@hibs.net private member tanfield's Avatar

Your most obscure Hibs game

Just wondering what has been the most obscure Hibs game you have attended.

For me it would have to be a friendly against Albion Rovers probably December 90 IIRC. 1-0 win with Houchen scoring but Goram pulling off a couple of one on one saves.

I think Hibs P-P Barnsley has to be up there from a personal point of view...did get absolutely stinking drunk in the Four in Hand and Hibs Club to make up for it though!

A 3-3 draw between Hibs and Aberdeen under 19s in Aberdeen. Hibs were brilliant then 2 David Grof howlers let Aberdeen back in. Allistair Stevenson was going nuts at him.

Not so much obscure football wise but remember pretty big bother before a friendly away to Telford that must rank as the most unexpected football violence I can remember.

Hibs: pre-season friendly v NEC Nijmegen last season, having arranged a meeting in Breda specifically to take in the game.

Any game: Driving 70-odd miles each way to watch Brentford v India pre-season friendly.

Series of games: Monday Luton v Tranmere, Tuesday Northwich Victoria v Hereford, Wednesday Burton Albion v Chester City.

Not hibs related but a few years back me and mate was watching a pre- season game Hamilton V Halifax Town (midweek daytime game )and we were chatting so some chaps, before we knew it we were in their car and ended up going to watch Dunfermline V Bristol Rovers (One was a Rovers fan and the other a City fan ).

The following Evening we went to Hibs v Bolton...... Funny though.

@hibs.net private member Hermit Crab's Avatar
    Probably Dinaburg v Hibs in Latvia only 120 Hibs fans there and a certain Hibs fan broke a few seats when he sat on them. 80p a beer and the vodka nips came in a pint glass . A 4 hour bus journey from Riga with plenty booze and Coleen Paterson And that boy donkey that used to be on forth fm. Great trip for meaningless game. IIRC a double from Konte and Sproule added a 3rd with an 8-0 agg win. Great trip great fun.

1987 Pre Season - Isle of Man XI v Hibs

Played on a public park pitch no better than leith links.

Hibs went 7 - 0 up and there was a pitch invasion.

First Team Breakthrough Joy Zipper's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by joe t View Post
    1987 Pre Season - Isle of Man XI v Hibs

Played on a public park pitch no better than leith links.

Hibs went 7 - 0 up and there was a pitch invasion.
    I was there too! I remember the pitch invasion!

Quote Originally Posted by Joy Zipper View Post
    I was there too! I remember the pitch invasion!
    I am aware of that. I was with you.

I'm your brother.

fud.

Left by mutual consent! PaulSmith's Avatar

I'm your brother.

fud.
    Best reply on here, ever! :)

I'm your brother.

fud.
    *******......... I just pished myself!!!
    Last edited by BroxburnHibee; 08-12-2011 at 09:35 PM. Reason: Please don't bypass the swear filter.

@hibs.net private member givescotlandfreedom's Avatar

I'm your brother.

fud.

For me it was a friendly in Germany against Mainz which was played in a tiny regional team's ground miles away. Les83 was asked to read the Hibs line up as the announcer was struggling with the names. Emilio Bottiglieri was in the squad to be fair.

I'm your brother.

fud.

perhaps the game that never was.......AEK v Hibs.

Flights from Zante to Athens all paid for but we never did board that plane to Athens.....

Still, 7 days wi the lads on a sunshine holiday in Laganas was fantastic

I'm your brother.

fud.

Private Members Prediction League Winner Hibrandenburg's Avatar
    Hibs v The Royal Scots in Verl Germany. Hibs won the fitba but the Jocks trounced them on the assault course.

I'm your brother.

fud.
    Attached Images Attached Images

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    Skiving off school around 2006 with my mate to go and watch a Hibs Rangers reserve game at Meadowbank as Tam McManus was playing. At half-time we were allowed to go across the road to the McDonalds and we sat and watched the second half munching a Big Mac sitting beside John Collins.
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

I am aware of that. I was with you. I'm your brother.fud.
    Haha! Thats magic!In terms of obscure football...mosr Hibs games for the past season have been pretty obscure

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by givescotlandfreedom View Post

For me it was a friendly in Germany against Mainz which was played in a tiny regional team's ground miles away. Les83 was asked to read the Hibs line up as the announcer was struggling with the names. Emilio Bottiglieri was in the squad to be fair.
    If I remember correctly we were asked to sing the hibs song at the end of the game using their microphone. and on the pitch.... our reward was a crate of beer

First Team Breakthrough Nitten Hibee's Avatar
    would have to say watching hibs v cowdenbeath via a beam back to murrayfield ice rink was a surreal and ****** cold experience

@hibs.net private member Ringothedog's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by happyhibee5824 View Post
    would have to say watching hibs v cowdenbeath via a beam back to murrayfield ice rink was a surreal and ****** cold experience
    Stenhousemuir, I was lucky enough to get a ticket for the game a 4-0 win

Been to many irrelevant games but a pre season friendly away to Forces Mechanics about 30 years ago sticks in my mind.

I am aware of that. I was with you. I'm your brother.fud.
    Funniest post ever....take a bow son.

Quote Originally Posted by .sean. View Post
    Skiving off school around 2006 with my mate to go and watch a Hibs Rangers reserve game at Meadowbank as Tam McManus was playing. At half-time we were allowed to go across the road to the McDonalds and we sat and watched the second half munching a Big Mac sitting beside John Collins.
    That's one helluva Big Mac if it had it's own seat.

1989 Hibs reserves v Rangers reserves at Jordanhill college (where I was doing my PGCE) playing field. Only notable for the fact that the trialist up front for Hibs that day was one Ronnie Rosenthal.

Was he flashing his pack and telling you and your mate off for being slackers?

Quote Originally Posted by Hermit Crab View Post
    Probably Dinaburg v Hibs in Latvia only 120 Hibs fans there and a certain Hibs fan broke a few seats when he sat on them. 80p a beer and the vodka nips came in a pint glass . A 4 hour bus journey from Riga with plenty booze and Coleen Paterson And that boy donkey that used to be on forth fm. Great trip for meaningless game. IIRC a double from Konte and Sproule added a 3rd with an 8-0 agg win. Great trip great fun.
    That was a fine trip! We watched the World Cup Final in a knocking shop in Riga! The birds werenae too happy at being ignored when the 2nd half started!

Gamertag: CalvinoHFC PSN ID: CalvinoHFC
    I was in exactly the same boat on that day (school skiving and McDonald half-time snacks). There was a huge turnout for a reserves game that day!

I enjoyed a few years ago when Hibs Reserves played at ER and we could go along for free. One particular game I remember was v Falkirk featuring Yogi at centre half.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia Na Eir View Post
    perhaps the game that never was.......AEK v Hibs.Flights from Zante to Athens all paid for but we never did board that plane to Athens.....Still, 7 days wi the lads on a sunshine holiday in Laganas was fantastic
    God bless Zero's nightclub!