Page 2 of 9 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Hibs Books

@hibs.net private member BSEJVT's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by tanfield View Post
    Also there's two versions of "The Hibees". The 2nd copy carries an update from the season or two after the original book.
    Having a bit difficulty with this.

IIRC there were 2 shades of this book.

Is the latter of the two the brighter, thats the one I have which goes up to 1985

Thanks

@hibs.net private member tanfield's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BSEJVT View Post
    Having a bit difficulty with this.

IIRC there were 2 shades of this book.

Is the latter of the two the brighter, thats the one I have which goes up to 1985

Thanks
    The first book has the whole squad in their Umbro 'Insave' shirts in front of the Dunbar end on the cover. This book goes up to 1985.

The updated copy has more of a team shot on the cover with them wearing the Adidias 'P&D Windows' shirts.

I've got 100 Years Of Hibs in very good nick with front cover I may sell, will take a good offer via PM if anyone fancies it

The Making of Hibernian

Earlier in the thread JC alluded to the fact that Alan Lugton's trilogy would be back on sale next year along with his own.

I have come across reference to a 4th The Making of Hibernian Book by Ricky Regina " The Glory & The Tears"

Anything know anything about this?

Quote Originally Posted by Jonnyboy View Post
    Folks

Book one of my trilogy is written (as is book two and most of book 3 ) and the original launch date was July 2011 but the publisher has decided to approach it from a different angle and I understand it is the intention to release the trilogy as a box set in July 2012. It's the same publisher that published Alan Lugton's "The Making of Hibernian" trilogy and the intention there is to re-publish them also as a box set and in July 2012. The aim is to offer up a complete history of Hibernian FC from 1875 to date.

I'm assured that all six will also be available singly as the cost of anyone buying all six at once might be quite scary I also understand my trilogy will be available as ebooks

Hope this helps
    I've enjoyed reading so much of your articles (particularly all the sixties/early seventies stuff!) in the past Johnnyboy - could you maybe provide a wee bit more information on your upcoming box set - like book title and publisher - it's bound to be somewhere on a thread, but ...

Folks

Book one of my trilogy is written (as is book two and most of book 3 ) and the original launch date was July 2011 but the publisher has decided to approach it from a different angle and I understand it is the intention to release the trilogy as a box set in July 2012. It's the same publisher that published Alan Lugton's "The Making of Hibernian" trilogy and the intention there is to re-publish them also as a box set and in July 2012. The aim is to offer up a complete history of Hibernian FC from 1875 t
    I'm assured that all six will also be available singly as the cost of anyone buying all six at once might be quite scary I also understand my trilogy will be available as ebooks

Hope this helps
    Did you ever release these books Johnny?

Could you please confirm titles and if the publisher has released the third in the trilogy?

Many thanks

Can't believe any Hibs supporter would buy a book by him?

Hibernian - The Players & Managers 1946 - 2009 (Jim Jeffrey) 2009

Gibbo by Davie Gibson.
    Mostly about Leicester but plenty Hibs stuff as well before his transfer.

@hibs.net private member Jamesie's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by BILLYHIBS View Post

Could you please confirm titles and if the publisher has released the third in the trilogy?

Many thanks
    I understand that the publisher is Birlinn and two volumes have been published so far:

https://www.birlinn.co.uk/John-Campbell/

Many thanks

Two books released, Billy. At Easter Road They Play and In Colours Green and White

Quote Originally Posted by where'stheslope View Post
    Can't believe any Hibs supporter would buy a book by him?

Hibernian - The Players & Managers 1946 - 2009 (Jim Jeffrey) 2009

I've met that Jim Jeffery and he's a good lad - a Motherwell fan I believe

Quote Originally Posted by Jamesie View Post
    I understand that the publisher is Birlinn and two volumes have been published so far:

https://www.birlinn.co.uk/John-Campbell/

Correct, James. Sadly they ditched me before releasing book three as the sales of the first two were not high enough in number. Perhaps if they'd organised a proper launch?
    This is how it feels

Two books released, Billy. At Easter Road They Play and In Colours Green and White

Correct, James. Sadly they ditched me before releasing book three as the sales of the first two were not high enough in number. Perhaps if they'd organised a proper launch?

