soft spot for Dundee for obvious reasons, wouldnae wish Levein on them, especially if The Yams shed their points soon.

Quote Originally Posted by bingo70 View Post
    Fenlon

Gamertag: DuNdEeHiBeE
    Jimmy calderwood

Gamertag: Leith Sansiro
    Took 4 points too many off us this season, scoring 4 in the process.

Bit harsh imo, surely not performance based sacking considering what he had to work with.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post

No chance will it be Potter.

I think they will go the young cheap option like there neighbours did with JM, they are after all looking at relegation so won't be able to get a big name in with that in mind, not much of a gambler but may be tempted to stick a wee £20 on Ian Murray if he is in contention to be Dundee's next manager.

Quote Originally Posted by Treadstone View Post
    Potter thinks he is above this type of job, desperate for a job in England. Don't think the Dundee fans would fancy him either, bit of a stooshie over Scott Robertson (whatever happened to him?) a few years ago.
    You may be right and my comment about Potter was more of an after thought however would be surprised if there was a clamour for him down south giving his failure at Leicester and his job with Scotland.

Nish player manger.

ally mccoist might fancy the step up

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Just saw Jim Jeffries coming out of the club shop wearing a 1986 retro Dundee top. Why?

Quote Originally Posted by Hiberlin View Post
    Just saw Jim Jeffries coming out of the club shop wearing a 1986 retro Dundee top. Why?
    Can't believe it. Csaba Laszlo will be gutted.

They will be clearing the decks and getting someone in to do a job as they will find themselves off the bottom of the league shortly and in with a shout of staying up :)

Quote Originally Posted by Col2 View Post
    They will be clearing the decks and getting someone in to do a job as they will find themselves off the bottom of the league shortly and in with a shout of staying up :)
    BBC's Jim Spence is indicating Jimmy Calderwood seems to be a front runner though think he probably is for every job that comes available.

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiberlin View Post
    He'll have good memories there after their league win there in 1986, I bet?

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by givescotlandfreedom View Post
    That'll be it.

Quote Originally Posted by givescotlandfreedom View Post
    I've got great memories of that day I remember all those jambos in the stands crying tears of joy. I've no idea why some were leaving before the trophy came out

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    I've got great memories of that day I remember all those jambos in the stands crying tears of joy. I've no idea why some were leaving before the trophy came out
    I believe they were upset at the Utd result @ ER, what else could it be?

Albert Kidd...I understand :)

Left by mutual consent! Phil D. Rolls's Avatar
    Rab Douglas.

Poor show from them. They were always on a hiding to nothing this season and had no chance of staying up. The likes of McInnes won't touch it with a barge poll as their now essentially a first division club.