Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast
    Aye i am the same as those that think The Hurt Locker is class too, defo recommend everyone giving it a watch tonight!

I thought i would hate them with churches etc but i absolutely love The da Vinci code and Angels and Demons, definately worth a watch.

Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post

The town is a good film as well
    Forgot about that one - seen far too many films.

If anyone hasn't seen them and has a bit of time on their hands, the Rush Hour films and Friday (first one only) are classic Chris Tucker - I still laugh after watching them all on several occasions.

Forgot to include 'Requiem for a Dream' in my earlier list too.
    Last edited by Dinkydoo; 01-02-2012 at 06:13 PM.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Gatecrasher View Post
    It's a brilliant film

The town is a good film as well
    Really enjoyed it.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Jacob's Ladder

Black Hawk Down - Love that film.

@hibs.net private member Don Giovanni's Avatar
    War films:
    Saving Private Ryan
    The Thin Red Line
    Black Hawk Down

Foreign Films:
    City of God (the book is brilliant also)
    Delicatessen
    Pans Labyrinth

The Jack Nicholson Collection:
    The Shining
    One Flew Over the Cuckoos Nest
    As Good as it Gets
    The Departed (even just the opening scene where Jack walks into to the grocery store to the sound of the Stones is brilliant).

Musical movies:
    Ray
    Walk the Line
    The Blues Brothers
    (the muic is fantastic, obviously)

Westerns:
    Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid
    Bad Day at Blackrock
    True Grit (both versions are very good)

Random flicks:
    Clockwork Orange
    Train Spotting
    The Wind that Shakes the Barley
    Catch Me If You Can
    The Matrix

Multiples:
    Lord of the Rings
    Harry Potter

Romantic Epics:
    Doctor Zhivago

Puppet Films:
    Team America

Guilty Pleasures:
    The Warriors
    Last edited by Don Giovanni; 01-02-2012 at 09:23 PM.

Lord of the Rings are epic, i could basically go through all 3 films saying every characters words.

Quote Originally Posted by frazeHFC View Post
    Black Hawk Down - Love that film.

Just watched the decendants with George Clooney, i have no idea why thats up for so many awards? A waste of an hour and a half in my opinion.
    Just watched this too and thought it was pretty good. Deals with some familar, depressing themes, but walks a fine line between sad and funny and I thought that made for a fairly enjoyable watch - especially if it's cinema night and it's her choice.

In general terms, I would recommend Hot Fuzz (have to watch it a few times to get all the jokes), Heat, Seven, Dogma, Fight Club, The Usual Suspects, Van Wilder, Batman Begins and the first of Guy Ritchie's Sherlock Holmes films (it's brilliant).

Bigfoot and the Hendersons

Films that I'd recommend:

Bloodsport. JCVD at his finest and Bolo Yeungs pecs are a separate character.

Predator. Genius and the first real fusion of action and suspense.

The last dragon. Bruce Leroy...the black Bruce Lee faces up to the shogun of Harlem and his gang...and wins!

Trading places. Funny on every level...and especially in today's economic climate. Probably may favourite.

Animated ones I'd recommend would be Up and Despicable me.

Quote Originally Posted by peterdouglas View Post
    Films that I'd recommend:

Bloodsport. JCVD at his finest and Bolo Yeungs pecs are a separate character.

Predator. Genius and the first real fusion of action and suspense.

The last dragon. Bruce Leroy...the black Bruce Lee faces up to the shogun of Harlem and his gang...and wins!

Trading places. Funny on every level...and especially in today's economic climate. Probably may favourite.

Animated ones I'd recommend would be Up and Despicable me.
    I'm not sure about that.

PSN ID: hibee_easty
    Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    Just watched this too and thought it was pretty good. Deals with some familar, depressing themes, but walks a fine line between sad and funny and I thought that made for a fairly enjoyable watch - especially if it's cinema night and it's her choice.

In general terms, I would recommend Hot Fuzz (have to watch it a few times to get all the jokes), Heat, Seven, Dogma, Fight Club, The Usual Suspects, Van Wilder, Batman Begins and the first of Guy Ritchie's Sherlock Holmes films (it's brilliant).
    Van Wilder........really? I didn't think much of that at all.

