Thread: Today's Ref...

Today's Ref...

... was a standout today and never seemed fazed by being in spotlight. He didn't flinch from making bizarre decisions or booking a Hibs player when the opportunity arose, depite the distraction of numerous Dons fouls beforehand. And just when there was a danger that the 22 players might distract the attention of the paying public, the ref was there to bring the focus back to the main event.. him.

Just a pity there was a football game trying to go on around him, really.
    Last edited by EasterRoad4Ever; 11-02-2012 at 08:18 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by EasterRoad4Ever View Post
    ... was a standout today and never seemed fazed by being in spotlight. He didn't flinch from making bizarre decisions or booking a Hibs player when the opportunity arose, dispute the distraction of numerous Dons fouls beforehand. And just when there was a danger that the 22 players might distract the attention of the paying public, the ref was there to bring the focus back to the main event.. him.

Just a pity there was a football game trying to go on around him, really.
    100% correct that little prick was determined that neither team could get going.

anyone in the FF confirm that was as stonewall a penalty as you'll ever see for handball

@hibs.net private member AFKA5814_Hibs's Avatar
    Some bizarre decisions made by the officials today for both teams.

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    Agreed, a terrible referee who cost us the win IMO. The handball on the line (which kept the ball out) was a penalty and straight red card. Thomson who gave Aberdeen 3 points for Pawlett's dive at Pittodrie was fourth official. Thanks guys, you've cost us a win today and a draw in Aberdeen.

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by forthhibby View Post
    anyone in the FF confirm that was as stonewall a penalty as you'll ever see for handball
    Saw it in West Lower clear as day.

@hibs.net private member Carheenlea's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by forthhibby View Post

I`m in the West, but both benches were claiming for handball! Be interesting to see the footage.

ref was a complete erse

The brilliant tackle by Doherty which resulted in a free kick and yellow card was one of the most baffling decisions I`ve seen. Maybe I missed something, but as I said, found it absolutely extraordinary.

I'll usually come on and defend my fellow refs, so here's my take on it.

Erm

Nope, cant do it. Just a poor, poor performance. Matters of opinion I'll always defend a ref, but to get so many matters of fact clearly wrong - corners, throws, blatant hand balls etc and you have to think his positioning or concentration were off. I cant recalla game where so many wrong decisions were made for both teams.

Gamertag: Hibees62
    Some strange decisions from west stand side assistant and that clown of a ref. Books our player for the best tackle in the game! Couple of thrown in and corner decisions that were ridiculous. Demote both immediately to junior football please

Ref was a total fud.

How that linesman on the East Stand side missed that handball from Doyle is staggering.

He was literally about two yards away and it was one of the easiest decisions you'll ever see.

Unbelievable incompetence.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbiesandtheBaddies View Post
    ref was a complete erse
    Quote Originally Posted by M11BMO View Post
    Ref was a total fud.

@hibs.net private member andy1875's Avatar
    It must have been the refs birthday today eh? He really did make it all about him at every chance he got.

A wee prick of the highest order.
    Last edited by andy1875; 11-02-2012 at 06:24 PM.

@hibs.net private member Alfred E Newman's Avatar
    Its been said so many times but the quality of refereeing in Scotland is abysmal. That clown today only underlined that fact.

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    Quote Originally Posted by malcolm-bogie View Post
    Its been said so many times but the quality of refereeing in Scotland is abysmal. That clown today only underlined that fact.
    Bring back the Foreigners

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    Refereeing display of the season. If he had been using tarot cards or tossing a coin
    he would have given more correct decisions.

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    The old adage is that the ref has had a good game if you don't notice him.

I know the ref. He is an Aberdeen fan.

His display today was shocking.

But it was the 3 refs that were poor...not just man in the middle...as has been mentioned west Stand Ref got 3 off sides correct....and all other decisions wrong or waited for man in middle to direct...he was 6 yards from the tackle of the game (tackle of season actually) and did nothing when man in middle not only gave a free kick but then yellow carded Docherty.....same spot and a clear corner to Dons....he flags for bye kick...

The man in middle gave fouls for both teams when there was barely contact...I can't remember a really bad foul in the whole match...don't know how he would have managed if it was a physical game....

the officials should be locked in a room and made to watch themselves back on a loop for 24 hours

Still even with that i really enjoyed the game...

@hibs.net private member aljo7-0's Avatar
    Still can't believe the booking for one of the best tackles I've seen in a long time. Happened just in front of me in the West Lower and the assistant ref was right in front of us. I don't know - maybe from the ref's angle it looked a foul but from side on it was a perfectly timed tackle and never a foul let alone a booking. Can an assistant ref call the ref over and tell him he's got it wrong?

Left by mutual consent! PaulSmith's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by tamig View Post

Is he?

To be fair he was just as pish with decisions involving them.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    To be fair he was just as pish with decisions involving them.
    They could easily have had a couple of bookings in the first half though.

How he thought Doherty's excellent tackle was worth a booking I have no idea.

Quote Originally Posted by PaulSmith View Post
    Is he?
    He is that. Aye.

If he is, he's been a very passive one - he's an Edinburgh referee and he's been refereeing on Saturdays for about 20 years.

Quote Originally Posted by Carheenlea View Post
    The brilliant tackle by Doherty which resulted in a free kick and yellow card was one of the most baffling decisions I`ve seen. Maybe I missed something, but as I said, found it absolutely extraordinary.
    This was right in front of me and it was an absalutley brilliant challenge won the ball clearly, what makes it worse is the linesman was right in front of it. Mind he also gave us a by kick when it was a clear corner to the Dons, some bad decisions today. From the other end of the West Stand I seen that handball aswell, unreal cost us the game I feel. The assistant refs dopnt communicate enough with each other for me, its a joke.

Quote Originally Posted by TwoCarpets View Post
    If he is, he's been a very passive one - he's an Edinburgh referee and he's been refereeing on Saturdays for about 20 years.
    He's from up there originally though.

@hibs.net private member SouthMoroccoStu's Avatar

If this is true, this is shocking and I'm honestly wondering what the SPHell has against us?!

From this ref, the ref at the Aberdeen game away from home and the jambo incharge of the new years derby.

Not trying to sound like a Celtic fan here but its getting beyond a joke.

The refs association were away in Spain last week for.......god only knows what. It certainly wasnt to improve the standard of the middle men in this country.

Today's ref was a total joke. A great Hibs performance ruined by this imposter.