@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar

Pre-Match Pubs in Glasgow (merged)

Does anyone know what pubs we will be heading to in Glasgow?

I am keen not to socialise with any ****s untill I see them in Hampden.

We are able to be in the centre or nearer the ground.

Has anyone booked out any pubs or hotels just for Hibs fans?

Any advise would be welcome.

Drouthy's on Queen Street, due to its proximity to the station it may well be rammed though.
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 11-05-2012 at 04:16 PM.

The Pot Still is a great wee whisky bar about 5 minutes from Central.

Will more than likely be mobbed though.

Gamertag: HibsMax
    I know from reading the travel forum that there are buses going through early and booked into clubs. Is entry into those clubs dependent on being on one of those buses? My mate is driving us through (what a saint!) and would rather figure out pre-match drinks sooner rather than later.

http://www.glasgowguide.co.uk/pubs.html

Head into any of these bound to be full of Hibbies apart from the pink establishments, hearts had them booked as soon as they beat celtic.

Gamertag: SWYD1875
    If the buses are going to be parked at the same place they were for the Semi then I imagine The International will be heaving again.

Alfredo's just round the corner from QS Station opens at 0800. As does The Iron Horse which is just opposite. Buy a breakfast roll then the session can begin!

@hibs.net private member hibsforeurope's Avatar
    Does anyone know of any pubs close to hampden still taking bookings for buses? Looking for space for around 30.

Does anyone who knows Glasgow well know of a couple of bars near to our end of the ground? Also driving through (well getting drove through) so looking for a pub near to the ground for a pre match bevvy!

Quote Originally Posted by HibsMax View Post
    I know from reading the travel forum that there are buses going through early and booked into clubs. Is entry into those clubs dependent on being on one of those buses? My mate is driving us through (what a saint!) and would rather figure out pre-match drinks sooner rather than later.
    Im assured hibbies will be able to get into Shettleston juniors club, and ONLY hibbies. Much fun to be had - outside marquee, Hibs DJ's, plenty bars, food....a day morning/afternoon of pure Hibeefun :)

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia Na Eir View Post
    Im assured hibbies will be able to get into Shettleston juniors club, and ONLY hibbies. Much fun to be had - outside marquee, Hibs DJ's, plenty bars, food....a day morning/afternoon of pure Hibeefun :)
    This sounds good. Do you have to book? Is it near the ground?

Pubs around Kings Park

Getting the train to Kings Park next week, anyone know of any decent boozers in the area......even better where Hibby's are headed?

@hibs.net private member Green Man's Avatar

Gamertag: TheMightyJag PSN ID: FiveOClockHero
    Beechwood and Montford are on the way from the station to the ground. We were in the Montford before the semi, it's a pretty decent boozer and a fair size.

Quote Originally Posted by Bristolhibby View Post

I dont think so. Shettleston is out to the east of Glasgow and would be about a hours walk.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Man View Post
    Beechwood and Montford are on the way from the station to the ground. We were in the Montford before the semi, it's a pretty decent boozer and a fair size.
    Sounds good.....noted...

Promising Youngster
    Beechwood is closer of the two to Kings Park, regular boozer for me at Scotland games. Was big queue's for the semi for opening, but suppose this was due to 12.15 kick off time .My brother phoned the pub last week to book six of us in and the duty manager seemed quite surprised as there would be plenty room but no food. I would still get there sooner rather than later though. The Montford is further round coming from Kings Park but another decent boozer nonetheless. GGTTH

Quote Originally Posted by S.sct View Post
    Getting the train to Kings Park next week.............
    Should I take you off the bus list then?

Was doing a similar bit of research and came accross this useful info....

http://www.netleyabbeytartanarmy.net...wpubs.htm#near

There doesn't seem to be a lot around the East end of the ground but as mentioned the Beechwood might be good - specially if the weather's good as there seems to be plenty of outdoor seating

Quote Originally Posted by HUTCHYHIBBY View Post
    Alfredo's just round the corner from QS Station opens at 0800. As does The Iron Horse which is just opposite. Buy a breakfast roll then the session can begin!
    May well end up there again, hope a few more of us this time- Horse full of sheep for the Semi.

Quote Originally Posted by Bristolhibby View Post

As far as i know, you don't have to book. Only Hibbies getting in (something like 500 officially booked in!) - from what ive read in the past, Hibs fans have been allowed to walk in here, even if not on an official supporters bus.
    Its 10 mins on the bus to the Aitkenhead Road (East Stand entrance).
    Gonna' be rockin' in here !:pfgwa

Quote Originally Posted by Nakedmanoncrack View Post
    May well end up there again, hope a few more of us this time- Horse full of sheep for the Semi.
    Alfredo's was pretty empty that day, so, nae hassle getting served.

Yes, we looked in and it was empty bar a couple of jakeys, Iron Horse was busy, doors shut eventually, but about 80% Aberdeen.

I was probably one of them then! :-)

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia Na Eir View Post
    You absolutely sure of your info on this? Reason I ask is because that's where rammed 10 Bounce buses are heading, and I thought they only had capacity for around 600... I dare say they would be happy to take it to capacity, but I wouldn't be convinced that busloads of folk will get in if not booked tbh...

I could well be wrong re numbers if you have different info from me?

I was probably one of them then! :-)
    To be fair jakey is probably an apt description for any of us who are looking to be in a pub at 8.00 in the morning.

The pandora on Victoria rd have room if you want a group booked in its best to phone Derek or DD (he's frence). The last I spoke to them they had room for another 100-150 I've got 300 booked in for a wee singsong with DJ billy. The pandora is a regular haunt for the tartan army and billy always puts on a good gig. It's only around a 20min walk to the ground

Quote Originally Posted by S.sct View Post
    Getting the train to Kings Park next week, anyone know of any decent boozers in the area......even better where Hibby's are headed?
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    Should I take you off the bus list then?

I've taken you off for now.

Quote Originally Posted by Nakedmanoncrack View Post

8am you say? Spot on, I say! There will be at least four Hibees there then! If the green shirts and flags don't give it away, the order of 'four pints with blue bols' will probably do it...

@hibs.net private member hibsforeurope's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post
    You absolutely sure of your info on this? Reason I ask is because that's where rammed 10 Bounce buses are heading, and I thought they only had capacity for around 600... I dare say they would be happy to take it to capacity, but I wouldn't be convinced that busloads of folk will get in if not booked tbh...

Our bus booked in there last night, didn't seem to be a problem but if 10 other buses there it may be best to book.

Quote Originally Posted by wee 162 View Post

I am going there and your info sounds more accurate.