Thread: Graham Mitchell

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar

Graham Mitchell

Following on from the Alan Sneddon thread it is only fair that this unsung hero gets a mention.

265 appearances for the cabbage and member of the League cup winning team in 1991.

Pretty much a stalwart in his ten years at Easter Road and was Mr Reliable.

We struggled big time after he left as we were relegated and had to endure guys like Rab Shannon and Paul Lovering at left back for a couple of years before big Ulrik came along!

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by KeithTheHibby View Post
    Following on from the Alan Sneddon thread it is only fair that this unsung hero gets a mention.

265 appearances for the cabbage and member of the League cup winning team in 1991.

Pretty much a stalwart in his ten years at Easter Road and was Mr Reliable.

We struggled big time after he left as we were relegated and had to endure guys like Rab Shannon and Paul Lovering at left back for a couple of years before big Ulrik came along!
    Great player , i dont think Lovering was a bad player he just wasnt rite in the heed

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    Mitchell was ok. Remember an overhead kick he scored v well might have been his only goal I think.

If I had to choose an unsung hero to big up it would be willie miller great right back til that leg break kinda ruined him.

Quote Originally Posted by hibees 7062 View Post
    Great player , i dont think Lovering was a bad player he just wasnt rite in the heed
    Lovering was more than decent for us in the 1st Division. Unfortunately that was his level and he got found out in the SPL.

He, along with a few from that team, done what was asked of them despite being understandably forgotten because of the Sauzees and Latapys.

Quote Originally Posted by Deegangonnagetu View Post
    Mitchell was ok. Remember an overhead kick he scored v well might have been his only goal I think.

If I had to choose an unsung hero to big up it would be willie miller great right back til that leg break kinda ruined him.
    Think he scored in the first leg against Videoton.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post

Header from quite far out IIRC.

Mitchell was one of Miller's best signings.

@hibs.net private member superfurryhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post

Agreed. I preferred him at centre half rather than left back. A cultured player who did well at Hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by Stevie Reid View Post

And Mitchell was a fan of Miller's - always spoke well of the Manager
    He was a very decent C/H as well

Gamertag: Iainhfc PSN ID: Iainhfc
    Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    I beg your pardon before my time lol.

I never knew he was at the club for 10 years, if thats correct i wonder why he did not receive a testimonial? He is presumably a cup winning player with 10 years unbroken service?

Vaguely remember him being out injured for months agter an injury at Falkirk. I only remember the game because it was one of the coldest nights Ive ever watched football, we got lost on the way to Falkirk in snow, and the guy I was with ate 4 pies in a row "to keep warm"

I think he cost £30,000 from Hamilton and gave us 10 excellent years. He was possibly the best value for money signing we ever made.

I never knew he was at the club for 10 years, if thats correct i wonder why he did not receive a testimonial? He is presumably a cup winning player with 10 years unbroken service?
    Super Joe Tortolano was at the club for 11 years as well. Wasn't as uncommon for players to be at a club as long back then so they may have just been picky when handing out testimonials.

Quote Originally Posted by Sir Albert of Kidd View Post
    Super Joe Tortolano was at the club for 11 years as well. Wasn't as uncommon for players to be at a club as long back then so they may have just been picky when handing out testimonials.
    Very strange practise imo, we cant have many who played for us 10 years, yet we hand one out to Ian Murray even though he left for his big payday?

I suppose the huge crowd he received demonstrated the supports views on that?

10 years unbroken service should automatically qualify you for a testimonial in my opinion.

A totally mediocre player imo, pretty slow as I remember

Had a good engine, athletic enough player. Best mate's with Mo Johnston. I think he was his best man.

@hibs.net private member bingo70's Avatar
    Did he not score a belter of an OG against the club that used to be known as 'Rangers' (may they rest in peace)

Diving header i think although my memory might be playing tricks on me

@hibs.net private member Hiber-nation's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    Totally disagree, Mitch was one of our most consistent performers in the Miller years. Best position was sweeper but never let anyone down at left back.

@hibs.net private member offshorehibby's Avatar
    I remember doing a lot of work at ER for the company i worked for at the time. It was about the time he was injured. Stevie Archibald was there at the time carrying an injury and were on lite jogging at ER. Both would take time out to have a blether with you. I always liked Mitchell as a player.
    TOP CASH BACK
    The easy way to make money

Very strange practise imo, we cant have many who played for us 10 years, yet we hand one out to Ian Murray even though he left for his big payday?

10 years unbroken service should automatically qualify you for a testimonial in my opinion.
    Yes, I agree. And Murray shouldn't have got one either.

Could be a while before we see a player at the club for 10 years again. Hanlon possibly.

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post

i fell off my seat reading that...mitch was a top quality player...cultured in everything he done...oozed class and compusure.

First Team Breakthrough Yuillsy's Avatar
    I'm sure Mitch scored in the 1st game I ever went too. Hibs v St Mirren January 1987. It must've been right at the start of his Hibs career.
    We won 1-0 but I can't find any other stats for it anywhere.
    FWIW I thought Mitchell was brilliant for us and loved the ginger partnership of him and Hunter in defence.

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Deegangonnagetu View Post

Willie Miller was a decent full-back but soured it for me by turning Judas and joining Dundee after we were relegated.

Loyalty out the window despite being a Hibby and being responsible for taking us down. Same can be said for Andy Dow and Darren 'donkey' Dodds.

Quote Originally Posted by KeithTheHibby View Post
    Willie Miller was a decent full-back but soured it for me by turning Judas and joining Dundee after we were relegated.

Loyalty out the window despite being a Hibby and being responsible for taking us down. Same can be said for Andy Dow and Darren 'donkey' Dodds.
    He'd been there for a few years so might have been on a decent wage, maybe hibs encouraged him to take an offer from elsewhere

He couldn't have made too much from the game, remember when i used to drink in the Lady Nairne he came in after hibs at been at home selling pies, apparently was pretty common for him to do this.

Quote Originally Posted by Hiber-nation View Post
    Totally disagree, Mitch was one of our most consistent performers in the Miller years. Best position was sweeper but never let anyone down at left back.
    Opinions eh?.....

Quote Originally Posted by Yuillsy View Post
    I'm sure Mitch scored in the 1st game I ever went too. Hibs v St Mirren January 1987. It must've been right at the start of his Hibs career.
    We won 1-0 but I can't find any other stats for it anywhere.
    FWIW I thought Mitchell was brilliant for us and loved the ginger partnership of him and Hunter in defence.
    You'll be telling us that Hunter was a good defender next....lordy

he was one of my favourite players during the time he was there. Always gave 100% and was a good, solid defender. Don't know how anyone that saw him play could say any different.

I don't like testimonial's. I'd scrap them. Of course, just an opinion too.

Quote Originally Posted by 3pm View Post
    I don't like testimonial's. I'd scrap them. Of course, just an opinion too.
    They should be purely for the benefit of charity.

i know it was a touchy subject at the time but i think it was outrageous Murray benefited financially from the dozen or so testimonial events he had.

Graham Mitchell was a very very good pro for Hibs and a bloody good player, Those that differ ken ****all about fitba