Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    @hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar

Rangers bid for Lee Wallace

The Yams are saying that Hearts should hold out for the money we got for Brown - completely ignoring the fact that he's not half the player Brown is and that Brown had about 3.5 years left on his contract.

@hibs.net private member & Biggest, Funniest Slaver on hibs.net 2012 Pedantic_Hibee's Avatar
    All I ever hear from Hearts fans on Kickback is that they would never sell to the Old Firm, it's only us that do it.

However, a bid has been received and Hearts have went public with it.

Hmmm, the Hearts fans won't like this, it would once again leave them with egg on their face. I suspect right now they'll be sweating like Craig Thomson in PC World. Ho hum.
    "Play for the name on the front of the jersey and the supporters will remember the name on the back"

@hibs.net private member KeithTheHibby's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Beefster View Post
    The Yams are saying that Hearts should hold out for the money we got for Brown - completely ignoring the fact that he's not half the player Brown is and that Brown had about 3.5 years left on his contract.
    They really are a bunch of thick f***s at times.

500k shall see him head west.

And so the sale begins...

@hibs.net private member NORTHERNHIBBY's Avatar
    Holding out for more money.....well I can see why they would say that, but surely the first thing they should do is point out the step down?

@hibs.net private member Spike Mandela's Avatar
    Vlad will posture now and not accept first offer but will cave in prior to start of season.

As soon as they bought Grainger we all knew Wallace was a goner.

rangers will hold fire and pay around 750k imo.

I hope it drags on a while and Wallace invokes the Webster clause.

@hibs.net private member greenginger's Avatar
    The Mutants over on Kickback are revolting over the offer of £300 K for their £4 million pound man !

Mind you they are revolting anyway.

@hibs.net private member R'Albin's Avatar

Gamertag: Razza96
    Quote Originally Posted by Sauzee 4 View Post
    Think you need to be 28 or older to infoke that IIRC?

So it's true Rangers were looking for someone who could shoot(allegedly-or was it proved)

He only has a year to run. If he was to hang on till January his personal terms could rocket. Rangers are testing the water.

@hibs.net private member StevieC's Avatar
    It would need to drag on for 5 years for that to happen.

EDIT: Just noticed R_albin beat me to it.

But you know it ain't all about wealth,
    as long as you make a note to .. EXPRESS YOURSELF!

Quote Originally Posted by R_albin View Post
    Surely webster was younger than 28 when he kicked it all off? His case was a good few years back. He isn't that old now is he?

@hibs.net private member Part/Time Supporter's Avatar
    Younger players can use it but they have to serve an extra year of their contract.

Rankgers Offer

Regardless of the fact it's funny that Hertz are losing one of their best players.. Once again the infirm rape clubs who genuinely may trouble them in the upcoming season. Hertz have strengthened with the addition of Taoul etc and this tactic of grabbing players from their rivals is what makes Scottish football a joke (sick one).

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    Younger players can use it but they have to serve an extra year of their contract.
    Oh... It's a ****ing stupid rule though, more player power.

Quote Originally Posted by Part/Time Supporter View Post
    Is it not something like 24-28 they have to serve 3 years of any contract and 28+ they can walk after 2 years. Under 24 they can't walk and teams will also be due compensation if they leave at the end of a contract (assuming you've offered them a new one before their current one lapsed).

It's changed so many times though it's hard to keep up.

First Team Breakthrough Hibeesb0unc3's Avatar

Gamertag: DILL0N TAYL0R
    why would he leave a team constantly winning league titles and european cups to go to a team who struggle to make it past the group stages of european competitions

In all honesty i think he will leave for around £1 million as he is a decent player but is yet to prove himself at a higher level than a 3rd placed team in scotland. But i would rather see him give it a stab down south as the quality is better benefiting the national team and not improving the gap between the OF and the rest

Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post
    It would need to drag on for 5 years for that to happen.

EDIT: Just noticed R_albin beat me to it.

Although, we were wrong anyway!

Aye, but lets not admit it because it's so confusing we might get away with it.

Just done a quick search and realised that it's not simply a case of walking away but buying out the remaining term of your contract.

Quote Originally Posted by StevieC View Post
    Aye, but lets not admit it because it's so confusing we might get away with it.

Just done a quick search and realised that it's not simply a case of walking away but buying out the remaining term of your contract.

Suppose we were right to an extent...

Could the buying club buy out the players contract?

Suppose we were right to an extent...

Could the buying club buy out the players contract?
    I would think that might be otherwise known as a "signing on fee" in this case.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyDave View Post
    Regardless of the fact it's funny that Hertz are losing one of their best players.. Once again the infirm rape clubs who genuinely may trouble them in the upcoming season. Hertz have strengthened with the addition of Taoul etc and this tactic of grabbing players from their rivals is what makes Scottish football a joke (sick one).
    Not really, Hearts have to sell to pay for the players they've brought in already. Man + dog knew he'd be off this summer.

Maybe we should make a cheeky wee bid? sign him for £700k and offer him a 3 year deal on a decent wage with a % of any transfer fee that we receive with a clause to sell once he's a year into the contract should we get a bid of £2m or more. If we sell him to an English club in a years time. Hibs and Wallace make money, we'll have a quality defender for at least a season and most importantly we get to pish our pants laughing at the big team selling their best player to the wee team.

Quote Originally Posted by NORTHERNHIBBY View Post
    Holding out for more money.....well I can see why they would say that, but surely the first thing they should do is point out the step down?
    at the same time as the strapped Hun hold out to pay less money. Wonder who will win this one if no other bidders are manufactured? a wee cheeky £51m bid from FC Kaunus maybe?

@hibs.net private member .Sean.'s Avatar
    I'm unsure as to whether this tells me how over-rated Wallace is or how skint Rangers really are?
    ''It's always been just part of the culture. Growing up, for most working-class kids, is all about football, music or clothes. You might not have much money, but whatever you have got, you're going to look good.'' - Paul Weller

I opened the link expecting to see a big bid going in, not having realised he only has a year left on his contract.
    Those injuries came at the right time then as they should have pocketed a much better fee than they will get for him.

They will be losing a quality player (replaced by Grainger too!!) and still be saddled with that ridiculous debt.

They should be watching how the wee team do it.
    Last edited by DC_Hibs; 22-06-2011 at 08:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by HibbyDave View Post
    What difference does it make Rankers signing players for Hertz, or Hertz signing players from other SPL clubs? Both teams are making other SPL team's weaker, its just they way the football pyramid works.

My sides still hurt from the hilarity that was induced when they turned down a £3.5m bid from Burnley for Andy Driver. IIRC - It was Lazlo (or was it Fail?) that said he could turn him into a £10m player. Aye, that was dependant on there being a lucrative market for prosthetic knees!

Fear not you viewing Yams. Vlad has categorically stated that he's not in the business of selling player to the OF

Quote Originally Posted by Sergey® View Post
    My sides still hurt from the hilarity that was induced when they turned down a £3.5m bid from Burnley for Andy Driver. IIRC - It was Lazlo (or was it Fail?) that said he could turn him into a £10m player. Aye, that was dependant on there being a lucrative market for prosthetic knees!

Fear not you viewing Yams. Vlad has categorically stated that he's not in the business of selling player to the OF
    Thanks for reminding me of that what a shrewd piece of business that was !