Thread: Weather

Weather

Getting plenty of snow down here and won't know until the morning whether I'm in work or not - any concerns with the game going ahead tomorrow or is the weather ok up there?

Snowing just now at North Gyle, the grass is covered but only just, not sure about Leith though.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    It's been snowing here for last 2 hours, getting pretty heavy now.

Wouldn't think the game will be in doubt unless it the snow that's lying on ground turns to ice overnight or if it's blizzard conditions tomorrow afternoon!

Its a total Blizzard in the village (EL) for past hour - snowed lightly for 2 hours before that. A snow plough went past half an hour ago......you would never know it had passed...if this pushes west to Leith it might be touch and go

The snow is starting to lye in leith now

3pm kick off gives them plenty time to get the surrounding area cleared and the pitch should be fine as the undersoil heating will be on. Typical that this weather happens just after we've had a 2 week break when the weather was fine.

It'll be on. Some sleet is possible but the heavier snow will be further North.

Quote Originally Posted by Westie1875 View Post
    3pm kick off gives them plenty time to get the surrounding area cleared and the pitch should be fine as the undersoil heating will be on. Typical that this weather happens just after we've had a 2 week break when the weather was fine.
    which shows just how pointless it was, trying tae pick two weeks out of four months of possible bad weather. Only them that run Scottish fitba could come up with that, two good weeks wasted.

Quote Originally Posted by Westie1875 View Post
    Reckon there'll be a fair amount snow lying about in the morning.

Don't kid yourself the break was for weather reasons. I've been out to play the last couple of weeks but the town is pretty dead. Not many folk have money to muck about with. Even now I doubt there'll be a decent crowd.

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    Lying heavily in Portobello but don't think it will affect tomorrow.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    It'll be on. Some sleet is possible but the heavier snow will be further North.
    The Heavier snow is currently just east.....no sign of stopping. Right now I would not get out the village

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Reckon there'll be a fair amount snow lying about in the morning.

Don't kid yourself the break was for weather reasons. I've been out to play the last couple of weeks but the town is pretty dead. Not many folk have money to muck about with. Even now I doubt there'll be a decent crowd.
    your right about the money! I've driven in mussie,porty, and g.junction street today.hardly anyone on the streets. a bit cald before this snaw started but those places i've mentioned, usually are busy enough on Fridays around the shops.

It's fine here in central Scotland.

I'm looking at the posts here and the reports on the news and wondering what all the fuss is about. A few very light flurries throughout the day but absolutely nothing lying on the ground.

Really cold though!

Quote Originally Posted by down-the-slope View Post
    The Heavier snow is currently just east.....no sign of stopping. Right now I would not get out the village
    still trying to figure out where (EL) is

Newhaven has 3ft of snow and we don't give sh"t

@hibs.net private member cocopops1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jabis View Post

East Linton ?
    Doing the 2013 Edinburgh half Marathon for McMillan it would be awesome if anyone fancies sponsoring me, http://www.justgiving.com/colin-smith1875 ,go on make a fat man run

Quote Originally Posted by cocopops1875 View Post
    East Linton ?
    Elphinstone ?

East Lothian - my training taught me to be vague

Between Saltoun and Pencaitland

Elphinstone ?
    Just says East Lothian under his name

I think the game will be off. Wouldnt mind cause I canny go anyway so could go to the rearranged game

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by FalkirkHibee View Post
    It's fine here in central Scotland.

I'm looking at the posts here and the reports on the news and wondering what all the fuss is about. A few very light flurries throughout the day but absolutely nothing lying on the ground.

Really cold though!
    Story of my life living in a coastal town. My whole childhood there were your usual "most snow ever in the history of man" warnings and looking out my window in Carnoustie there was not one flake.

However over here in Dalry it's been snowing for a good few hours and doesn't look like stopping any time soon.

PSN ID: FleshCabbage
    The snow is lying in Blackford, I'd doubt the match will be off unless the snow comes down heavily in the early hours.

Quote Originally Posted by SMAXXA View Post
    I think the game will be off. Wouldnt mind cause I canny go anyway so could go to the rearranged game
    No chance it will be off, pitch and surrounding areas will be fine the morn, im choking on the game tomorrow

@hibs.net private member cocopops1875's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by FranckSuzy View Post
    Just says East Lothian under his name
    Good stuff Franksuzy however East Lothian is not a village Hence the question
    Doing the 2013 Edinburgh half Marathon for McMillan it would be awesome if anyone fancies sponsoring me, http://www.justgiving.com/colin-smith1875 ,go on make a fat man run

@hibs.net private member neilmartinrocks's Avatar

Gamertag: sum1stolemytag
    East LInton ?

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by LancashireHibby View Post
    Getting plenty of snow down here and won't know until the morning whether I'm in work or not - any concerns with the game going ahead tomorrow or is the weather ok up there?

And the weather report from murrayfield, fair bit of snow lying on ground, snow still coming down but not too heavy at the moment, and the usual hot air streaming from the large pink box along the road

Ah ken But the initials were referring to East Lothian and not his village

@hibs.net private member JollyGreenGiant's Avatar
    Just hope the Dundee team don't have problems getting down to Edinburgh

Well said that man.

It better be on, very rarely get Sat 3pms these days. **** a wed night reply.

@hibs.net private member Jamesie's Avatar
    Walked from Elm Row to my flat which is about a five minute walk from the stadium at around 10pm. Walking past the Famous Five I almost went on my ere twice - there will need to be some serious clearing done in the morning as even if the pitch is fine, the areas around the stadium are hazardous at present. About 1.5 inches of snow on my car too so there's work to be done in the morning (assuming a) there's no more snow overnight and b) Dundee can get down the road!)