Thread: Fabregas £35m

Fabregas £35m

A bargain when you consider Liverpool paid the same for Carrol.

Thinking that myself.. far better player. Of course a different type but Carrol isn't anywhere near that and only a year before Newcastle were quoted as saying they would have sold him for a Million. Huge loss to Arsenal who i think might have problems making the top 4.

Quote Originally Posted by Thecat23 View Post
    Thinking that myself.. far better player. Of course a different type but Carrol isn't anywhere near that and only a year before Newcastle were quoted as saying they would have sold him for a Million. Huge loss to Arsenal who i think might have problems making the top 4.
    Yip you are right they are different types of player, although i'd wager Fabregas will score more goals, and create more goals than Carrol who in my opinion was way over priced.

Carroll is a raw talent. For some unknown reason and on the back of the hype surrounding Dalglish's return to Anfield he was desperate to sign the guy. For me he has made a huge gamble, he is not that good, decent but he would have been better buying Darren Bent.

Fabregas is a Rolls Royce of a footballer. One thing for sure if he is sold again it was hugely in excess of £35m, £24.5m actually, the rest is in pays ups and conditions. That will not be the case with Carroll.

Lot of money to pay for a bench warmer.

Quote Originally Posted by ancient hibee View Post
    Lot of money to pay for a bench warmer.
    But not a lot of money for a long term replacement for Xavi

Carroll isnt as good a talent as fabregas but I bet managers need to re think and change tactics when carroll is playing against them.

If thats what these players are worth then how much will Driver and Templeton be worth now then?

Carroll is a handfull must be a nightmare to play against

I watched Fabregas Live on few occasions and he was always one step ahead of the rest. Will be a big miss to the premier league.

Seems a great deal all round to me. Barca get a great midfielder still to hit his peak at a (relatively) reasonable price. Arsenal get £30m + for a player they nicked as a 16 year old from Barca's academy.

Arsenal should have seen the writing on the wall, got the deal done early and focused on rebuilding the team, though. I think they are in real danger of going backwards this season.

Quote Originally Posted by jacomoseven View Post
    Seems a great deal all round to me. Barca get a great midfielder still to hit his peak at a (relatively) reasonable price. Arsenal get £30m + for a player they nicked as a 16 year old from Barca's academy.

Arsenal should have seen the writing on the wall, got the deal done early and focused on rebuilding the team, though. I think they are in real danger of going backwards this season.
    Spurs and Liverpool must be looking at them as the weakest member of the top four and there for the taking.

Carroll is definitely a gamble but the potential is there for him to be a big, big player in the future. As for Fabregas, he's quality no doubt but has a history of injuries IIRC. He'll struggle to get into the Barca team as it stands but will be a very decent replacement for Xavi when the time eventually comes for him to quit (a few years yet hopefully!).

I can see Carroll having a great season barring injury once he gets his partnership with Suarez sorted out.

Ill stick my neck on the line and say Andy Carroll will not get 10 League goals this season for Liverpool.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyAndy View Post
    Ill stick my neck on the line and say Andy Carroll will not get 10 League goals this season for Liverpool.
    I'd be willing to do a wager with you that he will.

Quote Originally Posted by HibeeSince85 View Post
    Cheeky wee £50

@hibs.net private member _hucks_'s Avatar
    The fee for Carroll reflected the amount of money Liverpool had just got for Torres, the fact that they needed a striker in urgently as a replacement, and that it was right at the end of a January window. You cant compare transfer fees without taking into account to circumstances surrounding the transfer.

Cheeky wee £50
    Yup, I'm in for that.

Kool, Watty dae then mate is give me a PM when the season is over and ill tell you the best way to Penicuik tae drop 50 sheets off .

Good man

Kool, Watty dae then mate is give me a PM when the season is over and ill tell you the best way to Penicuik tae drop 50 sheets off .

Good man
    Ach Andy mate, I was thinking more of telling you the pub to put my fifty behind the bar for me, I'd even have got you a pint to cheer you up aswell

Pint of Wife beater and im happy as Larry

Good man

We'll keep an eye on this through the season.

Quote Originally Posted by hibs13681 View Post
    Carroll isnt as good a talent as fabregas but I bet managers need to re think and change tactics when carroll is playing against them.

There aren't that many players like Carroll going about. That's why he cost so much. Fabregas might be a better player, but he isn't exactly unique.

I'm the same, Andy, but for the some reason the Mrs seems to get rather stroppy. Women, eh?

When you say not get 10 goals, does that mean if he gets 15 he hasnt got 10 goals for the season.

@hibs.net private member lapsedhibee's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by sesoim View Post
    There aren't that many players like Carroll going about. That's why he cost so much.
    That must be why AOB cost so much.

Just a wee update, Nae goals for Carroll so far

Whenever you feel like parting with your £50 just drop me a PM and ill give you my Paypal details

@hibs.net private member Liam89's Avatar
    What's that, 2 after 11 games?

Quote Originally Posted by Liam89 View Post
    What's that, 2 after 11 games?
    Aken he has one league goal not sure about 2 ? .

This is the easiest cash ill ever win Carroll is never ever a 35 Million pound player and and their aint a hope in hell he will bag 10 league goals this season .

Just hope the poster is true to his word and pays out accordingly