Fantasy SPL Team

So, for a number of reasons, this is turning into one of the most interesting SPL seasons of recent memory. There are plenty of good players around the league and although attendances could be improved upon, it is far from the “Armageddon” we were promised by the Prophets of Doom and their sympathisers. There are a number of teams battling it out for the European places and, if Celtic continue to play with the complacency that has crept into some of their games thus far, might we have a surprise league winner? Perhaps not, but it really is all to play for over the next half of the season. This heightened interest in the league this year has, for myself at least, caused me to take notice of a lot of opposition players, more so than any other year. So I thought it might be interesting to create a “Fantasy SPL” team, with a difference...

12 teams in the SPL – 1 team that we all support = 11 SPL teams. Take one player from each of these remaining teams and create your “Fantasy SPL” team for the first half of the season.

I’ll start us off...

Bell (Killie): A solid keeper who will surely play at a higher level.

Hateley (Well): Lots to pick from Motherwell. He delivers a good set piece, has an eye for goal and runs all day.
    Lockwood (Dundee): A tough one to pick from them, but he scored a cracker vs the Yams, so that’s good enough for me.

Webster (Hearts): Had to pick someone from them. Good defender.

Izaguirre (Celtic): I love to see full backs attacking and he does it well. Decent in defence too.

McGinn (Dons): Having the season of his life. Good attacking threat from deep.

Davidson (St J): Surely off to England sooner rather than later, unfortunately. Chips in with a few goals too.

McLean (St M): Scored a few screamers this season and last. Especially the one at ER. A good young box to box midfielder. Versatile.

Vigurs (Ross Co): Skillful, creative and scores a few goals. Likes to have a shot from range but can get into the box too.

Russell (Utd): Reminds me of a cross between O’Connor and Riordan in their youthful prime. Powerful and scores all sorts of goals.

McKay (ICT): Another young player with a bright future. Scoring goals for fun.

First Team Breakthrough hibeequinn's Avatar

Gamertag: Quinaldo 2012
    Randolph
    mair
    izaguirre
    Webster
    gunning

riley
    Britain
    Davidson
    mcginn

McKay
    Sheridan

struggled for st mirren and Dundee.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

@hibs.net private member neilmartinrocks's Avatar

Gamertag: sum1stolemytag
    Quote Originally Posted by hibeequinn View Post
    Randolph
    mair
    izaguirre
    Webster
    gunning

riley
    Britain
    Davidson
    mcginn

McKay
    Sheridan

struggled for st mirren and Dundee.

Nicky Rielly frae Dundee?

yeah too pick anyone from Dundee is hard

Gamertag: Hibee Gallagher
    Douglas (Dundee) - They wouldn't have any points if it wasn't for him!

Van Zanten (St Mirren) - Had some smashing games for st Mirren this season. Looks nothing like the player we had at Hibs!
    Webster (Hearts) - Composed centre back who does what he needs to do.
    Boyd (Ross County) - Really impressed by him every time I've seen him play. Good on the ball as well for a defender
    Matthews (Celtic) - Young lad and he's got 7 assists this season which is great for a full back

Mackay-Steven (United) - Just a joy to watch, exciting and effective! Great player
    Davidson (St Johnstone) - Big, strong and can score from midfield, exactly what you want!
    Kelly (Killie) - I know he's just left but if it's the season so far then he's got to be in there!
    Mcginn (Aberdeen) - Outstanding goal scoring record. One of the signings of the season.

Higdon (Well) - Top joint goal scorer so far so just goes in for goals alone
    McKay (Caley) - Good link up play and scores a LOT.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibee Ryan View Post
    Douglas (Dundee) - They wouldn't have any points if it wasn't for him!

Van Zanten (St Mirren) - Had some smashing games for st Mirren this season. Looks nothing like the player we had at Hibs!
    Webster (Hearts) - Composed centre back who does what he needs to do.
    Boyd (Ross County) - Really impressed by him every time I've seen him play. Good on the ball as well for a defender
    Matthews (Celtic) - Young lad and he's got 7 assists this season which is great for a full back

Mackay-Steven (United) - Just a joy to watch, exciting and effective! Great player
    Davidson (St Johnstone) - Big, strong and can score from midfield, exactly what you want!
    Kelly (Killie) - I know he's just left but if it's the season so far then he's got to be in there!
    Mcginn (Aberdeen) - Outstanding goal scoring record. One of the signings of the season.

Higdon (Well) - Top joint goal scorer so far so just goes in for goals alone
    McKay (Caley) - Good link up play and scores a LOT.
    He looks exactly like the player we had at Hibs, a decent dependable SPL standard defender. Another one we unfairly trashed as not Hibs class.

