@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar

Lennon assailant cleared.

Numpty who attacked Neil Lennon has been CLEARED of assault. WTF!

Jings!

Open season for the Tynecastle numpties!

@hibs.net private member Bayern Bru's Avatar
    Well to be fair, he was tackled to the ground before he got near Lennon.

@hibs.net private member Golden Bear's Avatar
    Not proven verdict on the religious hatred charge but hopefully he'll still get done on the assault charge.

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    It's all part of the big, fat, Anti-Sellick conspiracy
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Not proven verdict on the religious hatred charge but hopefully he'll still get done on the assault charge.
    I am by no means intending to start a 12 pager on the ins and outs of religious hatred but if we're being accurate...Fenian, although associated with sectarian abuse and mentioned in a certain Rangers song, isn't strictly a sectarian term of abuse. I wonder if this was the defence.

Quote Originally Posted by Leitrim Hibee View Post
    I am by no means intending to start a 12 pager on the ins and outs of religious hatred but if we're being accurate...Fenian, although associated with sectarian abuse and mentioned in a certain Rangers song, isn't strictly a sectarian term of abuse. I wonder if this was the defence.
    Was Donald Finlay defending him? He would certainly argue that.

Faxed Back to Kaunas
    Quote Originally Posted by Leitrim Hibee View Post
    I think the defence may have been more along the lines of the fact there was no evidence to suggest he said anything about religion and instead went to clobber him for being a fud. Not that I'm condoning his actions.

Quote Originally Posted by greenlex View Post
    Was Donald Finlay defending him? He would certainly argue that.

Quote Originally Posted by The_Famous_HFC View Post
    I think the defence may have been more along the lines of the fact there was no evidence to suggest he said anything about religion and instead went to clobber him for being a fud. Not that I'm condoning his actions.
    This is very true. I'm surprised he wasn't done for assault, but then again I suppose there is a conspiracy against Celtc so it's perhaps understandable. Suspect you may be right though.

PSN ID: asbo
    It appears smacking Neil Lennon is not a criminal offence

Quote Originally Posted by Golden Bear View Post
    Or for his dress sense. A life sentence with no chance of parole sounds about right.

Quote Originally Posted by iwasthere1972 View Post
    Or for his dress sense. A life sentence with no chance of parole sounds about right.
    Drunk in charge of a pair of counterfeit trackies and a chav hat is a far more serious offence, repatriation west of Govan seems to be the only sentence.

Gamertag: Lofarl
    The poor wee Jambo has suffered enough IMO. Imagine having Lennon and his big yellow teeth breathing right on ye.

The charge was religiously aggravated assault - or something similar - and the prosecution couldn't prove that the "attack" was fuelled by bigotry.

However, he shouldn't have went for him - no matter how much he dislikes the guy - and deserves to be punished for it.

Pretty stupid to charge him on religious grounds IMO.

Why has STV censored his face out in this video? Everyone else is running his picture today.
    http://news.stv.tv/scotland/268432-h...n-neil-lennon/

Quote Originally Posted by NYHibby View Post
    Why has STV censored his face out in this video? Everyone else is running his picture today.
    Have you seen his picture before?

Probably because he wasn't found guilty of the main charge.

The question might be "why did other media show his face, when he was only convicted of a breach of the peace?"
    Last edited by CropleyWasGod; 31-08-2011 at 07:08 PM.

Cos its tea time ..

Quote Originally Posted by Dinkydoo View Post
    The charge was religiously aggravated assault - or something similar - and the prosecution couldn't prove that the "attack" was fuelled by bigotry.

However, he shouldn't have went for him - no matter how much he dislikes the guy - and deserves to be punished for it.

Pretty stupid to charge him on religious grounds IMO.

Assaulting Neil Lennon isn't a "religiously aggravated" crime in itself. I'd have hoped that the PF and the police would have thought they had sufficient evidence for this charge, rather than thinking "we'll get him no bother on whatever we want, because it was on the telly".

Whatever the PF and the police thought they could nail him for, the jury thought differently.

You'd also have to hope the jury were entirely neutral on the issue of Neil Lennon, the man. But that's probably unlikely in Scotland, because most people who have heard of him, can't stand him. And that's not a religiously aggravated opinion.

The guy obviously deserved to get hammered for this - but it's not his fault the charges were over-done.

Somebody thought he'd make a name for himself getting a high profile case proven on the religious aspect rather than getting him on what was obvious to anyone watching the telly.

Quote Originally Posted by clerriehibs View Post

Assaulting Neil Lennon isn't a "religiously aggravated" crime in itself. I'd have hoped that the PF and the police would have thought they had sufficient evidence for this charge, rather than thinking "we'll get him no bother on whatever we want, because it was on the telly".

Whatever the PF and the police thought they could nail him for, the jury thought differently.

