Page 3 of 41 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Gamertag: x Aldoo x
    Miles Kane's new album that was released yesterday is a cracker! New Beady Eye that is being released next Monday is being streamed on iTunes is also brilliant!

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    I've heard of them!
    You wont hear it in Tamson matey, its all thrash metal in that bloody place. is crap.

Quote Originally Posted by Green_Lantern View Post
    One of the best bands over the past 12 or so years. Their greatest hits album is brilliant .

The Tribes have a new album out. Well worth a listen
    Thanks for the tip - listened through on iTunes - both albums were super - cheers! I'm only a year behind with this lot now, that's quite good really...

You wont hear it in Tamson matey, its all thrash metal in that bloody place. is crap.
    Its not a place I frequent unless its a Cup Final w-end!

PSN ID: calhill19
    Sleeping With Sirens - Feel.

Not quite as heavy as I was expecting but its an outstanding album.

Attila's new album About That Life is out this month aswell.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyCal View Post
    Sleeping With Sirens - Feel.

Not quite as heavy as I was expecting but its an outstanding album.

Attila's new album About That Life is out this month aswell.
    I don't know what it is but I just can't get into them - his vocals really bother me for some reason.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

The new Frank Turner album is good and the new Propagandhi album.

Generally just blasting The Loved Ones and The Mighty Mighty Bosstones atm, not new but fits the weather I feel!

Not a new album (released in 2010) but I recently bought A Promise to Burn by Framing Hanley and it's been on a lot the past few weeks.

Looking forward to their new album, due for release later this year.

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    I don't know what it is but I just can't get into them - his vocals really bother me for some reason.
    His voice is the main reason i like them so much haha they have Fronz from Attila on the new album too. He is incredible.

Quote Originally Posted by AldoHFC View Post
    Miles Kane's new album that was released yesterday is a cracker! New Beady Eye that is being released next Monday is being streamed on iTunes is also brilliant!
    Agreed, loving the Miles Kane album. Not often I listen to an album these days and instantly like the tunes. Very good indeedy! Hoping to see him at TITP this year!

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by AldoHFC View Post
    Miles Kane is quality.

I love the first Beady Eye album, this new one though isn't very good at all, I've tried to perevere with it but really struggling.

Editors new offering is awesome IMHO
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Ach, I must be getting auld, but the new Sabbath album 13 does it for me, quality fae start tae finish. Also heard snippets of the new Alice in chains album, The devil put dinosaurs here, and it's is no bad.

I'm not too keen on the new stuff you hear these days on the transistor radio, and to be fair dont listen to much music these day.

I saw an advert the other day for a re release of an album i had many years ago, and played it until it wore out.

Wings live show, wings over america is out again, i downloaded it and its just as good as i remember it. If you liked the band and the album, i'd recommend you get it.
    I cant believe it, but the concert from this is on BBC 4 now.

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    Been out for a little bit but really been digging the best of Art Brut entitled 'Top of the Pops'. A lot of fun and a hugely under appreciated band.

"I've seen her naked...twice!"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hCTPFpfmUU

Quote Originally Posted by Baldy Foghorn View Post
    Editors new offering is awesome IMHO
    Loving their new tune. Very like Echo & the Bunnymen!!

Savages album is brilliant.

And the Stooges. How can you not love a song like Double D's. Iggy writes a whole song about how much he likes ladies with a certain amount of busty substances. Pure rock n roll poetry. Fantastic guitar playing by a guy in his sixties too.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Northernhibee View Post
    Been out for a little bit but really been digging the best of Art Brut entitled 'Top of the Pops'. A lot of fun and a hugely under appreciated band.

"I've seen her naked...twice!"

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5hCTPFpfmUU
    The French, they're far more laid back about their art galleries.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Not an album but anyway....I'm loving this song right now. Will definitely be checking then out at TITP this weekend.

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=XlLVCPi...%3DXlLVCPit_gk

Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    The French, they're far more laid back about their art galleries.
    I can wear a leotard if that's your thing!

I cant believe it, but the concert from this is on BBC 4 now.
    Can't get Beeb 4 here, but thanks to YouTube I managed to watch a ca. 2 hour "WoA" show from Seattle in 76, mainly at your suggestion that this was a great record. I remember buying the original 3-disk vinyl record all those years ago, but I haven't listened to any of it in years. The live recording was surpisingly very enjoyable: some cracking songs in there, they were a good band (not as good as his previous one mind ) nice to see he gave everyone a song to sing too (except the LL). What impressed me most was his voice, unfortunately when you see PM now you realise that it's been long since gone... ...and, haven't light shows come on a long way since then!

Quote Originally Posted by PeeJay View Post

Can't get Beeb 4 here, but thanks to YouTube I managed to watch a ca. 2 hour "WoA" show from Seattle in 76, mainly at your suggestion that this was a great record. I remember buying the original 3-disk vinyl record all those years ago, but I haven't listened to any of it in years. The live recording was surpisingly very enjoyable: some cracking songs in there, they were a good band (not as good as his previous one mind ) nice to see he gave everyone a song to sing too (except the LL). What impressed me most was his voice, unfortunately when you see PM now you realise that it's been long since gone... ...and, haven't light shows come on a long way since then!
    Yip he was certainly on top form that night, his voice was superb. I was never a huge beatles fan, and was aware they had some very good tunes, i just grew up more in the wings era and thought they were very good.

I did see PM on stage at the closing of the olympics, and yip his voice has got up and left. Saying that he must be nearly 70 now, so understandable i suppose.

Attila - About That Life
    Falling In Reverse - Fashionably Late

Both have been stuck on repeat.

If anyone likes female Scottish singer-songwriters then I can strongly recommend Traces by Karine Polwart, was one of the short list for Scottish Album of the year 2012. Also recommended is Shipwrecks & Static by Inge Thomson; Inge plays in Karine Polwart's band.

Quote Originally Posted by grunt View Post
    If anyone likes female Scottish singer-songwriters then I can strongly recommend Traces by Karine Polwart, was one of the short list for Scottish Album of the year 2012. Also recommended is Shipwrecks & Static by Inge Thomson; Inge plays in Karine Polwart's band.
    Karine Polwart is fantastic, I remember adding her on MySpace back in the day. Had a wee list of all the bands I've seen live on the page and she immediately messaged back a comment about how Midge Ure was on the list and how she used to draw portraits of Midge when she was a lass. Always happy to recommend new bands to listen to, fantastic performer and a lovely person.

Holy Esque are doing it for me just now, from Glasgow. Love the singers voice.

@hibs.net private member WellingtonHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Haymaker View Post
    Not "new" but Great Expectations by The Gaslight Anthem is always on my stereo at the moment. Absolutely love it.

From "the59 sound" album? Heard the Horrible Crowes? His side project. Very good
    Kicking it in Wellington .

Discovered an other oldie which has been on repeat for a bit of late:

Still Searching - Senses Fail

Probably my favourite concept album of all time!

Really looking forward to the new Kings of Leon album in September!

Well, I've only heard of the Beatles and the Stereophonics so far

I'm hoping my age will mean muted laughing when I reveal that my favourite CD's at the moment are Some Nights by Fun and All The Little Lights by Passenger.

I'm not really into any one kind of music or particular artists. I listen and if I like, I like
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by stranraerhibby View Post
    Cheers for that mate I think I'll grab the album!
    Did you ever get around to grabbing a hold of Sempiternal A?

Had it on in the office this morning, much to the displeasure of the PhD students and MSc students.

Best album I've heard in a very long time!