Batman Begins is really good but I think The Dark Knight was better.

You can't go wrong with a bit of Die Hard With A Vengance or Terminator 2.

"Lock, stock & two smoking barrels" - briliant British movie directed by Guy Ritchie

"1900" by Bernardo Bertolluci - Robert DeNiro, Gerard Depardieu, Donalth Sutherland - well worth a watch..

"Red Violin" - terrific story - Francois Gerard....

Nueve Reinas (Nine Queens) - Good plot, incredible performances.
    The Stunt Man - underrated classic
    Adam & Paul - Dublin junkies; funny and moving

Quote Originally Posted by Peevemor View Post
    I'm not sure about that.
    Sorry, It should have stated that I, personally appreciated it in that sense.

@hibs.net private member hibeenicol's Avatar

Gamertag: ll nicol ll
    I saw the devil is a brilliant film if you can put up with subtitles.

http://youtu.be/tkwEFKdTckk

PSN ID: Euphoria1875
    I also enjoy Scrooged as a christmas movie.

Schindler's List
    The original Oceans Eleven (The Rat Pack )
    Friday (mentioned above)
    The Running Man (Classic Arnie)

Quote Originally Posted by easty View Post
    Van Wilder........really? I didn't think much of that at all.

Batman Begins is really good but I think The Dark Knight was better.

You can't go wrong with a bit of Die Hard With A Vengance or Terminator 2.
    I'm not usually a fan of US-made comedies, so maybe it's just because it's a bit different from the usual character/slapstick comedies that seem to be produced en-masse.

I liked The Dark Knight but felt it was maybe 30 mins too long. I preferred Batman Begins as I like prequels and I felt it did a good job of showing the creation of the character. Plus Bale and Neeson were very good together.

Die Hard With A Vengeance is a classic.

First Team Breakthrough bandylegs_jLeighton's Avatar

Gamertag: dmcattack
    Favourites from before my time:

Once Upon a Time in the West
    Lawrence of Arabia
    High Noon
    Its a Wonderul Life
    Godfather

Childhood favourites:

Ghostbusters
    Die Hard
    Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Last 20 years:

Bourne Trilogy
    Slumdog Millionaire
    Donnie Darko
    The Incredibles
    Rushmore
    Kill Bill
    Matrix

Guilty Pleasures:

Arnie movies (Commando, Total Recall etc.)

Quote Originally Posted by Future17 View Post
    I watched it at home I thought it was too far fetched, and couldn't understand why he was traipsing all over the place while his wife was about to die, even though she'd been cheating? You could also tell right at the start what he was going to do with the land.

I watched The Help last night, now that was a good film, thought provoking and a decent amount of humour too.

Quote Originally Posted by hibeenicol View Post
    I saw the devil is a brilliant film if you can put up with subtitles.

http://youtu.be/tkwEFKdTckk
    Great revenge film; although a bit too long iirc.

Most of the WWII epics are good, A bridge too far, Guns of Navarone etc, etc.

The Deer Hunter
    Appocalypse Now, in fact, most Vietnam war films ive watched ive enjoyed, not too sure why though!

Guilty pleasures

The Abyss
    The Firm (not the Tom Cruise one)
    The 39 Steps (Robert Powell version)
    Last edited by HUTCHYHIBBY; 02-02-2012 at 05:00 PM.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Top thread boys

Guity Pleasure - Notting Hill. Quite like a 'chick flick', usually a bit of totty on show and easy to watch.

I should be embarassed about having watched Titanic in excess of 50 times, but am no - Cannae wait for it at the Cinema in 3D!
    Last edited by .Sean.; 02-02-2012 at 06:31 PM.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

@hibs.net private member BroxburnHibee's Avatar

Gamertag: CoolHibeesdaft PSN ID: Hibeesdaft
    List could be endless.

