Thread: Chris maguire

Chris maguire

Been transfer listed by derby. Could possibly pick him up at 100k? Thoughts.
    Last edited by Part/Time Supporter; 24-05-2012 at 09:33 PM.

Gamertag: WormyEel
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibeesmad View Post
    Been transfer listed by derby. Could possibly pick him up at 100k? Thoughts.

yes please!

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Dunno, he's got ability aye, but £100k on him would no doubt mean £100k less to spend on other players. I'd rather we made getting experienced pros a priority, ahead of a luxury such as Chris Maguire.

Gamertag: toomanydjs
    He would be a decent signing, although did he not turn us down in January?

Gamertag: WormyEel
    Quote Originally Posted by too_many_djs View Post
    He would be a decent signing, although did he not turn us down in January?
    think he had the option of coming up on loan but decided to go to Pompey

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Dunno, he's got ability aye, but £100k on him would no doubt mean £100k less to spend on other players. I'd rather we made getting experienced pros a priority, ahead of a luxury such as Chris Maguire.
    I'd love to know how someone who can beat a man and cross a ball - something practically no-one in our squad can do - is a "luxury". I'd snap him up, though I agree that other positions are a priority, namely the CENTRE OF MIDFIELD!!!!

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    I'd love to know how someone who can beat a man and cross a ball - something practically no-one in our squad can do - is a "luxury". I'd snap him up, though I agree that other positions are a priority, namely the CENTRE OF MIDFIELD!!!!
    What I remember of the Aberdeen Chris Maguire was someone who was capable of plenty but often delivered nowt!

Quote Originally Posted by lyonhibs View Post
    Never mind centre mid ... Whole of mid ..... Naw come to think of it ... Whole new team !!!

Only if he's got some pace.

@hibs.net private member BurghHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    What I remember of the Aberdeen Chris Maguire was someone who was capable of plenty but often delivered nowt!
    A younger Darren Mackie methinks.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    I have a mate who's a Portsmouth ST holder and he has been banging on about McGuire on Facebook since he signed. Seems to thinks he's brilliant.
    Last edited by Frazerbob; 23-05-2012 at 11:21 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by BurghHibby View Post
    A younger Darren Mackie methinks.
    A better Darren Mackie. Think he did ok in his loan at Portsmouth so he will likely be picked up by a middle to lower Championship team.

Gamertag: TreadsoneScot
    Exactly what we need . Don't get hung up on pace . This guy can play football.

For 100K??? Dont think so!.

Quote Originally Posted by Treadstone View Post
    Exactly what we need . Don't get hung up on pace . This guy can play football.
    He is another prima donna. We are trying to rid the club of that culture.

Quote Originally Posted by AberGreen View Post
    I have a mate who's a Derby ST holder and he has been banging on about McGuire on Facebook since he signed. Seems to thinks he's brilliant.
    Why? he hasn't even been playing for them .

I'd rather spend the £100k someplace else i.e. for McPake.

@hibs.net private member Frazerbob's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post

Sorry, meant Portsmouth.

Heard the Pompey fan on the Football Ramble raving about him a few weeks back. Would love Hibs to go for him but I'd imagine he'll want to keep trying down south.

Left by mutual consent! SouthamptonHibs's Avatar
    I can confirm that the boy looked class when he played for Pompey last season. I seen him 4/5 times and he was bizzy off the ball, good on it and could score a goal or two. Would be a goid signing for Hibs. Problem is we need a decent midfield signed first as we could have messi and Ronaldo up from wi last seasons midfield and you'd be lucky if the get 10 goals each all season

Would he need time to gel?

His goal scoring record looks pretty poor.

He is better at shooting from centre than O'Connor.

No thanks, his attitude is terrible. I remember him making gestures at Aberdeen fans when they were unhappy with his performance (St. Johnstone at Pittodrie last season.)

Testimonial Due Billychaotic182's Avatar

Gamertag: Billy Chaotic PSN ID: BillyChaotic
    Quote Originally Posted by andrewmckay View Post
    No thanks, his attitude is terrible. I remember him making gestures at Aberdeen fans when they were unhappy with his performance (St. Johnstone at Pittodrie last season.)
    Yeah coz no one at hibs did that....... Oh wait......

@hibs.net private member Winston Ingram's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by DH1875 View Post

He has. He was on loan there for the remainder of the season. I saw him score a couple of belters for them

Quote Originally Posted by Leishy1995 View Post
    Depends on the context.

Id rather have Jerry Maguire..Scored a goal from the half way line once upon a time but done the sqaure root of ****all since.

Left by mutual consent! SouthamptonHibs's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Id rather have Jerry Maguire..Scored a goal from the half way line once upon a time but done the sqaure root of ****all since.
    Andy he scored a belter for Pompey at St Marys at the start off April. Just b4 ht. I was in the Pompey end the place went wild.

Quote Originally Posted by Leishy1995 View Post

@hibs.net private member woodythehibee's Avatar
    Hibs tried to get him on loan in January but Maguire knocked us back. Unrealistic target IMO

Quote Originally Posted by woodythehibee View Post
    Hibs tried to get him on loan in January but Maguire knocked us back. Unrealistic target IMO
    Unrealistic target?

He shouldn't be anywhere near a target for us. He's absolutely rubbish!

24 club goals since 2005....

I'm shocked that there is even a thread on him.

And as others have pointed out, rotten attitude as well.

Stay well clear hibs! We have to put rotten apples behind us and start looking for players that will actually benefit the club!!