Nicky Riley - Dundee EEN Article.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/footba...-guy-1-2743366

Didnt realise he was from Leith and a Hibby. Actually think he is a very good wide player and notice he is out of contract at end of the season so wouldnt be surprised if we may be in for him. Seems a little injury prone but good ability IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post

Didnt realise he was from Leith and a Hibby. Actually think he is a very good wide player and notice he is out of contract at end of the season so wouldnt be surprised if we may be in for him. Seems a little injury prone but good ability IMO.
    Apparently played a blinder against the Yams - probably bursting a gut to beat them

Remember playing against him years ago. He was a class player at boys club level. Spent a long time at Celtic. Good to see him playing at a good level.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    And he probably has an Irish connection with a name like Riley so he meets the criteria.

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    And he probably has an Irish connection with a name like Riley so he meets the criteria.

All the best families have a Riley or Reilly in their family tree

Good mate of Pistol on here. Hopefully ends up at ER before long.

@hibs.net private member neilmartinrocks's Avatar

Gamertag: sum1stolemytag
    was he not a student of "the brizilian school of soccer" or something like that? (according to a mate in dundee)

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by neilmartinrocks View Post
    was he not a student of "the brizilian school of soccer" or something like that? (according to a mate in dundee)
    That's all very well - but we want to know exactly how far he can hoof the ball!

Quote Originally Posted by neilmartinrocks View Post
    His dad was a youth coach who speciaiised in delivering training sessions based on small sided games with a smaller ball and iirc it was a Brazilan verson of coerver (sp)

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CB_NO3 View Post
    Remember playing against him years ago. He was a class player at boys club level. Spent a long time at Celtic. Good to see him playing at a good level.
    Who did you play for ?

Quote Originally Posted by Brizo View Post
    His dad was a youth coach who speciaiised in delivering training sessions based on small sided games with a smaller ball and iirc it was a Brazilan verson of coerver (sp)
    Was he , that would have been down to Paul Connelly i would have thought . Nickys uncle Paul was with Hibs aswell

Get him signed. I cannae wait to shout "Gie the ba' tae Riley"
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member overdrive's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibees 7062 View Post
    Was he , that would have been down to Paul Connelly i would have thought . Nickys uncle Paul was with Hibs aswell
    Cousin I think. His dad is also Paul.

Quote Originally Posted by overDrive View Post
    Cousin I think. His dad is also Paul.
    Thats what i meant

Saw him in the hibs end at Tynecastle the other week

@hibs.net private member ACLeith's Avatar
    Known Nicky since he was born. Went to Hermitage and Leith Academy and in the BB in Leith. Joined Celtic from school, chances there ruined by injuries, out for a couple of years. Got chance with Dundee around the time they went into administration for the second time. I wondered if he could make the step up to SPL, especially in Dundee's circumstances at the start of the season, and delighted to see him doing so well.

He has had a few injuries with Dundee but a real nice lad who deserves to succeed, his parents have been a real positive influence on him in his career.The type of guy who gives fitba players a GOOD name

If I see him before Saturday I'll wish him well - and hope he gets the MOTM award even though his team loses.

Decent player. The only Dundee player that has impressed me this season. Wouldn't mind seeing him in a Hibs jersey.

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    Oh really?

Quote Originally Posted by ACLeith View Post
    Known Nicky since he was born. Went to Hermitage and Leith Academy and in the BB in Leith. Joined Celtic from school, chances there ruined by injuries, out for a couple of years. Got chance with Dundee around the time they went into administration for the second time. I wondered if he could make the step up to SPL, especially in Dundee's circumstances at the start of the season, and delighted to see him doing so well.

He has had a few injuries with Dundee but a real nice lad who deserves to succeed, his parents have been a real positive influence on him in his career.The type of guy who gives fitba players a GOOD name

If I see him before Saturday I'll wish him well - and hope he gets the MOTM award even though his team loses.
    Still got team photo when he was at Lochend Boys Club , Andy McNeill was the keeper

Quote Originally Posted by Brizo View Post
    Futsal? That's what they play over here just you described. Good game but you get booked for any hint of a tackle from behind!!

Quote Originally Posted by MelbourneHibby View Post
    Futsal? That's what they play over here just you described. Good game but you get booked for any hint of a tackle from behind!!
    Cheers MH. Thats the very game. Its all coming back to me now . His dad was also coach of Hermitage Park primary team.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Get him signed. I cannae wait to shout "Gie the ba' tae Riley" yet again like I did when I in ma 60's
    Sorted that for ye J

Get him signed. I cannae wait to shout "Gie the ba' tae Riley" yet again like I did when I was in ma 50's
    Sorted that for ye J

Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post
    Sorted that for ye J
    Quote Originally Posted by TQM View Post
    Sorted that for ye J
    Twice
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by truehibernian View Post
    Shame, the Riley family in my tree are all Jambos...

PSN ID: EdinburghHibee86
    Did him and Andy McNeill not play with leith athletic? Sure I played against both when my team played leith in an east of Scotland quarter final tie at st marks park

nicky riley

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post

he trained with hibs with big al and donald park at meadowbank when he was younger about 10yrs old

:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa:pfgwa

Twice
    'Cos yer hard o' hearing

@hibs.net private member ACLeith's Avatar
    He's not playing today, out with a calf injury. Source? His mammy