You'd also have to hope the jury were entirely neutral on the issue of Neil Lennon, the man. But that's probably unlikely in Scotland, because most people who have heard of him, can't stand him. And that's not a religiously aggravated opinion.

The guy obviously deserved to get hammered for this - but it's not his fault the charges were over-done.
    It would appear that only one person heard the use of the word "fenian" and the Yam denied it. Stupid to go for the religious angle when the muppet was going to plead guilty to assault in the first place.

However its upset both Celtic and Hearts so every cloud and all that.

@hibs.net private member Hibs Class's Avatar
    Celtic have put a statement abut the verdict on their website:
    CELTIC Football Club have released the following statement regarding the verdict at today's court case in Edinburgh.

"It is for the Jury to decide on this case, however, we find the accused's acquittal of the charge of assault difficult to comprehend bearing in mind our knowledge of the incident.

"One thing is clear - this was a disgraceful incident involving Neil Lennon, seen by the world - the sort of incident which should not have happened in any football stadium and one which embarrassed Scottish football.

"Regardless of the verdict reached, we hope that people will learn from the events of last season and realise these cannot be repeated.

“As always we will give Neil Lennon our full support and hope that this season he can be given the opportunity to be allowed to do his job without the kind of threats, attacks and intimidation which have marred much of his time in Scotland."
    ​#PERSEVERED

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Class View Post
    Celtic have put a statement abut the verdict on their website:
    CELTIC Football Club have released the following statement regarding the verdict at today's court case in Edinburgh.

"It is for the Jury to decide on this case, however, we find the accused's acquittal of the charge of assault difficult to comprehend bearing in mind our knowledge of the incident.

"One thing is clear - this was a disgraceful incident involving Neil Lennon, seen by the world - the sort of incident which should not have happened in any football stadium and one which embarrassed Scottish football.

"Regardless of the verdict reached, we hope that people will learn from the events of last season and realise these cannot be repeated.

“As always we will give Neil Lennon our full support and hope that this season he can be given the opportunity to be allowed to do his job without the kind of threats, attacks and intimidation which have marred much of his time in Scotland."
    Do they realise he wasn't acquitted?

And....given their "knowledge of the incident".... shouldn't they have made this "knowledge" available to the Court?

Quote Originally Posted by Kaiser1962 View Post
    It would appear that only one person heard the use of the word "fenian" and the Yam denied it. Stupid to go for the religious angle when the muppet was going to plead guilty to assault in the first place. However its upset both Celtic and Hearts so every cloud and all that.
    his brief said he called NL a Fenian W.the security bloke said he heard him call him a Fenian B.The word Fenian may not be termed sectarian on its own but when cojoined with the word "B" aftet it then it becomes wholly different. But nor judge nor jury thought that anyway.Guess you can decided what you want if you are a judge!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia Na Eir View Post
    his brief said he called NL a Fenian W.the security bloke said he heard him call him a Fenian B.The word Fenian may not be termed sectarian on its own but when cojoined with the word "B" aftet it then it becomes wholly different. But nor judge nor jury thought that anyway.Guess you can decided what you want if you are a judge!
    No, the reports I read said the phrase was "F..king w..k.r"

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Do they realise he wasn't acquitted?

And....given their "knowledge of the incident".... shouldn't they have made this "knowledge" available to the Court?
    I thought he was acquitted of aggravated assault (assuming a not proven is effectively an acquittal) and convicted of breach of the peace? Didn't think he was charged with "standard" non-aggravated assault.
    ​#PERSEVERED

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernia Na Eir View Post
    That'll upset the soapdodgers even more then

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs Class View Post
    I thought he was acquitted of aggravated assault (assuming a not proven is effectively an acquittal) and convicted of breach of the peace? Didn't think he was charged with "standard" non-aggravated assault.
    Not proven is not the same as not guilty.

Not proven is effectively "we think you did it, but we don't have the proof".

So, no, he wasn't acquitted, on either charge.

Quote Originally Posted by CropleyWasGod View Post
    Not proven is not the same as not guilty.

Not proven is effectively "we think you did it, but we don't have the proof".

So, no, he wasn't acquitted, on either charge.
    I agree with your first two paragraphs. Strictly speaking, though, I think the verdict is regarded as an acquittal, albeit the accused carries a greater stigma than with a not guilty verdict. That view seems to be supported by this paper from the House of Commons library.

www.parliament.uk/briefing-papers/SN02710.pdf
    ​#PERSEVERED

I always thought a Not proven verdict in Scotland mean't he could be re-tried for the same offence at a later date?
    I think his defence was that he said "fu**ing wa**er" and not Fenian Bas***d. Only one Yam steward said he heard the fenian phrase.
    He's still to be sentenced on the Breach charge, which could be quite severe I'd imagine given the circumstances.