Thread: Thank you dad

Thank you dad

Who was it that helped make you a hibby for life ???
    I want to thank my dad for having the brains to make
    Me a hibby when I was a boy.

His father was also a good hibs man too
    And I have to say I have now with great
    Pleasure added another 3 loyal hibbys of
    My own

I have lived through the 80s 90s when these yams
    Used to give it to us all the time , also an attempted
    Take over.

So Please leave a message to the man/ woman who put
    You on the path to happy hibbie after
    Last edited by Hibby cal; 15-12-2011 at 03:55 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby cal View Post

My own

I have lived through the 70s 80s 90s when these yams
    Take over.

Not in the 70s they didnt we horsed them for fun at that time.

Gamertag: TheBull1875
    Cal, every post you make I keep hoping will rhyme!!! Where is Rupert when we need him?

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Not in the 70s they didnt we horsed them for fun at that time.
    I may be wrong but I think their record against us in the 70's was 2 wins from 26 and we gave them a real good hiding during that time. Not sure when it was or what the actual score was.

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    I may be wrong but I think their record against us in the 70's was 2 wins from 26 and we gave them a real good hiding during that time. Not sure when it was or what the actual score was.
    Yep a 7 0 in the 70's.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibby cal View Post

My own

I have lived through the 80s 90s when these yams
    Take over.

Good edit. What happened to the 70's?

I have the next door neighbours to thank for me becoming a Hibby. They were all Yam tramps and I didn't want to be like them.

Quote Originally Posted by JimBHibees View Post
    Yep a 7 0 in the 70's.
    Are you sure? When? Is there footage anywhere?

My Dad

I can also say that my wee boy will grow up to follow the Hibees just like me.

Have to thank my Uncle Eddie for making me a hibbie ......my Dad was a

Thanks for nothing Dad you auld Jambo git!

Credit to the Grandad of a school friend who ran Lilywhites sports shop for bringing back a couple of Hibs tops that I then fell in love with.

And my old man wasn't that bad as he took me to Easter Road when it was clear that's what needed done.

I think my big sister took me to my first actual game. In the old terrace for the Tom Hart trophy. Hibs scored a late winner to win 1-0. She was only about 6 years older than me. Changed days! We'd probably be taken into care for that sort of thing now.

Quote Originally Posted by happyhibbie View Post
    Have to thank my Uncle Eddie for making me a hibbie ......my Dad was a

Snap! My Uncle Dave rescued my brother and I. Mind you, his son became a Jambo when he went to school

@hibs.net private member nonshinyfinish's Avatar
    Are you sure? When? Is there footage anywhere?
    Is this it maybe?

As for the OP, I too have my Dad to thank for passing Hibs down like a genetic disorder.

I'm furious my dad didn't take me along to the Nou Camp.

It's my dad's fault. I'm 50 years of age and i haven't seen my team win the Scottish Cup

My Grandad and my mum are mostly to thank(?)

My Dad played on a Saturday and then ran a team for a few years so has only become a regular attendee recently.

If I have any kids I'll be making sure they go through the same hell as o have, mainly because it makes you savour the good times all the more. Celtic and Rangers fans will never know a feeling like 1991 or 2007 or when we finally win the holy grail.
    Last edited by Pretty Boy; 15-12-2011 at 05:13 PM.

My Dad took me along when I was 6 or 7, although his Dad was not really a football fan and both his brothers are yams. My son who is one already has his first Hibs strip.

School mates. My family was/is full of the unwashed. Now I have converted lots of nieces and nephews to see the light. Bought all my nephews a half season ticket for Christmas as soon as they were 10. Then watched the kids get the bug and get a full season ticket one in summer. Only one wee get has switched back to the tramps

Good edit. What happened to the 70's?

I have the next door neighbours to thank for me becoming a Hibby. They were all Yam tramps and I didn't want to be like them.
    Slip of the finger on the iPad but well spotted

Whole family were/are Hibs die hards..There was never any doubt i would grow up to be a staunch hibs fan..I thank my family massively for that.

My nephew now 18 was a Jambo when i first clamped eyes on him aged 5...His whole family were Jambos but nae one took him to games ( My ex burds sisters laddie BTW) So i decided to take it upon myself to let him tag me along to Easter rd, He loved every minute of watching Hibs.. took him to the 6-2 game..And when the camera pans in on the old East as Oneil made it number 5 you see him and me going radge.

For 11 long years we were together side by side as season ticket holders..Now he has kinda lost interest in the last 2 or 3 seasons...I dont see him much anymore but i see him going past the window now and again and he knows where i stay so when he passes and he has his hibs top on and he sees me at the window he kisses the badge and raises his fist as if to say' Uncle Andy, Hibernian forever FT Hearts'.. Goose pimples go right up my neck!!..I made him a Hibee and his family have never forgiven me.

God bless the Hibs.

Old man for me too! My wee brother wanted to be a Yam, I suppose going to Craiglockhart & Tynecastle schools was quite difficult!
    He saw the error of his ways with some "family influence" and now his 3.5 year old laddie is following a familiar route!

Gamertag: sjmcg1304
    A combination of Aidan Smith and my University football coach in my 2nd year as an undergraduate.

