Thread: Best Derby Goal

Best Derby Goal

One that any jambos can join in to. What was the best Edinburgh derby goal (for either side)

One that immediately springs to mind is Latapy in the 6-2 game.
    Riordan at ER from about 30 yards out into Gordon - think it finished 2 all?

Can't remember any jambo goals but I'm no sure if that's cos all they're goals have been pish or cos I've blocked them all out

Testimonial Due NadeAteMyLunch!'s Avatar
    Wee Russell's without a doubt! Not only was it the best strike ever but it was to put us SIX-ONE up against them! Not sure any goal since has ever made me smile so much. My only regret from that night is that we weren't able to make it 7. Could/should have been 10 easy!!

The thread from a couple of weeks ago will have the Hibs entries you are looking for.

Don't think I've ever seen Hearts score a good goal against us, its always our 'keeper throwing it in or something horrible and scrappy from a set piece that takes 4 deflections and is bundled over the line by some huddie.

Joe McBride junior scored a great free kick at tynecastle

Gamertag: xoROOSKYox
    John O'Neill's goal at Tynie
    or...
    Deano's winner at Tynie after Konte missed from 1 yard

@hibs.net private member Sprouleflyer's Avatar
    I will be first to go against the grain.......John Colquhoun scored a couple of screamers against us at ER.

Obsessed with the Hibees son of haggart's Avatar
    Hartley in the 2006 semi - a great move and delicate finish

Drew Busby in 1973 derby (4th goal) sticks in my mind

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9pHxmPPrsA

There are several others from the wee striker and in the last 20 years of derbies but those two stand out for me

For you guys one of the goals in the 0-3 game ?Sauzee was pretty good though I wasn't too happy at teh time

Gamertag: stevesyb
    I recall a Derek Riordan screamer in a 2-2 draw at Easter Road. Pretty sure it was on his left foot and he fired it across Gordon and into the top corner. I also seem to recall Vaz Te's goal last year was quite a goal.

But let's be honest. Any goal against that shower is a good goal!

PSN ID: FleshCabbage
    Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Don't think I've ever seen Hearts score a good goal against us, its always our 'keeper throwing it in or something horrible and scrappy from a set piece that takes 4 deflections and is bundled over the line by some huddie.
    This is true for the most part, usually a goalkeeping error, penalty, header, or nothing special at all really. I seem to remember (trying to forget) that the first goal in that semi was a decent move, but that's about it.

Anyway, my favourite goals against that manky lot are; Latapy in the 6-2 game, truly breath-taking and my first ever derby and I witness the **** being battered.

The Riordan 30 yard screamer, that was a New Year derby as well I think because I remember Hartley coming to take corners and everyone was giving him pelters where I was sitting and that was the only game I've sat in the FF Lower by a corner flag for.

Brian Kerr against them at garbage dump was a good team move I seem to recall and O'Connor in the 'Unbeatables' derby was good too, so they get an honourable mention.

First Team Breakthrough bandylegs_jLeighton's Avatar

Gamertag: dmcattack
    Sauzee in the Millennium derby game.

It was my first derby game and I remember being able to tell the ball was net bound the instant it left his boot -it was a proper rocket.

Any goal against that lot is a raker!

I include any goal scored by any team against them.

Quote Originally Posted by son of haggart View Post
    Hartley in the 2006 semi - a great move and delicate finish

Drew Busby in 1973 derby (4th goal) sticks in my mind

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e9pHxmPPrsA

There are several others from the wee striker and in the last 20 years of derbies but those two stand out for me

For you guys one of the goals in the 0-3 game ?Sauzee was pretty good though I wasn't too happy at teh time
    Can't speak for the second one but the first one was nothing special! Is that the best you can come up with?

My first game at Tynie we lost 3-2 i remember the last goal being a screamer might of just been young though. One of the most enjoyable derbies I have ever watched though and i was only 10 or 11 so I didn't care to much.

Quote Originally Posted by MWHIBBIES View Post
    Spot on. I'm amazed how often they score horrible scrappy goals against us, scramble in the box, breaks to a Hearts player, he hits it, goes through the legs of 3 hibs players and it goes in. Can't remember a technically great goal they have scored against us, seriously.

Latapy in the 6-2 demolition. Sauzee in the millennium at the PBS.

Hopefully a few memorable Hibs ones tomorrow.

Kevin Harper in '98 was a peach. And on New Year's Day in '96 (and O'Neill's was a belter that day, too).

As for them, when I started reading this thread, I genuinely couldn't think of a good goal, but it's right enough that John Colquhoun scored a really good one at ER.

Quote Originally Posted by Mango Kid View Post
    Spot on. I'm amazed how often they score horrible scrappy goals against us, scramble in the box, breaks to a Hearts player, he hits it, goes through the legs of 3 hibs players and it goes in. Can't remember a technically great goal they have scored against us, seriously.
    There are loads and loads of them

The second Hearts goal in this one for example (4 minutes in)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7s6v...e=results_main

Zemmamma at ER in a 2-2 draw in October 2006. Good build up and beautiful deft touch to take two defenders out of the game in one movement and slotting past Gordon. Remember going mad watching the game in a bar in Magaluf.

Stanton's 94th minute equaliser in the late 70s at Tynecastle while a heartreaker (and miles offside) was a good goal (not so much spectactular as significant, good positional sense and well taken)

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    Arthur Duncan's in the SC at the pigswilltrough in early 70's

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by silverhibee View Post
    Riordans from the clip WHAT A CRACKER

The majestic Konte (rising like a leaping salmon returning to his spawning grounds) crashing his header off the stanchion only for Shiels to smash home the winner in a 2-1 win at Tynecastle in 2005. Konte had come on for an ineffectual Riordan and changed the course of history

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Maybe not the best ever but one that always sticks in my mind is Pat Quinns 3rd at Tynie in 1967 .

Left by mutual consent! TornadoHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by NadeAteMyLunch! View Post
    Wee Russell's without a doubt! Not only was it the best strike ever but it was to put us SIX-ONE up against them! Not sure any goal since has ever made me smile so much. My only regret from that night is that we weren't able to make it 7. Could/should have been 10 easy!!
    Aye, wee Russell's goal in the 6-2 game on 22nd October 2000, my eldest's 20th birthday, was a cracker and a great pity that we never beat the magic number 7!

Antii Niemi had a stormer that game and definitely saved them from a real hammering!

One nil for us would do tomorrow though to make us effective Scottish Cup holders!

Quote Originally Posted by son of haggart View Post
    There are loads and loads of them

The second Hearts goal in this one for example (4 minutes in)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7s6v...e=results_main
    Fair play, 2 good goals there. the header from Mckenna in particular, that's it though.....

De La Cruz 2001. Had just sat down!

Any goal that is scored against them is good for me.

Honestly could not care less how they go in.

My fav is Gordon Hunter at the PBS to end their 22 game run

Dirk Lehmans goal in the 0-3 game gets overlooked but was also a cracker.