what does the term Hun mean?

following on from the success of my last enquiry

can anyone shed any light?

Quote Originally Posted by Mister P View Post
    following on from the success of my last enquiry

can anyone shed any light?
    Scabby windae licking,puddle drinking,bigot with a chip on both shoulders and a sense of injustice.
    Also lacking in any humility,grace or manners. Thats the polite version

If you believe a Glasgow Sheriff from a few year back then its an anti Protestant term based on the fact hun was a derogatory term for Germans during WW2 and Germany was the birthplace of Protestantism.

I don't think many people actually thought of that to be honest though.

just found this, can anyone verify it?

Quote Originally Posted by some random online
    7Rangers are called hun from the word 'Hanoverian' - protestant monarchy from Hanover, Germany who came to the British throne in 1714 with King George 1st, which in turn led to the Jacobite rebellion.

The Stuarts were the true line, usurped by some fat German. Anyway, I prefer the Spanish judge who when sentencing 'jubilant' Rangers supporters in Barcelona 1972 likened them to a band of rampaging barbarian huns. Greig got the cup inside the stand while the huns rampaged, hence why no pics exist.

Yes i can . Its Wrong .Try Googling Smelly Weegie Cheating Bigot Wallopers

It's nonsense.

The Huns were historically seen as savage barbarians compared to the Romans. So the derogatory term hun was a jibe at people seen as uncivilised, ignorant etc.

The whole attempt to link it to some kind of anti Protestant stance is a typical attempt by one of the Old Firm to do the 'they are as bad AC us' crap.

I was listening to a documentary about NIron on radio4 other day, this catholic Belfast teenager was describing being called a 'hun lover' because he had some protestant mates.

Sorry but the word IS sectarian.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    I was listening to a documentary about NIron on radio4 other day, this catholic Belfast teenager was describing being called a 'hun lover' because he had some protestant mates.

Maybe better put as it became sectarian, but it's origins are not...

Quote Originally Posted by ScottB View Post
    Maybe better put as it became sectarian, but it's origins are not...
    I think this puts it best, particularly the 3rd paragraph from the end

http://nilbymouth.org/history/

So how does it work when Protestant supporters of other teams call Rangers fans huns?

Can you have a sectarian prejudice against your own faith?

So how does it work when Protestant supporters of other teams call Rangers fans huns?

Can you have a sectarian prejudice against your own faith?
    Its now just become a general term for the club formerly known as rangers

Quote Originally Posted by lord bunberry View Post
    Its now just become a general term for the club formerly known as rangers
    Exactly.

I'm sure some people do use it as a sectarian slur but its nowhere near as clear cut as something like 'taig' or 'orange *******'.

I think this puts it best, particularly the 3rd paragraph from the end

http://nilbymouth.org/history/

Annoying how they say that we sign sectarian songs. We haven't in years,

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar
    soap dodging zombie knuckle dragger that often engages in sectarian singing

Exactly.

I'm sure some people do use it as a sectarian slur but its nowhere near as clear cut as something like 'taig' or 'orange *******'.
    I would have thought most people wouldn't use it as a sectarian insult these days. Bigots have moved on to more offensive terms

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Annoying how they say that we sign sectarian songs. We haven't in years,
    I can't take them seriously if they accuse us of using 'songs, chants and banners on match days to express abuse or support towards the Protestant or catholic faiths'. That's the usual west coast tripe based on our playing in green and are called Hibernian and an example of the ignorance they're supposed to be fighting against and their own prejudices.

Quote Originally Posted by givescotlandfreedom View Post
    I can't take them seriously if they accuse us of using 'songs, chants and banners on match days to express abuse or support towards the Protestant or catholic faiths'. That's the usual west coast tripe based on our playing in green and are called Hibernian and an example of the ignorance they're supposed to be fighting against and their own prejudices.
    There was a poll on here a long while ago asking what religion people were. The majority answer was Protestant, an admittedly large minority were Catholic and then a few answered other.

Would seem strange if we were parading about with anti Protestant banners when a small majority of our fans were themselves Protestant.

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    There was a poll on here a long while ago asking what religion people were. The majority answer was Protestant, an admittedly large minority were Catholic and then a few answered other.

Would seem strange if we were parading about with anti Protestant banners when a small majority of our fans were themselves Protestant.
    I remember that too and seem to recall it was a pretty balanced breakdown in reflection to Edinburgh's demographics.

Growing up in the late 60s and early 70s, they used to bring huge amounts through to easter road, 20k and more sometimes.

I was always under the impression the term hun was given to them was because they were like the Germans and invaded every town and city whenever their team played away?

I never once thought it was used in any bigoted way?

Obviously things have changed over the years, and for some its seen as bigoted now, but not by me?

My hun mates hate it and claim its sectarian. But every team in the land sings go home you Huns to them. For me its always been a derogatory term for Rangers rather than a slang religious term

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=hun

I have read other versions of this, but it seems fairly reliable in source material.

Horrendously Unappealing Nobs

I think it's always been a reference to Der Hun being 'The Enemy'

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Jones28 View Post
    Horrendously Unappealing Nobs
    Horrific Undead Neandarthals.

At school we were under the impression that because we were called 'papes' followers of rome - romans, and the barbarians who battled the romans were the huns.so for us growing up we identified the huns as prods, so prods were huns, ie. Rangers fans.
    Last edited by NOLA; 26-01-2013 at 10:06 AM.

@hibs.net private member Speedy's Avatar

Maybe in Northern Ireland but here it is just a term to refer to Rangers or Rangers fans imo.

Similarly if something said Tims I would think they are referring to Celtic rather than catholics. I'm sure others will argue otherwise.

Dirty racist,soap dodgin, vile @ssholes fae the big hoose. and that's the good things I have tae say.

In reality it means Sevco fan and zombie b******d, doesn't have any religious connotation at all whatever the animals say.

"Hun" never used to be sectarian.

It only became sectarian when they decided it was.