Page 1 of 14 12311 ... LastLast

Stadium announcer sacked / Club Statement, Post 195 (merged)

Was being nosey on kickback and there is a thread bout is sacking out stadium announcer due to song choice on Sunday ? Anyone know anything ?

Professional thread starter Diclonius's Avatar
    It's true.

Think it's pathetic tbh. Their announcer ridicules us at every opportunity - we should actually allow ourselves to do the same once in a while ffs. Maybe if we actually allowed ourselves as a club to slag off Hearts and have a bit of banter once in a while, we might have a bit of passion in derbies.

I can't help but feel that Hibs still view Hearts as "just another team" which is totally wrong - that's not enough motivation for us to perform in derbies. What a joke.

Absolute joke.

Those tramps take every chance to have a dig at us and now this guy has lost his job.

Maybe the let's work together guys can raise this with the club.

Ridiculous.

What did he do or say? Heard 'Taxman' which was funny. Hope Hibs haven't sacked him for that.

Quote Originally Posted by rossi View Post
    What did he do or say? Heard 'Taxman' which was funny. Hope Hibs haven't sacked him for that.
    That is the sole reason why he was sacked.

Surely not?

If this is true, we should all be emailing the club about this as it's absolutely ridiculous.

Their ******** of a DJ winds us up silly at every opportunity when we're at the pink pedo dome. Yet, we sack one of our own, for playing 1 song as a joke when Hearts fans weren't even there FFS.

I just don't get it.

Poster on the Bounce saying it's more likely the DJ was binned for playing the uncensored version of Boulevard Of Broken Dreams by Green Day at a Hibs-Kids match

Quote Originally Posted by hibbybrian View Post
    Poster on the Bounce saying it's more likely the DJ was binned for playing the uncensored version of Boulevard Of Broken Dreams by Green Day at a Hibs-Kids match
    I did notice that, the phrase "****ed up" was clearly heard during one of the verses.

In fairness they will hear far worse on the terracing :

Absolute joke. We should get involved, petition or something

He was rubbish

Bit of a joke it has to be said, but the stadium announcer was gash. Hopefully someone who sounds like they are generating pre-match atmosphere at a football match, not reading the shipping news, can be found to replace him.

That has got me really annoyed. Sacked for having a bit of banter. Who gives a **** what hearts fans thought of it. Whoever sacked the guy should be ashamed

Just gets to me cos for a while we have had them lording it over us and had to get on with it. Now, we have a guy sacked for giving some of it back

A bit embarrassing imo. Only a bit of banter and its not like we were playing hearts, it was never going to cause any bother.

It does seem very petty, maybe not the time to suggest we get the guy from Livingston as a replacement?

What a joke, I think the fans should insist he's reinstated.

Did the Killie announcer get sacked for playing this v Tic?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TOSZwEwl_1Q

If he was sacked for playing Taxman on Sunday then it is a total disgrace.

If he was playing uncensored Green Day songs (especially at a Hibs kids match) and this was the reason he was sacked then fair enough.

Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    What a joke, I think the fans should insist he's reinstated.
    If I was that guy and Hibs offered the job back after this I'd tell them to ram it.

There are some folk within fitba that seem determined tae squeeze every last bit of fun and banter out the game and it would seem that they are alive and well at ER. I cannae think of anybody at ER that mattered that would have been offended by that if they heard it, I would imagine the vast majority would have found it very funny. If the boy has been sacked because of that then there is somebody at ER who needs tae have a word with themselves. If the boy has been sacked on the back of a complaint by some yam windae licker that makes it even 10 times worse.

The official reinstate the anouncer thread

Lets give this some backing and email it to the club.....all in favour say aye!!

Aye. Humorous banter should be encouraged, not condemned.

Quote Originally Posted by marinello59 View Post
    Aye. Humorous banter should be encouraged, not condemned.
    particularly if it's aimed at that lot.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Aye, there was no harm done whatsoever. Even the allegedly sane on kickback are backing him.
    Hibs.nets negative posting legend and unofficial ticket agent.

First Team Breakthrough ZS DOOM's Avatar
    Absolute joke. Whoever thought this was a sackable offence needs a slap

If he was sacked for playing the taxman track, then its a yes from me?

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar
    Bad patter if he was emptied for playing taxman! I heard it and had a chuckle to myself but a wee bit ott for sacking him if this was the reason

Aye. Absolute nonsense so it is.

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    There's something here that the story as reported isn't telling us. No-one would get sacked for one offence, unless it was criminal.