GK Cammy Bell (Kilmarnock)
    RB Tom Hateley (Motherwell)
    LB Danny Grainger (****s)
    CB Scott Boyd (Ross County)
    CB Dave Mackay (St Johnstone)
    RM Nicky Rielly (Dundee)
    LM Gary Mackay-Steven (Dundee United)
    CM Kenny Mclean (St Mirren)
    CM Victor Wanyama (Celtic)
    ST Niall McGinn (Aberdeen)
    ST Billy Mckay (ICT)

Gamertag: Hibee Gallagher
    Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    He looks exactly like the player we had at Hibs, a decent dependable SPL standard defender. Another one we unfairly trashed as not Hibs class.
    He has confidence now though, which is a big contributor. If you look at his goal against United where he ran at, I think it was at least, a couple of defenders and scored. I don't think he would of done that while at Hibs simply because of the fear of not getting it right and then the backlash. He was just the boo boy at the time which was very unfortunate for him

Quote Originally Posted by hibeequinn View Post
    yeah too pick anyone from Dundee is hard

I would have him at Hibs.
    Edinburgh boy as well.

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by neilmartinrocks View Post
    I would have him at Hibs.
    Edinburgh boy as well.
    Hibee aswell

Quote Originally Posted by hibees 7062 View Post
    Hibee aswell
    Few rumours doing the rounds that we have had a wee look at him.

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by miller99 View Post
    His cousin Paul was on our books , named after his dad , all good Hibbies

GK Camey Bell (killie) a good keeper would probably pick foster fae Celtic but have got another player from Celtic.

Rcb Boyd (Ross C) good defender.
    cb zaliukus (hearts) if I had to pick 1.
    Lcb Daly (dun Unt.) good at defending and attacking.

Rm Humphery (moth) it was a desition between Humphery and Ryan Fraser fae Aberdeen but have another players from Aberdeen in mind.
    cam McLean (st mirren) I think he's the guy with a sweet left foot
    cdm wannyama (Celtic) or brown
    cam Riley (Dundee) tricky little player.
    lm McKay (ict) great player all round.

St McGinn (aber) great scoring record.

should do a fantasy team with 11 and subs but can only pick 2 from each team including hibs

'S' Form
    Goalkeeper

Alan Manus - St.Johnstone Great shot stopper and comands his area

Defence
    Ryan McGowan - Hearts - Well you had to pick one of them
    Shaun Hutchinson - Motherwell - Good in the air and good tackler, likes his cards tho
    Efe Ambrose - Celtic - Has every aspect you need for a centre back
    Paul Dummet- St.Mirren Struggled on this but show promise. On loan from england

Midfield

Nicky Rielly - Dundee - good promsing young talent, bags of engry
    Liam Kelly - Kilmarnock Good passer and isnt scared to have a pop at goal
    Murray Davidson - St. Johnston Physical and great in the air.
    Gary MackayStevens - Dundee United hardest played in the spl to tackle

Attack
    Nial McGinn - Aberdeen full of engry, good goalscorer
    Billy Mckay - Inverness not only an eye for goal, good team player
    Last edited by RC1875; 12-01-2013 at 12:13 AM.

Randolph

Kovacevic
    Gunning
    Pascali
    Grainger

Riley
    McLean
    Wanyama
    McGinn

Hasselbaink
    McKay

Williams
    izaguirre
    Webster
    gunning
    mathews
    Kelly
    Britain
    Humphrey
    Murphy
    Griffiths
    McKay

bell
    boyd
    shinnie
    McGinn
    McGowan

Douglas(Dee)

Mackay(St J) Webster(Hea) Boyd(County) Considine(Dons)

McGowan(St M) Pascali(Killie) Law(Well) Mackay-Steven(Utd)

Hooper(Cel) McKay (ICT)
    Last edited by Wotherspiniesta; 12-01-2013 at 12:16 AM.

'S' Form
    Alan Manus ( St.J)

Van Zanten (ST.M) Hutchinson (MOT) Ambrose (CEL) Grainger (HEA)

Reilly (DUN) Kelly (KIL) Brittin (RC) Mackay Stevens (DU)

McGinn (ABD) McKay (ICT)
    Last edited by RC1875; 12-01-2013 at 12:25 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by miller99 View Post
    hope pat likes him. been in a fantasy team mentioned. well worth a punt imo.

Quote Originally Posted by hibees 7062 View Post
    Hibee aswell
    Indeed, he was in the row behind me at Tynecastle last week.

Douglas - Dundee

Hateley - Motherwell
    Goodwin - St Mirren
    Webster - Hearts
    Tesselar - Kilmarnock

McGinn - Aberdeen
    Wanyama - Celtic
    Davidson - St Johnstone
    Vigurs - Ross County

Daly - Dundee United