Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 2012 Masters

2012 Masters

Can't believe its time for the first major of the Season. Coverage of all days on Sky (including 3D) with BBC covering Saturday and Sunday nights.

Unfortunately I can't see beyond Tiger but would love a European win. Saw an advert on TV about some bookie giving refunds on other players if Tiger wins. Anyone know who that is?

Prediction League Supremo - 05/06 MB62's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PatHead View Post
    Can't believe its time for the first major of the Season. Coverage of all days on Sky (including 3D) with BBC covering Saturday and Sunday nights.

Unfortunately I can't see beyond Tiger but would love a European win. Saw an advert on TV about some bookie giving refunds on other players if Tiger wins. Anyone know who that is?
    Tiger looks like he has found his form again just at the right time.

It's Paddy Power who are offering that bet.

Its between the following three players. Woods, McIlroy, Rose.
    Rose E/W would be the best value.(Particularly at Paddy Powers)

@hibs.net private member cocopops1875's Avatar
    I don't think woods will do much if I'm honest (all this woods is back chat, 1 swallow does not a girlfriend make and all that) I'm going for Donald and a few random high odds each way bets. Golf betting is always a shot in the dark i think as anyone from evens up to 200-1 could have a decent chance
    Doing the 2013 Edinburgh half Marathon for McMillan it would be awesome if anyone fancies sponsoring me, http://www.justgiving.com/colin-smith1875 ,go on make a fat man run

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    One of the knock on effects of Tiger's apparent return to form is the fact that there are some great prices available on the rest of the field:-

My picks are:-

Charl Schwartzel (45/1). Fantastic odds for the defending champion and for a guy who this season has already had 10 top ten finishes in his 14 starts.

Hunter Mahan (33/1) Another "in form " player who won last week's Houston Open and is now ranked number 4 in the world.

Jason Day (40/1) Last year's runner up. He's not been in the best of form this season but he's too good a player not to come good sometime.

Nick Watney (60/1) Winner of a recent World Championship event at Doral and with a very respectable Masters record to date. He must be a great each way bet.

Bring it on!!

As well as the Woods money back thing, Paddy Power pay 1/4 odds for first 6 places.

Bubba Watson.

PSN ID: Dave1875
    Adam Scott for me

Quote Originally Posted by Matty_Jack04 View Post
    Adam Scott for me
    Had him last year and was getting excited, then it all went wrong.

To make matters worse I also had McIlroy.

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    'Mon tae **** Sky! First live broadcast of the competition (Par 3 tournament) and it drops out due to a "fault", resulting in the replay of old film.

This NEVER happened on the BBC in all the time I watched it on there - first year and Sky eff up from the get-go.

Pish poor.
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    'Mon tae **** Sky! First live broadcast of the competition (Par 3 tournament) and it drops out due to a "fault", resulting in the replay of old film.

This NEVER happened on the BBC in all the time I watched it on there - first year and Sky eff up from the get-go.

Pish poor.
    Sky had it last year as well.

Agree tonight was/is a shambles though.

Sky had it last year as well.

Agree tonight was/is a shambles though.
    Ah, so they did! I forget, because I didn't actually get to see any of The Masters last year, as I was at a conference!

Seems it's the result of bad weather, which I guess we can't blame Sky for. What a disappointment though.

@hibs.net private member Godsahibby's Avatar
    I'm looking forward to watching the golf in 3D for the first time. I love this time of year with easter weekend and the Master being on, Jesus certainly picked a good weekend to make his comeback.

Back to the Masters, good to see Woods getting his form back with Donald Mcilroy and many others in the field all finding their game at the same time it is going to be a very open tournament.

Betting wise I'm fancing Baddley or Padraig e/w

edit, apologies I meant Keigan Bradley e/w
    Last edited by Godsahibby; 05-04-2012 at 10:53 AM.

My masters bets are

Schwartzel @40/1
    Watney@50/1
    Rose@25/1
    Snedeker @66/1
    Garcia@66/1

All for a couple of pound each way. Hoping they all make the cut and give me a hopefull weekend

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    I'll have

Rose @ 25/1
    Baddeley ew @ 150/1
    Quiros ew @ 150/1

Had him last year and was getting excited, then it all went wrong.

To make matters worse I also had McIlroy.
    So did I. 100/1 IIRC. I was getting all excited till that buck toothed South African went mental on the last four or five holes. Also had Luke Donald so I did ok but I thought Scott was gonna win me good.
    Its Rose and Stricker each way for me this year. Level and one under . Not out of it on day one which is good.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    So did I. 100/1 IIRC. I was getting all excited till that buck toothed South African went mental on the last four or five holes. Also had Luke Donald so I did ok but I thought Scott was gonna win me good.
    Its Rose and Stricker each way for me this year. Level and one under . Not out of it on day one which is good.
    Pair of Hackers doing their best today to leave me without a weekend interest this year.

Does Colin Montgomerie have a stutter when speaking? Seems okay on commentary but in the studio chat earlier he could hardly get a word out. Never noticed that with him before.

@hibs.net private member cocopops1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy74 View Post
    Does Colin Montgomerie have a stutter when speaking? Seems okay on commentary but in the studio chat earlier he could hardly get a word out. Never noticed that with him before.
    my old boy made the same point yesterday mate
    Doing the 2013 Edinburgh half Marathon for McMillan it would be awesome if anyone fancies sponsoring me, http://www.justgiving.com/colin-smith1875 ,go on make a fat man run

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    Quite sad seeing Woods playing like this.

That shot at 16 is the worst shot I've ever seen him play.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Quote Originally Posted by BroxburnHibee View Post
    Quite sad seeing Woods playing like this.

That shot at 16 is the worst shot I've ever seen him play.
    It was a shocker, even his 2nd shot and chip shot on 15 were awful efforts.

Quote Originally Posted by jodjam View Post
    It was a shocker, even his 2nd shot and chip shot on 15 were awful efforts.
    Agreed

That 16th though - a simple wedge or 9 iron with no wind and he never looked happy over the ball

Tiger of old could have played that with his eyes shut
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    My masters bets are

Schwartzel @40/1
    Watney@50/1
    Rose@25/1
    Snedeker @66/1
    Garcia@66/1

All for a couple of pound each way. Hoping they all make the cut and give me a hopefull weekend
    Well they have all made the cut

I'm capable of doing this regularly

I always said I'd quite like to play golf like Tiger one day.

I didn't think it would come so soon

Quote Originally Posted by H18sry View Post
    Well they have all made the cut
    My two donkeys also made it but only one has any chance but he needs a more than decent weekend. Ilike the look of Rory and I think its his this year.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    My two donkeys also made it but only one has any chance but he needs a more than decent weekend. Ilike the look of Rory and I think its his this year.
    I fancied Westwood or McIlroy before we got underway, but I'm nae a gambler, so there's nothing riding on it

Quote Originally Posted by The Story So Far... View Post
    I fancied Westwood or McIlroy before we got underway, but I'm nae a gambler, so there's nothing riding on it
    One donkey round today in level so well out of it. The other going along nicely at 3 under for the day and tournament.
    Could do with another two or three Birdies today to be in contention for a win. He is thru 11 safely so get past 12 unscathed and gimmie a couple of eagles on the way in please.

Freddy Couples has hit the "Tiger" button, with his second 6 of the day.

However, Tiger take note - the club didn't leave his hand or connect with his foot

My man gets it to 4 under after 14. The BBC goes Live and he goes bogey - double bogey and back to 1 under. **** off BBC!!!!