That’s a shame jonnyboy - I’ve got the first 2 so it’s not my fault.

Quote Originally Posted by Danderhall Hibs View Post
    That’s a shame jonnyboy - I’ve got the first 2 so it’s not my fault.
    This is how it feels

My auld man has 100 years of Hibs .
    When I was a kid I circled the 22-1 score against the 42nd Highlanders and the 15-1 against Peeble rovers so I could show my pals
    I'm sure it had every score up to that point at the back of the book.
    My brother had the cover pinned on his wall too.

Got them both! Both excellent reads and very well researched. I would thoroughly recommend them to any HIBS fanatic. I emailed the publisher re book 3 but they kept fobbing me off. Seems a real shame that book 3 will never see the light of day.

Agreed

What happens with manuscripts submitted that don't get published?

Who retains the tights to the work

Would happily pay for a copy of the manuscript if possible

Correct, James. Sadly they ditched me before releasing book three as the sales of the first two were not high enough in number. Perhaps if they'd organised a proper launch?[/B]
    Yes they are both good books and I was looking forward to the third as it was to cover 1986 onwards. Exactly matching my Hibs era.

If there is to be no physical launch - would a Kindle launch be feasible? I have the first two on Kindle.

Quote Originally Posted by BSEJVT View Post
    Agreed

What happens with manuscripts submitted that don't get published?

Who retains the tights to the work

Would happily pay for a copy of the manuscript if possible
    Could Johnny not take the manuscript to a second publisher who would be prepared to put it out there with a proper launch or even a reboot of the first two would that be financially viable?

Shout out for two HIBS related books by my old school buddy

Fitba Daft and Pilton Keelie by James Meikle tells the story of growing up in the early seventies going to Comprehensive School and supporting HIBS

A must for all hibbies available on Amazon

@hibs.net private member O'Rourke3's Avatar

Just finished book 2 in sunny Zakynthos and may have found an error or omission. Pity about book 3. Was looking forward to the 2000 pages up to season end 2016.
    JB I'll pm my question...

Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by O'Rourke3 View Post
    Just finished book 2 in sunny Zakynthos and may have found an error or omission. Pity about book 3. Was looking forward to the 2000 pages up to season end 2016.

No I won't. PM disabled. Was it all the abuse or the praise John

Sent from my KFTBWI using Tapatalk

My PM's are working ok
    This is how it feels

My PM's are working ok
    Tried another to test....

Got it and replied
    This is how it feels

@hibs.net private member erin go bragh's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by tanfield View Post
    Also there's two versions of "The Hibees". The 2nd copy carries an update from the season or two after the original book.
    The sunshine on Leith one also has an upgraded version.
    SCOTTISH CUP WINNERS 2016

Got it and replied
    And since that point my app keeps crashing. I'll get there eventually

Loads of books out there by former players:

Shades
    budgie
    stanton
    cropley
    Eric Stevenson
    lawrie Reilly
    Bobby Johnstone
    gordon Smith
    baker boys
    george best
    alan rough
    greatest game in history
    peter marinello
    eddie turnbull
    Andy Goram ( there’s only two)
    Peter Cormack

Sandy McNair

growing up in green
    moonshine on leith
    we only want the earth

Casuals culture

hibs boy
    these colours don’t run

Loads of books out there by former players:

Shades
    budgie
    stanton
    cropley
    Eric Stevenson
    lawrie Reilly
    Bobby Johnstone
    gordon Smith
    baker boys
    george best
    alan rough
    greatest game in history
    peter marinello
    eddie turnbull
    Andy Goram ( there’s only two)
    Peter Cormack

Sandy McNair

growing up in green
    moonshine on leith
    we only want the earth

Casuals culture

hibs boy
    these colours don’t run
    Yes got most of them also Davy Farrell zauzee and didn't Bertie auld have one ?

Has anyone read the Cropley one? Its out of stock at publisher and expensive on line, but its done by a decent publisher so wondered if it was done from any different angle from the normal players books.

Quote Originally Posted by tynehibs View Post
    Damn thought I missed one Taxi For Farrell

Got Bertie’s on my Kindle

Quote Originally Posted by tynehibs View Post

How is could I forget Le God ?