Left by mutual consent! TornadoHibby's Avatar

VIRUS THREATS LURKING ON HIBS dot NET??

I just got a message from Norton Anti-Virus advising that "An intrusion attempt by aubergedelachaite.com was blocked. The IP address of the attacking computer is 213.186.33.87,80".

Perhaps this is something that needs looking into by the Admins?

Has anyone else had a similar experience. Norton seems to have protected me this time!

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by TornadoHibby View Post
    I just got a message from Norton Anti-Virus advising that "An intrusion attempt by aubergedelachaite.com was blocked. The IP address of the attacking computer is 213.186.33.87,80".

Has anyone else had a similar experience. Norton seems to have protected me this time!

Have been having bother since yesterday, chatbox was going all Mandarin on me last night, now i am getting google blocking me from posting at times.

Wher is Jonty when you need him.

@hibs.net private member Big90inOz's Avatar
    I would say your biggest problem is having Norton on the computer.............

We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence,therefore, is not an act but a habit.

@hibs.net private member silverhibee's Avatar
    Google still blocking now and again.

Once again Admins is .net safe from virus's.?

Quote Originally Posted by Big90inOz View Post
    I would say your biggest problem is having Norton on the computer.............
    Aye? Why's that then?

I've never experienced any problems with the site since the whole virus fiasco.

I'm sure downloading some Norton or McAfee software will correct that.

Aye? Why's that then?
    Its garbage.

Get AVG 2012.

It has been checked and was given a clean bill of health.

Will look again though....

The site comes up as clean every time we check it. If Norton told me it was dark outside at night I'd open the curtains and check

@hibs.net private member Big90inOz's Avatar
    Norton, possibly the worse "anti-virus" out there

AVG rocks

By the way my computer is on 24hrs a day and there is always a .NET page open...... no virus warnings for me

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    Its garbage.

Get AVG 2012.
    We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence,therefore, is not an act but a habit.

I have AVG on my pc and it just blocked me while looking at the thread "Paddy dont sign this guy" it was stating it was a dangerous site and had potential to access my personal details ??

I get warnings all the time on here, have done for months. Only ever use my laptop for on here, the bounce, official site, nfl sites and ebay. I got a Trojan virus and it totally ducked it. Had to take it in to get repaired and everything. Not saying I got it on here (don't even know how they work) but if I get another one I'll be well pd off after being told it was safe on here now.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Norton are the biz as far as I'm concerned. They have identified potential problems while viewing Hibs Net in the past and on each occasion they have successfully blocked any attack.

AVG are the cheapskate option - you get what you don't pay for.

I think you'll find 'Windows' is the cheapskate option. None of these viruses have EVER affacted my Linux laptop

@hibs.net private member AndyB_70's Avatar
    Mountcastle (don't tell anyone I've left Leith)
    That's because no one can be bothered writing a virus for the few when they can write one that will hit the many. It's not because any Unix based OS is better.

Aye? Why's that then?
    Cos they are crap and so is AVG as they block simply anything that comes on your screen that they don't like the look of, you have to filter it to get rid of it, a pain in the erse, I use Avira with no problems at all.

Quote Originally Posted by HIBERNIAN-0762 View Post
    Cos they are crap and so is AVG as they block simply anything that comes on your screen that they don't like the look of, you have to filter it to get rid of it, a pain in the erse, I use Avira with no problems at all.
    Yep. Norton will flag up really low risk stuff and anything it doesn't recognise. Wouldn't touch it with a bargepole!!

First Team Regular StevesFamau5's Avatar

PSN ID: ImFamau5nStuff
    Avast on both laptop and phone. Never had an issue with either. Malwarebytes is also useful when dealing with minor issues on websites.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Kaspersky works for me. It`s the best one i`ve used ( and i`ve tried a few ! ).

Quote Originally Posted by AndyB_70 View Post
    That's because no one can be bothered writing a virus for the few when they can write one that will hit the many. It's not because any Unix based OS is better.
    I agree with the first part but not the second.

Unix based OSes are inherently safer, though I can't be bothered explaining all the reasons why. Each action is permission and group based and helps restrict the access a virus can have on a system. Up until recently, Windows Oses were open all areas and non Admin protected by default.

Oops, you got me going on my favourite topic there, sorry

@hibs.net private member snooky's Avatar
    I picked up a troj last night while on HNet.
    I'm using McAfee.

Quote Originally Posted by keekaboo View Post
    I think you'll find 'Windows' is the cheapskate option. None of these viruses have EVER affacted my Linux laptop
    It's not that Linux has good security, people just don't care enough about it to attack it.

my antivirus eset saidI picked up a trojen last night but i was on here plus the suns website but i assumed i got it off the suns website. Anyone manage to fix their virus?

Ach well I used Norton 360 and it seems to dae the job for me, so all you antivirus snobs can GTF!

Quote Originally Posted by Steve-O View Post
    Ach well I used Norton 360 and it seems to dae the job for me, so all you antivirus snobs can GTF!
    Me too and I'd rather it alerted me to and protected me from minor things if that was the price to pay for being alerted to and protected from somthing sinister on the pc or laptop!

I think the views from "IT specialists" on antivirus software products are generally as dependable as the views of estate agents on property values in that if you were to ask 10 of them independently from each other, they would be unlikely to be agreed on the best product (or value)!

Quote Originally Posted by wee_hibee View Post
    It's not that Linux has good security, people just don't care enough about it to attack it.
    Please first read my comment, #20, then go wash your mouth out with soap!

Everyone will have different experiences with AV and there is no 100% or fit-all answer. Anyone who says there is is talking *****. I swear by Trend Micro's business AV myself and have done for many many years. Consistantly around the top of the testing charts although these are constantly changing. But...

Any AV program that is so poorly written that its uninstall routine simply doesn't uninstall the program is a bad thing. If it leaves so much of itself there after the failed uninstall that it prevents other AV software installing or running, that's a very bad thing. If all-in-all its so ****** that it requires its own vendor to write and make available a specific tool to actually uninstall it, that's a stunningly bad thing. Google 'Norton Removal Tool'...

I'd rather have a virus on my machine than have Norton on it; probably easier to clean

my Work laptop picked up a nast trojan/spyware on Wednesday after being on .net. Everytime I visited a secure site it claimed my account was blocked following suspicious activity and asked for "details" to unlock it.

The LLoyds website one was best with it's box for "ATM Pin"

Needless to say my IT department had to wipe my hard drive and rebuild my laptop