Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Section 43

Section 43

Well done to Section 43 again today - fantastic work guys!

One question I have (and I'm sure there is a valid reason) but why green, white and BLACK for the banners? Not having a go but curious to the reasons for not just using Hibs colours?

From a personal point of view, green/white/black has come in great use recently compared to when people think I'm a Celtc fan when wearing a green and white scarf etc. Good enough reason for me!

... could it be for our less fortunate city rivals?
    Well done again today guys, your vocal backing of the Club is spreading to other areas of ER. Keep up the good work!
    God Bless the Hibs!

Quote Originally Posted by LancashireHibby View Post
    From a personal point of view, green/white/black has come in great use recently compared to when people think I'm a Celtc fan when wearing a green and white scarf etc. Good enough reason for me!
    Understood

I thought green white and black were hibs colours.

I've been wearing scarves with that combination for years. Don't tell me I've been wrong all this time!

Quote Originally Posted by peterdouglas View Post
    I thought green white and black were hibs colours.

I've been wearing scarves with that combination for years. Don't tell me I've been wrong all this time!
    Black is NOT Hibs colours - seriously do you need told the club colours?

Bottle green and white with yellow as the third colour.

edit: granted I have seen scarves with black in them but not sure where that came from. Hibernian have never been green, white and black?
    Last edited by RoxburghHibs; 03-11-2012 at 08:09 PM.

I was in there today - hoarse now but thoroughly enjoyed the chanting! Great effort lads!

:pfgwa

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Quote Originally Posted by RoxburghHibs View Post

edit: granted I have seen scarves with black in them but not sure where that came from. Hibernian have never been green, white and black?
    What about purple, thats a hibs colour IMO

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    Historically neither yellow nor purple featured but black did, first appearing in 1895.

Purple arrived on the scene in the 70's because Tom Hart's wife liked the colour.

**** knows where the idea for yellow came from - as an old fashioned gadgie I would argue that only the keeper should ever wear that colour for Hibs
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post

Eh seriously I can't believe Hibs fans don't know their clubs colours!

Was intruduced in the late 1970's for advertisement reasons. NOT Hibernianf FC colours.

Seriously is it just me! Email the club and ask for the officail club colours.

GREEN and WHITE

BEAUTIFUL

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hiberni...ours_and_badge
    Last edited by Mikey; 03-11-2012 at 08:41 PM. Reason: Fixed quotes

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Historically neither yellow nor purple featured but black did, first appearing in 1895.

Purple arrived on the scene in the 70's because Tom Hart's wife liked the colour.

**** knows where the idea for yellow came from - as an old fashioned gadgie I would argue that only the keeper should ever wear that colour for Hibs
    hmmmmm

I thought purple was intruduced due to advertisement - but stand corrected on that. The official club colours were green, white and gold - and as far as I know that stands.

edit: I will email the club and ask for clarification. I have always looked at Hibs as Green, white and gold (bottle green). Certainly not black or purple!

Lets see the officail line :)
    Last edited by RoxburghHibs; 03-11-2012 at 08:30 PM.

hmmmmm

I thought purple was intruduced due to advertisement - but stand corrected on that. The official club colours were green, white and gold - and as far as I know that stands.

edit: I will email the club and ask for clarification. I have always looked at Hibs as Green, white and gold (bottle green). Certainly not black or purple!

This is how it feels

Will post in full when I stop scooping, but we all agreed o dark colours. Bottle Green and Black were chosen. People took to them. Hibs brought out a bottle green strip a year later. You either like it or you don't. No hidden message here though.

3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376
    hmmmmm

edit: I will email the club and ask for clarosification. I have always looked at Hibs as Green, white and gold (bottle green). Certainly not black or purple!

Not really sure if he's up to speed

Quote Originally Posted by BouncerRoss View Post
    Will post in full when I stop scooping, but we all agreed o dark colours. Bottle Green and Black were chosen. People took to them. Hibs brought out a bottle green strip a year later. You either like it or you don't. No hidden message here though.
    Hey mate - as mentioned before. Don't apologise for anything! You guys are doing the club a MASSIVE service.

I just was curious as to the introduction to a colour not related to our club. But in the end of the day - GGTTH

Quote Originally Posted by jonty View Post
    Not really sure if he's up to speed
    Hehehe too much RED wine celebrating the Hibees being top!

See why we are debating, can i say one thing, **** THE HEARTS.

Quote Originally Posted by BouncerRoss View Post
    See why we are debating, can i say one thing, **** THE HEARTS.
    Can I just add "Hearts are going BUST!!"

hmmmmm

always thought of it as those colours. gold being the original Harp. and before anyone suggests, the Irish flag was a bluish (saphire?)with a gold harp. check the flag flown at the Irish consolate in EDIN. And,naw this isnae a flag debate

Can I just add "Hearts are going BUST!!"
    would like to add,

Might go for a pink orange and silver range next year.

Can I ask if grey jogging bottoms are mandatory for Section 43 members? A hilarious amount of them wearing them today.

I'm sure the casuals have nothing to do with it.

Hahaha embarrasing, 22 of us in the new yorker before and not **** had them on. The section holds 920 in total, so don't go painting everyone with your brush.

We've got better dress sense than the 14 year old JLS at the back. Again, come up and join us for a game ull see what we wear.

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    Cheers S43, you make a real difference to the noise in the ground. Pretty sure more folk joined you in the second half.

Fair enough but some of the gear on show is laughable. Seem to embrace some of the fitba culture but not all...

Well done to Section 43 again today
    There's been a bit where the songs start at ER forever- why do we need to have a thread congratulating section 43 every week? Why seperate the fans?

@hibs.net private member whiskyhibby's Avatar
    Yep we'll done guys , great support and really brought the crowd into the game !!

The whole support were class today, those painting their own image come have a pint before a game. You'll soon see otherwise. Embarrasing the lengths some people go.