Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    First Team Breakthrough Higgy115's Avatar

Thinking of those no longer with us, Saturday full time

If we do it, who will you be thinking of at full time amidst the bedlam wishing they could be there to see it.

My Grandad
    My mate Bill who died too young
    Eddie Turnbull
    Joe Baker
    Erich Shaedler

My grandma
    My uncle George both big hibs fans never to see us win the cup.
    My grandad (Hearts fan)

I was trying to get a hibs/hearts split 50/50 scarf so I could put it on there rose bush at warriston but cant find one.

All inspirational people who mean so much to me but will have a belonging of each at hampden.

R.I.P

@hibs.net private member hibsfan7's Avatar

Thumbs Up Those no longer with us ,saturday 4.45

My 2 brothers davie
    alistair

my niece dianne who worked for hibs in the late 80s
    her husband keith

gordon smith bobby johnstone
    eddie turnbull
    willie ormond

Perhaps if the fans resurrect some of the old chants during the final as a mark of respect?

My dad Ron Young
    Donna's mum Audrey Collins
    good friend Gordon "flash" Smith
    Good friend Gog's Gray

And so many more we will do our best for you all RIP

My dad ~ he introduced me to football and took me to may games well I took him if truth be told as he only went because of me and when I was old enough to go on my own or with pals he rarely came.

Paul Kenny ~ Pal from Haddington, we had so much fun winding the jambo's up, it was almost cruel at times.

Roger Bagshaw ~ Funniest guy I ever knew ~ we never went to a match together unfortunately

RIP my friends

My mun dad and grandad, all good hibbys.

My grandad.

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    Nice one. Surprised nobody mentioned Wee Mick.

gone but not forgoten

My dad who took me to many a game at easter road since i was about 6 years old ( I am now 57)
    my uncle robert (dads brother) you could hear him shouting in the north stand at all the home games
    my brother in law James/ jimmy/ pace who bet on hibs counless times against the jam tarts with his mates and rarely won a penny
    and my father in law Sandy a gem of a man a closet hearts fan but the rest of his family and wife Mary staunch hibby's would be tickled pink if we won on saturday
    god bless you all

My Dad, Joe who would have been almost 81 if he was still alive.
    Took me to see Hibs in the early 60's when I was only 4.
    Lifted me over the turnstiles in the old east terracing car park

I happen to be the only Hibs supporter in my family, but if we win the cup I think we will all be thinking of our loved lost ones. It's going to be a very emotional day that's for sure.

Definitely my Grandad, with out him I wouldn't be a hibby!

Gamertag: lewyhfc
    My Grandads brother!

Couldn't think of a bigger family of Hibees!

Promising Youngster
    IAN ( UNCLE HIBBY ) HIBBERD

HE WILL BE THERE ON SATURDAY

@hibs.net private member HONG KONG PHOOEY's Avatar
    My dad died 4 years ago today. He would have loved to see Hibs win the Scottish Cup, he never did. Hopefully this Saturday he will be looking down and celebrating with me and my fellow Hibby's

@hibs.net private member Allant1981's Avatar
    A friend of mines son died a few years ago at a young age but was a big hibs fan so hopefully he is smiling up there on sat afternoon

My Grandad, he was responsible for making me a Hibby. He died a few years back and like a lot of the Hibs fans of his generation always wanted to see Hibs lift the cup and, unfortunately, never got to see it. One of the last things I ever said to him was that no matter what, if Hibs won the cup in my lifetime, I'd be there. I have something of his and will be taking it to Hampden with me on Saturday.

First Team Regular Topographic Hibby's Avatar
    My Dad (d.2002)
    My Grandad (d.1981) who was born in 1902....nuff said!!
    Alan Gordon
    Bobby Smith
    Ned
    and countless other good men who wore the green strip and/or the green scarf

TH

This is not just any cup final

I would like to add my dad to the list who died on the 18th may 2011 who would of loved to have seen a hibs win.

This got me thinking the same as others on this thread about family and great hibs players of the past sadly no longer with us.

With this in mind I thought it would be a great gestureon the clubs part if when hopefully winning the cup that both Pat Stanton & Lawrie Reilly(if present at the game) join the team with Hibs tops on from their particular era.

This would show that winning the cup is not just about the hereand now it is about winning it and being part of the greatest footballing family that is HIBERNIAN FOOTBALL CLUB

Glory Glory

First Team Breakthrough cal-d hibs's Avatar
    My uncle Johnny Campbell(St Marys Street & Piershill, d.1991)
    The man made me a Hibby, tell me tales of Hibs over many decades. he started watching hibs in the 30's when they were rotton but got his rewards with The Famous Five.
    I know he'll be sitting with us on Saturday.

Though he wasn't a sports fan in the slightest, when we're belting out "Sunshine on Leith", I'll be greeting like a bairn for a 1000 reasons, most of all will be for my Dad, who would have been happy with a Hibs win because it made me happy, even more so against the Jambos.

@hibs.net private member StevieT's Avatar
    My dad, Jimmy Turnbull, without whom I would not have been blessed to follow the boys in green. Thanks dad. I will be at the game on Saturday with a photo of him in my pocket. Hopefully he will be able to see them lift the cup after all.

Although he passed away 16 years ago, reading this thread is difficult, especially on such an motional subject.

RIP dad.

Thinking of a few..

My grandfather. Paul Gray fi the Pans. Brenda F. Alex Cairns. Billy D. John Kay. Joe Galetta. Maude McFarlane. Kenny McLean Snr all gone but not forgotten.

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    Sad to see all those names, I have some great memories with certain people on there, gone but not forgotten......
    "There's class, there's first class and there's Hibs class" - Eddie Turnbull

My grandad...Eddie Clarke and my Uncle Danny Clarke. Both Hibbies and no longer with us.

Eric "El Reeko" Law 18.11.1957 - 3.10.2009

Alan Goodwin who died in March, would've been great for him to be here

Gamertag: Hibby7062
    My auld man... Died 1 year too soon to see this historical occasion !