Thread: O'Connor

@hibs.net private member SneakersO'Toole's Avatar

O'Connor

Either was on the pints last night or he can't be bothered being here.

Either way he was atrocious. Glad he's only contracted till the end of the season.

Quote Originally Posted by SneakersO'Toole View Post

Either way he was atrocious. Glad he's only contracted till the end of the season.
    The joint top scorer outwith the old firm playing in one of the worst teams in the league?

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    What is annoying me about GOC just now is that with all the bad publicity that he gets, he could make an effort to get some positives by looking the real deal in football terms at least. On today's showing, he must spend his week days shovelling pies and and double fat milkshakes, and does his training on X-Box.

If anyone has been on the pints...

@hibs.net private member SneakersO'Toole's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by hibeedonald View Post
    If anyone has been on the pints...
    Name a positive contribution from Garry today (or in the last few weeks)?

Don't even get me started on why he is captain.

His excellent finish v Well in the abandoned match ..

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Aye ,cause without his 10 [11] goals we would really be flying

O'Connor was poor today.

O'Connor is suffering from a lack of service and therefore spends half the game with his back to goal in midfield. He needs to be playing off the last man with the ball played into the channels. If he gets that he will score goals, if not he will play like he did today.
    If we had someone like Zemmama playing and feeding balls between defenders O'Connor would get a bag full of goals end of.

Its clear he cant play upfront by himself. His control was very poor today but he is the only player in our team that can score goals.

@hibs.net private member BoltonHibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by lucky View Post
    Its clear he cant play upfront by himself. His control was very poor today but he is the only player in our team that can score goals.
    If we are going to persist in one up front, and continue to hump the ball up the park to the one, we'd be as well starting Sodje in that role. O'Connor needs someone else with him

He has been awful lately, but i think he can turn it around.

@hibs.net private member hibee_girl's Avatar

He is the last person at the club who should be captain!

Couldnae trap a bag o' cement today but I'd rather have him than not
    This is how it feels

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Couldnae trap a bag o' cement today but I'd rather have him than not
    I would rather we had someone else to be honest John. Most games he plays he is a waste of a jersey.
    I also reckon I am more mobile than him and my first touch better. I woud give the laddie Caldwell the nod first half next week. He looked lively enough for the little we saw him and his first touch can't be any worse. Either that or give Sodje a bash. One things for certain he needs a rest.
    In short Garry needs to ge the finger out pronto.

@hibs.net private member SRHibs's Avatar

Gamertag: Limit Break PSN ID: cyniUK
    Maybe him and Griffiths were out on the lash together, as they were both equally awful.

@hibs.net private member Seveno's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Max View Post
    O'Connor is suffering from a lack of service and therefore spends half the game with his back to goal in midfield. He needs to be playing off the last man with the ball played into the channels. If he gets that he will score goals, if not he will play like he did today.
    If we had someone like Zemmama playing and feeding balls between defenders O'Connor would get a bag full of goals end of.
    Why do people still hark after Zemmama ? He has spent most of his time at Middlesbrough either on the treatment table or fasting for Ramadan. Sound familiar ?

Quote Originally Posted by Seveno View Post
    Why do people still hark after Zemmama ? He has spent most of his time at Middlesbrough either on the treatment table or fasting for Ramadan. Sound familiar ?
    I wish Garry would become a muslim.

@hibs.net private member Malthibby's Avatar
    Har har.
    Just now w have no-one else & on his day he scores for fun. Just isn't having many of them just now.

Not sure I said that I "hark" after Zemmama, just noted the type if player that would be of use to O'Connor. Altho still think he would walk into the current side.

Quote Originally Posted by Max View Post
    Not sure I said that I "hark" after Zemmama, just noted the type if player that would be of use to O'Connor. Altho still think he would walk into the current side.
    'think?' it is an absolute, cast-iron, 100% racing certainty he would stroll into the current midfield. And he's doing well at Boro, my smoggy supporting pals inform me.

The problem is, he can't be an effective forward when he's too busy trying to influence the game from midfield.

We need a creative spark in the middle of the park who can give our obviously talented, although under performing, strikers some much needed service.

Not zemmama but i'd have Deano supporting Garry

Quote Originally Posted by cloudy View Post
    Not zemmama but i'd have Deano supporting Garry
    Deano would be a great signing. Or steal Taoul from the yams.

O.K.

In a minority of one again, but I thought Garry played well in a role that has never suited him.

His control - most of the time - was fine, but he needed support close to him, rather than just in the wide areas.

@hibs.net private member HibbyKeith's Avatar
    I honestly didn't think that any of the players other than Hart had a particularly bad game yesterday. Garry is not a lone striker, that much is obvious, and as previousy said take his 10 goals away and see where we would be.

Would love him to be here after this current season.

Manager after manager, support before, during and after him leaving and coming back......................

He's not a freaking target man.

He doesn't play best up top on his own.

We were looking to sell him under blobby because the genius put him up top on his own.

Get a grip, Garry has carried us this season

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    'think?' it is an absolute, cast-iron, 100% racing certainty he would stroll into the current midfield. And he's doing well at Boro, my smoggy supporting pals inform me.
    He had a few good games but has hardly played due to injury. At least it's someone to keep Kevin Thomson company.

Quote Originally Posted by hibsbollah View Post
    Deano would be a great signing. Or steal Taoul from the yams.
    Deano would be a great signing. He would add some class to the side and score some classic goals.

IMO

He's off to Parkhead in January.

Nod and wink were done a couple of months ago and he has hardly kicked a ball since.