3pts away from home - i'm a happy glory hunter. jonty's Avatar

Gamertag: jonty Wii Code: 7580 5998 4272 1376

Wonga - sponsor for Newcastle Utd

Wonga have been announced as stadium sponsors and have handed the naming rights back to the fans.

Cunning marketing ploy? or is the head chap at wonga a member of the toon army?

The Yams could do the same.

The Pink Wonga-dome.

Geordies I work with are spitting teeth over this!

The Pink Wonga-dome.[/QUOTE]loving it!

@hibs.net private member Off the bar's Avatar
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-tyne-19883080

''Payday loans company Wonga has signed a multimillion-pound shirt sponsorship deal with Newcastle United.

But the move has sparked anger from some politicians and fans, who believe the deal could project the wrong image for the club.''

no such worries down gorgie way, but the jamboids will do anything for some wonga right now

@hibs.net private member speedy_gonzales's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hoxtonhibby View Post
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-tyne-19883080

''Payday loans company Wonga has signed a multimillion-pound shirt sponsorship deal with Newcastle United.

But the move has sparked anger from some politicians and fans, who believe the deal could project the wrong image for the club.''

no such worries down gorgie way, but the jamboids will do anything for some wonga right now
    Was going to post the same BBC link but you beat me to it,,,,what I want to know is why the stooshie over Newcastle Utd and not Hertz? The disgust seems to be aimed at the company for having 4000% payday loans, but surely as far as the club is concerned it's money in the bank, whether people are stupid or desperate enough to use such credit facilities is another story!

@hibs.net private member Off the bar's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by speedy_gonzales View Post
    Was going to post the same BBC link but you beat me to it,,,,what I want to know is why the stooshie over Newcastle Utd and not Hertz? The disgust seems to be aimed at the company for having 4000% payday loans, but surely as far as the club is concerned it's money in the bank, whether people are stupid or desperate enough to use such credit facilities is another story!
    maybe time to change your name from speedy then eh?

I think the difference is that newcastle have a good name to protect where as everyone knows hertz are a bunch of no-good jakeys

as an aside did blackpool not have wonga as their shirt sponsor for a while?

Apparently wonga are giving them 8m up front but they have to pay back 28m a month later.

Quote Originally Posted by hoxtonhibby View Post
    maybe time to change your name from speedy then eh?

I think the difference is that newcastle have a good name to protect where as everyone knows hertz are a bunch of no-good jakeys

as an aside did blackpool not have wonga as their shirt sponsor for a while?
    I guess people only notice if something happens in the Premiership. Does highlight what a tawdry club Hertz are though.

@hibs.net private member linlithgowhibbie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Antwerphibs View Post
    Apparently wonga are giving them 8m up front but they have to pay back 28m a month later.

What rate of interest is that then Mr Accountant?

Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post
    I guess people only notice if something happens in the Premiership. Does highlight what a tawdry club Hertz are though.
    Nonsense.

Hearts are a massive club who's name is known and respected worldwide. The Scottish Cup Final result sent shock waves rippling through the footballing world apparently. So much so the game wasn't even shown in England.

@hibs.net private member tamsonsbairn's Avatar
    Reportedly worth 8 million pounds a year. How much did hmfc get for their shirt sponsorship. :pfgwa

Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    The Pink Wonga-dome.
    loving it![/QUOTE]

Agree very cheeky! Lol

Hope it doesnae have any effect on the standard of hospitality,I'm doon their next month, all expenses :)

It seems that some Newcastle fans are having pangs of conscience about the suitability of Wonga to be sponsoring the club shirt. I don't remember this debate being held in Gorgie, probably becasuse conscience doesn't come into it and they'd sell their grannies for a fiver, just so their players can be paid on time for once.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    It seems that some Newcastle fans are having pangs of conscience about the suitability of Wonga to be sponsoring the club shirt. I don't remember this debate being held in Gorgie, probably becasuse conscience doesn't come into it and they'd sell their grannies for a fiver, just so their players can be paid on time for once.
    No-one I know is happy, including myself. I have every home shirt going back to 1986 but I won't be buying anything with Wonga on it. Cheapens the club and it's a slimy operation. Maybe buy the shirts and then get them patched over the logo. I think a few people will be doing that.

Have asked Puma if they would manufacture a sponsorless shirt if demand was there. They'll say 'no' and it'll make a good story.

Gamertag: DylanCrosbieI9I
    Hadent it recently just been called the sports direct arena not more than a season ago?

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibskid9 View Post
    Hadent it recently just been called the sports direct arena not more than a season ago?
    No, No and No.

It was St James' Park, is St James' Park and always will be St James' Park.

End of!
    But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Gamertag: DylanCrosbieI9I
    Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post
    No, No and No.

End of!
    Well how about this then.
    Didn't sports direct sponser it recently now wonga?

No, No and No.

End of!
    err, that'll be a why man, wat ye gan oan aboot, is nae wonga wer upset boony lad.am gan doon the toon fur some broon.

Quote Originally Posted by hibskid9 View Post
    Well how about this then.
    Didn't sports direct sponser it recently now wonga?
    the current phrase is "how's about that then".saville speak

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by monktonharp View Post
    err, that'll be a why man, wat ye gan oan aboot, is nae wonga wer upset boony lad.am gan doon the toon fur some broon.
    It's actualy ".. why aye man, wat ye gannin an aboot .." and ".. bonny lad, am gannin doo tha toon .." but close enough.

And just to confirm ..

But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    they'd sell their grannies for a fiver,
    That's a gross exaggeration. No way would they hold out for a fiver.

No, No and No.

End of!
    This reminded me of rangers fans saying they're the same club!

Newcastle United will be unaffected by sponsorship deal with Wonga, as manager insists "the lads will still go out and give it 4200%"

@hibs.net private member LancsHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by goofter View Post
    Newcastle United will be unaffected by sponsorship deal with Wonga, as manager insists "the lads will still go out and give it 4200%"

Quote Originally Posted by tamsonsbairn View Post
    Reportedly worth 8 million pounds a year. How much did hmfc get for their shirt sponsorship. :pfgwa
    £8.50p - they are the bigger of the 2 clubs, world famous and they won a war which I don't think Newcastle have ever done.

Quote Originally Posted by goofter View Post
    Just spilled my cofee laughing!

PSN ID: Dave1875
    I read somewhere this morning maybe the most reliable bbc football gossip page that the clubs Muslim players will be acting against sharia law by wearing the strips with wonga on the front!! This whole story is going a bit on the mad side eh!
    blackpool had them as shirt sponsors when they where in the prem and all the journo's did was praise Blackpool as refreshing etc etc no mention of wonga , I think it's more of a snipe towards mike Ashley who IMO has really got his act together the past few years and has managed to add more investment into the club which can only help him back pardew even more (if that's possible) as has been said above you're only going to use wonga if your desperate/silly not because its on the front of your clubs strip e.g I have never had a bottle of crabbies (sorry rod)

Loved the Talk sport quote this morning..... That wonga have a distinct marketing ploy of targeting deprived areas such as the north east, blackpool and certain parts of edinburgh