Most of mine have been mentioned already

Fight club
    The dark knight
    Its a wonderful life
    DHWAV
    Field of dreams
    Amelie
    Bourne Trilogy

Favourite animated move - Finding Nemo

Favourite western has to be the classic - The Searchers

If I was only allowed to watch one film ever again though, it would have to be the awesome......

Shawshank Redemption - absolutely love it.
    Life should NOT be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in an attractive and well preserved body, but rather to skid in sideways, chocolate in one hand, vodka in the other, body thoroughly used up, totally worn out and screaming, "WOO HOO what a ride!"

Guilty pleasures eh:

Starship Troopers Trilogy
    Superbad
    Monty Python's Holy Grail
    Scream Trilogy (I've purged the fourth from my memory)
    A Nightmare in Elm Street 4
    Planet Terror
    Scary Movie (all)
    How High
    Urban Legend
    The Faculty
    Old School
    House on Haunted Hill
    Dragon Lord
    Mortal Kombat
    Last edited by Dinkydoo; 02-02-2012 at 09:17 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by SunnyLeith View Post
    Whats Lovefilm like? Noticed you can get unlimited films for about a fiver a month? Also there is another site called Netflix aswell which is an American company I think. Do you get up to date films?
    Yeah you can get unlimited streaming for a fiver a month, but unsure if they have more or less content than Netflix.

I'm on the 14.99 a month deal, you can get unlimited rentals and streaming, plus Xbox, Ps3, Wii, PSP, DS games etc, you get 3 discs at home at a time, no late fees etc, I watch a lot of films so find 14.99 a month to be a pretty good deal considering I'd probably spend more than that on DVD's/Games if I didn't rent them. You can drop down to 2 discs at home at a time for £11.22 a month.

I've heard of people saying the films go missing in the post etc, but I guess that will happen from time to time, they haven't missed a beat with me though, whenever I've sent a film back I've got a new one through the letterbox within 2 days. I usually send old ones back on Thursday and have new ones through on Saturday in time for the weekend.

Think I might have a couple of '2 months free' offer codes, if anyone fancies one just drop me a pm.
    Last edited by The_Exile; 03-02-2012 at 09:40 AM.

I watched it at home I thought it was too far fetched, and couldn't understand why he was traipsing all over the place while his wife was about to die, even though she'd been cheating? You could also tell right at the start what he was going to do with the land.

I watched The Help last night, now that was a good film, thought provoking and a decent amount of humour too.
    Yeah, it's a fair point, although I think because he could essentially choose when she died he was trying to "tie up loose ends" for want of a better cliche. I liked the slight lack of reality in the situation he was placed in, combined with having to deal with his daughters and his father-in-law giving him **** and talking about the faithful, devoted wife.

I didn't really understand the part about the land. If the Trust was having to dissolve in seven years anyway, it sounded like he was just going to waste the next seven years fighting a legal battle when he'd just had the lack of relationship with his daughters highlighted for him.

Not seen The Help, but might suggest it next time it's her choice....sounds a better option than War Horse.

Most of mine have been mentioned already, but a personal is Fargo by the Cohen brothers

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Quote Originally Posted by The_Exile View Post
    Joined Lovefilm a wee while ago so have been racking up the viewing hours, any recommendations from folks? Doesn't have to be recent films, but have got right into movies again so will watch pretty much anything, as long as it's not romantic ****** comedies.

For what it's worth, just watched a film called Melancholia, it took a few days for the whole thing to sink in as it was visually stunning, I'm still undecided if it's genius or cack though, over 2 hours long so the pace was slow, but didn't detract from the obvious quality of the film. Basically it's about a woman who's suffering depression and having just got married, a new planet appears from behind the sun and heads towards Earth, won't give away the ending, but the final shot in the film has stayed with me for a good few days!

Got a few coming in the post but need to build my order queue a wee bit, my preference is science fiction or a good action/thriller flick. Basically anything with a properly good story.
    The ending to Melancholia is given away within the first 10 minutes. I think Von Trier's reasoning was that the question of whether the world would end or not would have detracted from the story, and taken focus away from the characters. Personally, I would've liked not to have known.

I found it to be an extremely chilling ending - probably one of the scariest I've seen. Brilliant film though IMO.