@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar

How bad is Sparky's injury? (merged)

missed the game today, anyone know how bad his injury is? hope it's nothing serious

Testimonial Due Capt Mainwaring's Avatar
    Seemed to get a bad ankle knock from a challenge. Limping badly as he came back onto the pitch to take applause at the end.

Hard to say how bad but if he was able to limp back on after the full time whistle I'm hoping that's weeks rest and treatment will see him back next Saturday.

Quote Originally Posted by Capt Mainwaring View Post
    Seemed to get a bad ankle knock from a challenge. Limping badly as he came back onto the pitch to take applause at the end.

Hard to say how bad but if he was able to limp back on after the full time whistle I'm hoping that's weeks rest and treatment will see him back next Saturday.
    I looked over when he originally went down, and thought it was a stretcher case. he was writhing aboot and punching the ground IIR. the trainer /physio actually started running on before a ref's signal and when he got there he immedietly signalled "change over" to the bench, so I dont think he will shake off this ankle knock in a week.
    Last edited by monktonharp; 15-09-2012 at 06:23 PM. Reason: spelling

Fenlon said on the radio that he injured his ankle at training on Friday. He seemed to go over on it. Hopefully be fine for Saturday

He couldnt put any weight on it without wincing. Id be very surprised if hes back next week.

I thought he looked not too bad as he walked on at the end. Can't be too bad an injury or he'd have been told to keep off it/ ice etc

@hibs.net private member CraigHibee's Avatar
    cheers guys, hopefully nothing too bad

Testimonial Due Capt Mainwaring's Avatar
    He's just tweeted that the ankle is sore but should be ok.

Was sitting at the front of the FF as he walked along behind the goals giving all the bairns the "High 5" asked him if his injury was bad and he said -" just a knock, be ok for next week, coming off as a precaution". Walked rest of way along FF end with a smile on his face laughing at all the kids with their hands out towards him.

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by eric.hibsfan View Post
    Was sitting at the front of the FF as he walked along behind the goals giving all the bairns the "High 5" asked him if his injury was bad and he said -" just a knock, be ok for next week, coming off as a precaution". Walked rest of way along FF end with a smile on his face laughing at all the kids with their hands out towards him.
    He made a lot of wee boys very happy. Well done, Leigh.

First Team Breakthrough Duffys13's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by RoYO! View Post
    I thought he looked not too bad as he walked on at the end. Can't be too bad an injury or he'd have been told to keep off it/ ice etc
    From the East it appeared he got ice strapped to it, when he got sat in the dugout. Hope he's ok, the boy is class.

Surely can't be that bad as he walked right around the pitch from the East with no assistance.

How bad is Sparky's injury?

Will he be ok for Saturday?

Said he should be ok on twitter. Here's hoping!

Hope he's ok. He had ice straight on it when he went off then had his boots back on when he came on at the end to applaud the fans so think that's a good sign.

He tweeted a pic of his ankle a few days ago, it looked a sore one. Hope he's ok cos he's probably our most important player at the moment

Couldn't have been that bad as he did high fives with most of the FF lower on his way off on Saturday. He was milking the hero status if you ask me.

Gamertag: SWYD1875
    Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Couldn't have been that bad as he did high fives with most of the FF lower on his way off on Saturday. He was milking the hero status if you ask me.
    Or since it was Hibs Kids day he was making the wee Hibbies happy

Or he was giving the bairns exactly what they wanted.

Hibs player positively engages with fans.

Outrageous, shocking.
    Space to let

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar
    What would you be calling him if he ignored the kids?

You are either a Dick or a Jambo.

He should have completely ignored them IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by Jack View Post
    Hibs player positively engages with fans.

Outrageous, shocking.

I'm sick of all this positive feeling and being 2nd in the league. I want to get back to booing and abusing the players and having Sparky give us the eh Sparky.

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Erm, is it just me that thought the 'milking it' post was tongue-in-cheek?

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by nonshinyfinish View Post
    Erm, is it just me that thought the 'milking it' post was tongue-in-cheek?
    Hope so!

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hiberlin View Post
    Hope so!
    I thought it was fairly obvious that it was a joke, but the rapid appearance of an angry mob seems to suggest otherwise.

On the video of Mowbray's season that is on youtube (I'm on my way?), there is a shot of Leigh in the FF going crazy after a goal, leaning over the front wall bit. Maybe he knows how much the kids love going to the football he just took the effort to step to the side and give them high-fives, making their day even better?

@hibs.net private member Sudds_1's Avatar
    and why not.......the kids loved it. I even had a few smiles at it.
    The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits

The trouble with referees is that they know the rules, but they do not know the game

Gamertag: stevenl049 PSN ID: stevenl049
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs7 View Post
    You are either a Dick or a Jambo.
    Is there much of a difference?