Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Favourite Hibs Red Cards

As the unseen work on ihibs/fitbastats continues, I'm starting to try and put together a complete list of hibs sendings off over the years.

What ones do you remember? What ones were you're favourites? I'm particularly keen on recollections prior to 1996.

Off the top of my head, Gordon Rae's v ****s at DebtCastle when Archie scored sticks in my mind.

Bobby Thomson's which resulted in the long ban is another one - mind boggling.

Super joe against man utd. Poor wee Gordon

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Greendrongo View Post

That's a difficult one to beat. I remember the stunned silence from the crowd - it was definitely a collective wtf moment.

First Team Breakthrough hibeequinn's Avatar

Gamertag: Quinaldo 2012
    it's not 1996 but shiels against the yams after he scored the penalty.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

another later one, sproule in that semi.
    Last edited by adhibs; 24-01-2013 at 10:47 AM.

Dave Beaumont when he took one for the team and hauled down Wayne Foster in the Scottish Cup and made sure we got a replay.

Oh wait......

@hibs.net private member JollyGreenGiant's Avatar
    What about Keith Houchen after being fouled, getting up, chasing the perpetrator and kicking him up the backside (St.Johnstone away I think)Was raging at the time, as I think we got beat, but looking back its quite amusing now.

Left by mutual consent! Skanko79's Avatar
    always hate seeing our players red carded but the best ive seen at ER was souness getting sent off.

First Team Breakthrough hibeequinn's Avatar

Gamertag: Quinaldo 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by Green E's View Post
    another later one, sproule in that semi.
    was that the stamp on miko lithuianius.

Not the time line you are looking for but Uli Laursen's red card for having the temerity to let the ball hit his hand as he was lying down in the box.

Sent off, penalty to the (now deceased) huns.

Some of our older posters must remember Willie Miller or Roy Aitken sending off a few Hibs players in years gone by

They were 2 of the best referee's when I was growing up.

First Team Breakthrough wfortune's Avatar
    Willie Miller catching the ball at Dunfermline as it was going over the sideline.
    2nd yellow and off

From memory. ST Johnstone took a corner which hit Arthur Duncan who went down injured. Play went on for a couple of minutes and everyone forgot about him, including the Hibs defence who tried to play John Brogan offside at the halfway line.
    Brogan who later played for us looked about 10 yards offside when he collected the ball but Arthur was playing him on. He ran through and scored.
    Bobby Thompson went mental and run towards the linesman. Several Hibs players tried to stop him but he brushed them aside. When he reached the linesman he pushed him hard on both shoulders almost knocking him into the old enclosure.
    It was one of the few sendings off that none if us could complain about.
    I think he was banned for about 6 months.
    Hope my memory is correct.

Quote Originally Posted by Purple & Green View Post
    As the unseen work on ihibs/fitbastats continues, I'm starting to try and put together a complete list of hibs sendings off over the years.

What ones do you remember? What ones were you're favourites? I'm particularly keen on recollections prior to 1996.

Off the top of my head, Gordon Rae's v ****s at DebtCastle when Archie scored sticks in my mind.

Yogi was also sent off at Tynie (his derby debut) for ruffling Stéphane Paille's hair. Paille went down as if he'd been shot but later, after been shown up as a cheat on TV, explained that Hughes had scared him into falling down. The match ended 0-0 IIRC.

Edit - sorry - I think that was 1997.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    another after 1996

Brebners red in the game we got the winner from O'Connor. The fact we were unfairly down to 10 just made the winner so much sweeter!

Quote Originally Posted by hibeequinn View Post
    was that the stamp on miko lithuianius.

aye, atleast it showed that someone on the park was hurting

First Team Breakthrough Bighoose's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Greendrongo View Post
    One of the best red cards. And in a testimonial too,..... has anyone else ever been sent off in a testimonial?

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Alex Edwards lying prone on the deck in the middle of a ruck of players then jumping up and lamping Diddy MacDonald in a midweek game against the huns around 73ish.

I recall John Blackley sent off at ibrox round about that time....can't remember what for.

Again, not really from your timeline....

But few years ago, 3 down I think at parkhead, McGeady is past the midfield and going to start running at the defence. Until Ian Murray just blootered him into the air. As much of a 100% red as you'll ever see.

Here's one for all the statos out there , who was our worst red card offender ? Can think of a few who perhaps got 3 or 4ie Chico,Jackson,geebsy,lamp, deeks but no one springs to mind when thinking about 6-7 thoughts

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Bighoose View Post
    One of the best red cards. And in a testimonial too,..... has anyone else ever been sent off in a testimonial?
    Strange you should mention that.

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/...monial-1.24267

few years back Pat Stanton sticking one on Alan Evans (pars & aston villa)

First Team Breakthrough GraniteCityHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wfortune View Post
    Willie Miller catching the ball at Dunfermline as it was going over the sideline.
    2nd yellow and off
    I was just away to ask if that actually happened!

I remember seeing it on the Scotsport highlights or whatever and thinking that I had no idea what was going on. It seemed so odd an inexplicable.

I'm just glad someone confirmed that it actually happened and I hadn't dreamt it.

@hibs.net private member Devonhibs's Avatar
    Bobby Thomson in the 80's, ran fully from one side of the pitch to a linesman in front of the old stand and pushed him over ending up in a six month ban. He was a bit short fused and I remember he had a Bobby Smith like hairdo - if I remember correctly?
    "Home advantage gives you an advantage" Sir Bobby Robson

@hibs.net private member Mr White's Avatar
    Another recent one- Kevin Mcbride blootering the ball at lafferty from no distance in the first game the new east was open. Both sent off but was good to see KL take a sore one.

Dave Beaumont when he took one for the team and hauled down Wayne Foster in the Scottish Cup and made sure we got a replay.

Oh wait......
    Aint that the truth.

Quote Originally Posted by Purple & Green View Post

Remember fondly Latapy getting sent off when we were in first division, I think it was at Hamilton or might even have been at Particks ground against Hamilton, ref sent him off but he wouldn't leave the technical area, eventually he moved away but kept hiding around the stand rather than go down tunnel was very funny

Feel free to remind me exactly how it was my old memory ain't great

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    Willie miller at Dunfermline stupidest red card I've seen period.

@hibs.net private member MartinfaePorty's Avatar
    Gareth Evans v Partick Thistle. Last game of the season at ER, Evans and David Irons (IIRC) have a wee tussle. Nothing much in it, game meant nothing and David Syme decides he is going to send them both off. Absolutely ridiculous decision even without the context of it being an end of season fixture. One other one came to mind: Barry Lavety in the 1st Division. Came on as a sub and got sent off in around 10 minutes against, I think, Clydebank at Boghead. Captured in all its glory on Football First. Not sure if he played again.

P.S. Off topic: bring back Football First (but without Derek 'so wooden he gives trees a bad name' Johnstone).

David Elliot against the Zombies at Ibrox in 1997 - a pure, unadulterated, licentious footballing atrocity of a tackle.

Also walked off after the red card smiling to himself in a manner that Archie Mac called "devilishly wicked" or something like that.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xMfGhuAbkLs