1. Log in to remove the advert

I remember getting one of the purple track suits for a birthday or Christmas when I was knee high. Loved it

Home shirt is smashing. Away shirt.....naw!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    Home shirt is smashing. Away shirt.....naw!
    The away shirt was the dog's danglies back in the day

@hibs.net private member London Hibs FC's Avatar
    The home version was my first ever Hibs Top, didn't have it off my back (day or night) for, at least, three years!!

it would be better with short sleeves

@hibs.net private member HibbyKeith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by HFC07 View Post
    it would be better with short sleeves
    ^ Proof that folk from Aberdeen are hard as nails when it comes to the weather...

My first thought when I looked at the link was.. "ohhh long sleeves... cosy"

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    I'm gonna get them for myself and my dad, well smart.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Gamertag: DuNdEeHiBeE
    I Remember getting the strip from my brother for my xmas that year was well smart

I used to love that purple top.

@hibs.net private member wazoo1875's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by London Hibs FC View Post
    The home version was my first ever Hibs Top, didn't have it off my back (day or night) for, at least, three years!!
    The home one was my first ever top anaw, my mum just handed me pictures of me in it the other day. I'm having those again, the away one is still awesome!!
    Never one to laugh at others misfortune but today could only have been improved by rangers getting horsed and God pissing down a meteor shower of fifty pound notes on Edinburgh

Copyright BadMartini Wed 27th Jan 2010

Original version was made or the jaggiest material ever rubbed your nipples to shreds!

i had the shiney yellow 3rd strip.
    who's the player in the picture ?

Promising Youngster Greendreamer's Avatar
    This was my first Hibs kit too. I recall this being purchased with the shorts and socks also. If my memory is correct i was after a no 7 to be stitched on and we visited at least 6 shops without success, ended up with a no 5 instead. Which again, if my memory is working George Stewart was the holder of that number at the time.

Being from outwith the capital growing up in Perth I was the only lad running around in the glorious green, I got used to some abuse which I still get now.

I have a collection of strips in the house from the 80's onwards.

The 'bukta' one was always a fav.

First Team Breakthrough N.Wales Hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by London Hibs FC View Post

Aye, You have me to thank for that top and for making you a good Hibby.

Quote Originally Posted by bod View Post
    i had the shiney yellow 3rd strip.
    who's the player in the picture ?

@hibs.net private member ano hibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Mikey View Post
    I remember getting one of the purple track suits for a birthday or Christmas when I was knee high. Loved it
    As did I. Loved it. I remember not long after i got it, before primary school one morning changing out of normal school clothes round the corner from house & putting on the full purple shiny tracksuit & going off to school proud as punch. The teacher must have wondered what the hell was going on but i'm sure i would have won 'world cup' in the playground that lunchtime.
    Happy days.

Going to get one of those strips also as also my first strip.
    "We've also been unsure about what has happened to the receipts of the players who have been sold."
    George Foulkes BBC website 20/3/08

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by gringojoe View Post
    Original version was made or the jaggiest material ever rubbed your nipples to shreds!
    As an owner of an original, I can second this.

The home top is the wrong green as usual.

@hibs.net private member Sudds_1's Avatar
    I'm probably in the minority..........but that shirt is one I have always thought was absolutely honkin!
    The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits

The trouble with referees is that they know the rules, but they do not know the game

I love the 1902 shirt. Stick white sleeves on that and bring it out next season!

Agreed

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia&Alba View Post
    I love the 1902 shirt. Stick white sleeves on that and bring it out next season!

The purple shirt was my first ever Hibs top, loved it then as I do now.

The mists of time have clouded my recall somewhat but am I right in thinking that this was the home strip for television?

Something about not allowing sponsored shirts on the box. Effectively we were the first to have 4 (including a yellow version) distinct strips in the one season.

Quote Originally Posted by Speedway View Post
    As an owner of an original, I can second this.

The home top is the wrong green as usual.

Anyone got a picture of the original, not under floodlights and soaked in sweat (which would obviously look darker)? Sure someone here had a pic of the home and away on coat-hangers. Would be nice to compare them to the new ones.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by green glory View Post
    Anyone got a picture of the original, not under floodlights and soaked in sweat (which would obviously look darker)? Sure someone here had a pic of the home and away on coat-hangers. Would be nice to compare them to the new ones.
    Original home https://picasaweb.google.com/1021009...16334741185714

Original away https://picasaweb.google.com/1021009...16475302326674

Superb top! Wish they would do the purple bukta tracksuit as well.

That home top was the 1st one I ever had. I may be in a minority here but I dinnae like purple strips, didnae like it then, dinnae like them now. I may buy that home top.

Don't know why but I always think of Rikki Fleming when I see this top.

A few crackers in here as well http://www.flickr.com/photos/aberdee...023925/detail/ (ignore URL..it is Hibs).

Correct ! LOL !

Left by mutual consent! Speedway's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    That's Blockbusters!