@hibs.net private member HibeeMassive's Avatar

Best players in past 30 or so years?

In work today, been discussing the hall of fame event coming up and it got us chatting about Sauzee.

Myself and a fellow Hibby were discussing how Sauzee was the best player ever to have pulled on a green jersey in our lifetime and better than anything they've ever had across the town. Not just a great player, but a true professional and a gent also.

The token jambo has suggested that Craig Levein was probably the best player he has seen in a maroon jersey.

We obviously know the concenus on here will be that (rightly!) Sauzee was better than anything they've had, and always will be.. but, are there any other serious contenders in the past 30 years on either team who would be better, or even come close?

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    If Turnbull's Tornadoes qualify under the label of "30 years or so" then I'd nominate the entire team for inclusion.

In the last 30 years, perfect for me, Collins and Goram reach those lofty heights!

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    If Turnbull's Tornadoes qualify under the label of "30 years or so" then I'd nominate the entire team for inclusion.
    That would need to be 40 or so years. Collins would be my choice followed by Goram.

Left by mutual consent! Skanko79's Avatar
    so many, Sauzee, Latapy, Goram, Collins.............

How could they qualify, would open it up a tad though!

@hibs.net private member HibeeMassive's Avatar
    Yeah mate, you can nominate whoever you like .. I havent seen much footage from back then but I'm just genuinely interested if there are any comparisons to what us early-30's would class as 'the best' (from either team).

There are a number of obvious contenders in a Hibs jersey from the 50's, 60s & 70's when we were a force to be reckoned with. My early memories are of Alan Sneddon and Tortolano, so I haven't got much to fall back on

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    That would need to be 40 or so years. Collins would be my choice followed by Goram.
    Obviously a good selection! lol

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    In the last 30 years, perfect for me, Collins and Goram reach those lofty heights!
    I'll need to learn to type a bit faster

How could they qualify, would open it up a tad though!
    "or so" - a matter of interpretation I suppose.

I would throw McGinlay in too, vastly underrated by most @ ER.

Oh aye, and Riordan too! Maybe even K Dalglish ;-)
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 07-09-2012 at 02:29 PM.

Alan Rough - a real class act between the sticks (signed 1982 - 30 years exactly this time )

Jim Leighton too! Mr Williams thats three good names for you to live up to so far!

I would throw McGinlay in too, vastly underrated by most @ ER.

Oh aye, and Riordan too! Maybe even K Dalglish ;-)
    Mc Ginlay for me too always thought he never got the recognition he deserved. Possibly Darren Jackson!!!

Latapy is to Sauzee what Ronaldo is to Messi, you've got to feel a wee bit sorry for him!

Id say only four. Sauzee Latapy Collins and Goram. McGinlay, Riordan, Leighton, Scott Brown and a few others are a category below IMO.

Quote Originally Posted by IFONLY View Post
    Mc Ginlay for me too always thought he never got the recognition he deserved. Possibly Darren Jackson!!!
    This is a bit off topic, but, anyone that can finish top league scorer in a season for Celtic from midfield must be doing something right, doubt it had happened before, doubt it'll happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Id say only four. Sauzee Latapy Collins and Goram. McGinlay, Riordan, Leighton, Scott Brown and a few others are a category below IMO.
    I'd agree with that.

Makes you wonder how many categories below players like Alan O'Brien would be!

@hibs.net private member Northernhibee's Avatar
    If Sparky gets his head down, doesn't follow in the way of Garry or Deeks and sticks with the club for a few more seasons we could well be reminiscing about him tearing up the pitch at ER in a few decades time. Needs to play regular first team football in front of a crowd who adores him right now I think, and we're the club for that.

Apart from that, Latapy, Collins, Sauzee, Goram, Leighton.

Collins for me, scored one of my favourite goals ever at Hamilton. I can still see him to this day on that mazy run, before rocketing ball into top corner.....

Liked McGinlay, Rae, Weir and Wright, but Collins still stands out for me.....

Goram was the best keeper I have seen at Easter Road, but now he is a fat bigotted hun, so gets no vote from me......
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Michael O'Neill was a class act & I have to admit that my bete noire, Mogadon Miller, had a spell when we had some wonderful entertainment provided by likes of MON, Crunchie, Keith, Kevin Harper, Darren J & Pat M. They would all make my list along with Roughie & Leighton.

Archibald wasn't around too long but was different class at the time.

Quote Originally Posted by Geo_1875 View Post
    Archibald wasn't around too long but was different class at the time.
    He was, always remember him scoring twice when Roughie was in goals for the tic....And the tynie goal will always be heralded, his arms aloft whilst we went mental behind the goals.......
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

Jim Leighton too! Mr Williams thats three good names for you to live up to so far!
    Budgie anyone ? I always loved wee Micky Weir when I was a kid, But Sauzee for me.

Add Durie to my previous 2.

@hibs.net private member Stevie Reid's Avatar
    Michael O'Neill would be my honourable mention in addition to the usual suspects.

@hibs.net private member hibees 7062's Avatar
    Sauzee Latapy Collins and Goram

Quote Originally Posted by Killiehibbie View Post
    Add Durie to my previous 2.
    See, if you include the likes of Durie, who was only here for a season and a bit, you have to include Benji as well, who scored more goals in his one breakout season than Durie and was pivotal in our cup win. (fwiw i remember being at duries home debut when he signed from east fife and there was a big buzz about him on the terraces). Personally neither of them would be anywhere near my first Hibs XI of the last 30 years...
    Last edited by hibsbollah; 07-09-2012 at 03:18 PM.

A .net thread full of Hibee love, doesnae happen too often, well done the OP!

@hibs.net private member Mon Dieu4's Avatar
    Sauzee, latapy, wright, goram, leighton and Riordan that is all

Going by what they actually did for Hibs on the pitch then Deek is more deserving than any of them as he will have won us more games, although Goram and Leightons saves probably saved us a few

Sauzee is my all time hero, but Latapy is the best player I've seen play for us