I had gone right off football altogether at that point - was a Livingston fan since they moved to Almondvale in 1995 (didn't support anyone before that, despite my uncle's best efforts to get me to Ibrox)but had grown utterly disillusioned with the financial mismanagement and downright farce the club had become under the stewardship of Pearse Flynn and Angelo Massone. I had given up on going to any football until, for a large charity drive we had as part of our 2nd year squad honours, our coach (a Jambo) had just finished reading Heartfelt and encouraged us all to try this to raise funds for half a season. We had to pick a club we had grown up with no real feeling for and see if we could follow them and develop enthusiasm.

I really didn't want to bother at first, as I was really scunnered with football at this time, but in the team spirit, I chose Hibs and reluctantly went to a few games. This was during the Mowbray era when the football was a joy to behold at times and I very quickly got to enjoying watching the classy attacking side which developed during that era. With no lingering emotion to any other club at the time, I started following Hibs with some regularity and really enjoyed it, even going to away games in Glasgow, Aberdeen, Inverness, Tynecastle...The thing which really got me into it though, more than the football itself, was the welcome into the "family", whereby after 3 games of knowing absolutely nobody, I found a group at one game who chatted the whole way through and invited me to start joining them at future games, which made it that much more enjoyable.

Never really looked back and I've made some great friends and enjoyed some great memories along the way, even in a short period of time, with limited on the park success!
    Madness, as you know, is a lot like gravity. All it takes is a little push.

The previous post is what its all about no matter who you end up supporting. A very similar experience to the one i've had re West Ham over the last few years.

Quote Originally Posted by Albanian Hibs View Post
    My Dad

I can also say that my wee boy will grow up to follow the Hibees just like me.
    I feel a song coming on.

Oh my old man's a Hibby
    He used to sit me on his knee
    He took me to Tynecastle Park
    In January 73
    There were only 9 minutes gone
    When O'Rourke gave Hibs the lead
    The Hibs fans were estastic
    My pants I almost peed

The second came on fifteen minutes
    Alex Edwards got the ball
    He crossed it to Alan Gordon
    He stood at six foot tall
    He brought the ball down on his chest
    And slipped it in the net
    The Hibs were now two goals up
    Without even breaking sweat

We didn't have too long to wait
    Before we grabbed another goal
    Twenty six minutes were on the clock
    The Hibs were on a roll
    This time it was Arthur Duncan's turn
    To stick it in the net
    My dad had £10 on us to win
    He knew he had won his bet

The Hearts fans they were singing
    "We'll support you ever more"
    When Cropley scored for the Hibs
    It was twenty five to four
    The Hibs fans they went ballastic
    They couldn't believe their eyes
    The Hibees were now four goals up
    I almost dropped my pie!

We were still in celebration mode
    When we scored to make it five
    Arthur Duncan with a header in the box
    It was great to be alive
    The Hearts fans were astounded
    Their team couldn't match the green
    You could tell just from the look on their face
    This was the best fitba they had ever seen

Fifty six minutes were on the clock
    When Pat Stanton won the ball
    He ran it past the Hearts defence
    They were ****ed, they could hardly crawl
    He kept on going and going
    The Hibs fans thought he was brill
    He crossed it to wee Jimmy O'Rourke
    To make it six nil

Fifteen minutes of the game remained
    When Alan Gordon made it seven
    The Hearts fan they were in hell
    But the Hibs fans were in heaven
    Stanton, Cropley, Duncan and O'Rourke
    Some of the finest to wear the green
    Thank you Turnbull's Tornadoes
    The greatest team I've ever seen

Coats on

P.S. I made it up. My dad never took me to football and I was 16 in 1973
    Last edited by iwasthere1972; 15-12-2011 at 06:45 PM.

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    My Dad. Probably the only good thing he's done in his life.

@hibs.net private member stu in nottingham's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibbyradge View Post
    I'm furious my dad didn't take me along to the Nou Camp.
    We all are D

Yes, thanks dad and grandad (and reputedly it went back further). There was never going to be any other way fortunately.
    Last edited by stu in nottingham; 16-12-2011 at 10:15 AM.
    FAITH HOPE LOVE

My Blog:
    The Tears of a Clown

My Maws side of the family all Hibees plus all school mates (like any other good Leith school)

Dad wasn't interested in fitba at all so just went along masel in 1960 my first game at ER a friendly against Bolton which we won 2-0 still got the programme

Never looked back since....

@hibs.net private member ginger_rice's Avatar
    Unfortunately my old man didn't live long enough to see me become a hibby.

Although he wasn't a hibby as such, he was a football supporter (they had them back in the day) he was probably more of a Stirling Albion supporter, but loved to watch the famous Five so would try to get to Easter Road as often as he could.

I started by watching the Albion then at about 14 told my old dear I was going to Annfield and got the train through to ER, that was 40 years ago now.

Took my own son to see the Albion when he was 5 and he was bored rigid, took him to Easter Road a couple of months later, and he loved it, he's been a Hibby now for almost 20 years, so I suppose there must be something in the genes.
    "Football should always be played beautifully, you should play in an attacking way, it must be a spectacle". Johan Cruyff.

I'd like to blame.... erm i mean, thank my dad for making me a Hibby.

@hibs.net private member Bristolhibby's Avatar
    My Dad and his Dad before him.

Took it upon ourselves to take my cousin to games when he was wee (came from a rugby family with Jambo leanings).

No denying he is a Hibby now.

Got two wee boys myself now, and one day (when we are up) I will take them to Easter Road, with my Dad.

It will be a proud day.

Not much interest in football in my family, but fortunately I went to a primary school full of Hibbies in the mid-70s.